Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
131 Reviews
1234.969475
Previous | 1 2 3...13 |
Write A Review
September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

My husband is a wounded warrior and we first handed have experienced the generosity of Veterans Airlift Command. Over the years we have had the opportunity to become acquainted with the members of this organization and to see their passion and love for what they do is truly inspiring. Their support to the wounded warrior community is one of the best gifts one can give to a soldier and their family. Thank you for all you do Veterans Airlift Command!
September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

I lost my leg in 2004 after been shot with a rocket-propelled grenade. Ten years later, I needed two more months of intense physical therapy, 1200 miles away from my home. The actual therapy was covered, but we needed to pay for transportation, lodging, and food for two months. I rented a bedroom in a house, but plane tickets were so expensive, especially one-way. My wife escorted me down there in my car, but she needed to be home to work her own job and to care for our pets. VETERANS AIRLIFT COMMAND stepped up and quickly offered to fly my wife back and forth to accommodate us. The pilots and the aircraft were top notch. Courtesy and professionalism were standard for both of her flights. It is this simple... If we needed to pay the cost of her plane tickets, I would not have been financially able to travel and seize the opportunity for the physical therapy in that particular facility. VAC filled a gap that was a critical piece of a much bigger picture, so they saved the day. Honestly, it is not an exaggeration to say this: I am a better man because VAC accomplished their mission for me and my wife.
September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

My name is Kristi. I am have been retired from the Army and not by choice. I was offered the opportunity to go to Oregon for the 2 week service dog handler training and at the end graduate with a service dog. I was so excited but I knew I could not fly and it would take about 14 hours to drive. I decided to do some research to see if I could find an organization who would be able to fly me and my mother/caregiver in a private plane. I found Veterans Airlift Command and sent in my request. Andrew Lourake, the Program Director contacted me for more information and towards the end of the conversation he said that they would be able to help us. He put out the request for any pilots able to work my trip into their schedule. It only took a couple of days and Andrew had me in touch with a pilot that had agreed to take the outbound flight to Oregon and his name was Alberto. Unfortunately he was not able to fly me so he had Lee and Terry fly me instead. They were so amazing and made my mom and me feel at ease. They carried our bags for us and the flight was very smooth. The plane was clean and spacious.
The pilot that accepted the inbound flight was Dale & his wife Terry. They were so kind and made us feel comfortable. This time my service dog, Pongo was with me. They were very sweet to him. Upon landing they took our bags and wited til our ride came.
What do you say to describe people like this? These are people that freely fave their time to help a veteran, someone they have never met, in need. I only wish that there were more people in this world that could see past their own bubble and notice for a split second that they are not the only one living around them. It sure would be a kinder place. Thank you so very much for being that little glimpse of relief during a time of roller coaster moments. Andrew Lourake is one of the most patient, kind, understanding, helpful gentleman I have come across in a very long time. I hope he can continue on the path he is and help as many veterans/military as possible so they too can have that calm for a moment during the storm. Thank you again, Sir.
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

One of the best vetrean support organizations in America! Having been a soldier and wounded in combat and to have a resource like this is absolutely one of the most important things for the service member and the family. Being able to get severely wounded troops back home to see there loved ones helps the healing process, not only physically but mentally. Thank you so much for a life of paying it foreword so others don't have to suffer like those in the past did!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

My experience with VAC was absolutely amazing, Andrew Lourake and his volunteer pilots are caring, flexible, and professional. The mission was filled quickly and they were extremely flexible and worked off my time restraints. I am a double amputee wounded in Afghanistan, they treated my luggage and wheelchair very carefully, commercial airlines don't treat your luggage well. I will always attempt to fly with VAC before I use commercial airlines. Thank you Andrew, Jon, Mark and Phil!
September 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

VAC has made our lives so much easier when we travel. We are blessed that flying is an option for our family. However TSA is a hit or miss when you are traveling. VAC eliminates the TSA hassle and mak... more

September 19, 2014

VAC makes our life so much easier!!! My husband has a difficult time flying in commercial planes and driving long periods of time. VAC gets him where he needs to go with so much ease and the pilots are always happy to help us get where we need to go!! This organization has been a huge blessing to our family!!!
October 4, 2013

VAC has made our lives so much easier when we travel. We are blessed that flying is an option for our family. However TSA is a hit or miss when you are traveling. VAC eliminates the TSA hassle and makes the travels of the wounded so much easier!! We'll forever be grateful for VAC's assistance in helping our family get to and from the hospital and family visits!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would add to their fleet so they can help even more families.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

As a volunteer pilot, it is truly a great honor to serve our wounded warriors through the Veteran's Airlift Command. VAC is always organized, professional, and caring for our wounded veterans, and I am committed to flying for them at every opportunity I can.

I wish there were more
veterans groups with the high service ethic to our vets that VAC has, they are head & shoulders one of the best for our vets!

BIG DOG flying Citation N610BD
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

As a volunteer pilot for VAC just can't express enough what an honor it is to fly our wounded warriors to where they need to get to. Over the past 5 years, we've had the pleasure of flying more than 20 missions - each one with the most remarkable warriors on board. We are humbled by their grace, tenacity and gold star outlooks. I have to tell you, we are sad when we land the airplane and have to go our separate ways! There are no words to adequately express our gratutude to our passengers and to Vets Airlift Command, who gives us this august and life affirming opportunity. VAC is the real deal - fantastic, passionate people who make the missions possible. We love being a part of their more than 2500 volunteer pilots. We support VAC and wish we could do more! This is a non-profit that makes great things happen, solves transportation problems and is passionate about the mission. Love VAC!!
XXX Stephanie and Erwin Greenberg
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

Great Organization and great people. With short notice (Thank You, Jen) Veterans Airlift Command (VAC) was thankfully still able to fly me from the DFW area to Orlando, FL and back for my prosthetic appointment. My current prosthetic socket was giving me trouble and was causing problems. I lost my right leg below the knee and both were severely burned in a EFP blast in Baghdad. Thank you for making my life a little easier by helping me with flights. Both directions the pilots were professional and courteous. I was truly humbled by their's and their Corporation's generosity. Al and Q with Choctaw Indian Nation going out and Rob with Satcom Direct returning. I truly could not have asked for a better flying experience then I received this past week. A big thank you to those guys and the entire Staff of Veterans Airlift Command. I will definitely use VAC again and would recommend them highly to any severely injured Veteran or Service Member.
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

Veterans Airlift Command is simply amazing. My husband was injured in 2009 and just recently left the service. After he got out he was awarded a service dog from another non profit based in Ohio. We live in Tennessee. Trying to figure out how to get there from here with a family of 6 and a wounded warrior who is not allowed to drive was a daunting task. I heard about VAC from a friend who works for Luke's Wings, another non profit who has helped us in the past. Let me tell you, I emailed VAC with our dilemma and was promptly emailed back. Over the course of a week, VAC had taken all the weight off my shoulders and found a flight to accommodate my husband. Not only did Andrew Lourake help us with the flight, but he also helped put us in touch with another wounded warrior in our area. He has proven to my family that there are good people out there who will go above and beyond to help their own. Now that my husband has his service dog, he is able to function much better and his quality of life has drastically improved. Thank you VAC and our pilots for bringing some normalcy back to our lives. You all are truly amazing!!!
Previous | 1 2 3...13 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers