Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
136 Reviews
1234.970595
Write A Review
September 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

VAC has made our lives so much easier when we travel. We are blessed that flying is an option for our family. However TSA is a hit or miss when you are traveling. VAC eliminates the TSA hassle and mak... more

September 19, 2014

VAC makes our life so much easier!!! My husband has a difficult time flying in commercial planes and driving long periods of time. VAC gets him where he needs to go with so much ease and the pilots are always happy to help us get where we need to go!! This organization has been a huge blessing to our family!!!
October 4, 2013

VAC has made our lives so much easier when we travel. We are blessed that flying is an option for our family. However TSA is a hit or miss when you are traveling. VAC eliminates the TSA hassle and makes the travels of the wounded so much easier!! We'll forever be grateful for VAC's assistance in helping our family get to and from the hospital and family visits!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would add to their fleet so they can help even more families.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

As a volunteer pilot, it is truly a great honor to serve our wounded warriors through the Veteran's Airlift Command. VAC is always organized, professional, and caring for our wounded veterans, and I am committed to flying for them at every opportunity I can.

I wish there were more
veterans groups with the high service ethic to our vets that VAC has, they are head & shoulders one of the best for our vets!

BIG DOG flying Citation N610BD
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

As a volunteer pilot for VAC just can't express enough what an honor it is to fly our wounded warriors to where they need to get to. Over the past 5 years, we've had the pleasure of flying more than 20 missions - each one with the most remarkable warriors on board. We are humbled by their grace, tenacity and gold star outlooks. I have to tell you, we are sad when we land the airplane and have to go our separate ways! There are no words to adequately express our gratutude to our passengers and to Vets Airlift Command, who gives us this august and life affirming opportunity. VAC is the real deal - fantastic, passionate people who make the missions possible. We love being a part of their more than 2500 volunteer pilots. We support VAC and wish we could do more! This is a non-profit that makes great things happen, solves transportation problems and is passionate about the mission. Love VAC!!
XXX Stephanie and Erwin Greenberg
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

Great Organization and great people. With short notice (Thank You, Jen) Veterans Airlift Command (VAC) was thankfully still able to fly me from the DFW area to Orlando, FL and back for my prosthetic appointment. My current prosthetic socket was giving me trouble and was causing problems. I lost my right leg below the knee and both were severely burned in a EFP blast in Baghdad. Thank you for making my life a little easier by helping me with flights. Both directions the pilots were professional and courteous. I was truly humbled by their's and their Corporation's generosity. Al and Q with Choctaw Indian Nation going out and Rob with Satcom Direct returning. I truly could not have asked for a better flying experience then I received this past week. A big thank you to those guys and the entire Staff of Veterans Airlift Command. I will definitely use VAC again and would recommend them highly to any severely injured Veteran or Service Member.
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

Veterans Airlift Command is simply amazing. My husband was injured in 2009 and just recently left the service. After he got out he was awarded a service dog from another non profit based in Ohio. We live in Tennessee. Trying to figure out how to get there from here with a family of 6 and a wounded warrior who is not allowed to drive was a daunting task. I heard about VAC from a friend who works for Luke's Wings, another non profit who has helped us in the past. Let me tell you, I emailed VAC with our dilemma and was promptly emailed back. Over the course of a week, VAC had taken all the weight off my shoulders and found a flight to accommodate my husband. Not only did Andrew Lourake help us with the flight, but he also helped put us in touch with another wounded warrior in our area. He has proven to my family that there are good people out there who will go above and beyond to help their own. Now that my husband has his service dog, he is able to function much better and his quality of life has drastically improved. Thank you VAC and our pilots for bringing some normalcy back to our lives. You all are truly amazing!!!
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

This organization is great and helped save my life. They were able to get me a flight to revieve my service dog. I was notified on short notice and did not have a whole lot of funds at the time. This was not an issue for them. They had me placed with a flight there within a couple days. I had notification of a return flight within a week. I love this place and i hope i can continue to use their services.
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

Words can't express how grateful my husband L CPL. Brent Callender and I were when we found this amazing organization to help us with his flight accommodations to come visit me and my son this weekend. He is getting treatment at this time and we don't have a lot of money and they were able to fly him out of his treatment center for the weekend to come visit us. It took me one phone call and it took Jenna Deibel one day to fill our request. Doctor Stuart Bloom flew him in from Napa and Mr. Ken Ambrose flew him back home. The service was amazing and the pilots were extremely nice and so loving and caring. You can tell everyone that is part of this organization does it because they care. From the bottom of our hearts we thank you for this amazing organization.
Sincerely, Brent and Kristine Callender
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

On certain rare occasions there comes to the world of nonprofits in America, an organization with such vitality, such power and perfection as to make normal standards of measurement seem clumsy and inadequate. Such a nonprofit is the Veterans Airlift Command (VAC). I have vetted many other nonprofits who advertise their services to U.S. wounded soldiers but have found none that performs so much with only a small staff where approximately 95% of every dollar actually goes to assisting wounded soldiers. I have been a VAC volunteer air crew member for over two years and have participated in nearly 100,000 air miles of transporting many wounded soldiers due solely to the smart and efficient management of the VAC. I rank them number one as a nonprofit providing the most valuable service to our nation's veterans and active duty military personnel. Let me put it another way.....there are no better nonprofits in the U.S. than the Veterans Airlift Command.
Sincerely, Richard D. Iversen, Colonel, USAF, Ret.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

My son served in Iraq and has Terminal Brain Cancer. Veterans Airlift Command flew him from MN to CA so that he could attend a program that helps Vets deal with PTSD and other issues related to having served.
I can't even begin to express how awesome the experience was. If it wasn't for
Veterans Airlift and specifically Jenny, my son wouldn't have known of the program, or had the transportation to get there. Thanks to the amazing people who fly for Veterans Airlift his experience was truly unforgettable. It isn’t often that you get a change to fly in a private jet! The co-ordination of the flights went without a hitch and they took extra care to make sure he was comfortable and had everything he needed.
I would recommend, without hesitation, Veterans Airlift as they are a truly amazing organization.
September 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

Veterans airlift command has been so great to us since my husband was injured in April of 2012. My husband lost both legs above the knee his left arm below the elbow and his right arm above the elbow... more

September 18, 2014

Veterans Airlift Command has helped our family so much in the past 2 1/2 years. My husband was severely wounded in Afghanistan on April 10 2012 by an IED resulting in the loss of both legs and both arms. Our lives were so drastically changed, and VAC helped us so much when it came time to visit with our family and friends. Traveling is so stressful with a baby and a severely wounded husband but with VAC everything is so quick and painless and you also gain friends a long the way. This is by far the best non profit that we have encountered through our new journey and we are so pleased they welcomed us into their family!
October 4, 2013

Veterans airlift command has been so great to us since my husband was injured in April of 2012. My husband lost both legs above the knee his left arm below the elbow and his right arm above the elbow, travel is very difficult because we have a 2 year old girl. VAC has taken all of the stress out of travel for us and it truly has been a god send since we travel so much we no longer have travel anxiety. This is one of our favorite non profits their staff and volunteer pilots have all been outstanding!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers