Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
8 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

I have been dealing with a vestibular problem for nearly 11 months now. It is a very difficult health issue to diagnose, treat, and learn to manage. VEDA has lots of resources available to help people like me. Not only do they offer clear explanations of vestibular conditions, they have interesting articles about coping mechanisms and how to live and manage your life with a vestibular condition. The newsletters have interesting articles that have helped me figure out the next steps in my treatment and have helped me feel a little less crazy about all the things going on in my head. VEDA has been a great resource for me--as a website, on their Facebook page, and in their newsletters. They have helped me feel less alone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 10, 2014

more

June 10, 2014

As a physical therapist who treats individuals with vestibular disorders, I have found VEDA to be a invaluable resource for patient-centered information that has helped my patients better understand their diagnoses. The provider directory has also allowed me to assist individuals locate providers in their specific region.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 5, 2014

more

June 5, 2014

VEDA has been very important to me since 1997 when I was diagnosed with a vestibular disorder. At that time there was no information available aside from VEDA either online or in print. Whether it's tips on how to describe my symptoms or clear information on causes, symptoms and treatments or vestibular disorders, VEDA provides the most current, helpful information. The directory of vestibular professionals is also very helpful as well as the patient support groups. Recovering from a vestibular disorder was a long, trying process and VEDA was there to provide support and information every step of the way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be better if it were bigger and could help more people. It would also be very positive if VEDA would expand advocacy for vestibular patients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 3, 2014

more

June 3, 2014

I found VEDA in 1994 to help me cope with a vestibular disorder caused by a perforated membrane in my middle ear. It left me unable to walk due to the vertigo and in bed for months and months. Using the information provided by VEDA, I was able to get diagnosed by the correct specialist and undergo surgery to repair the membrane. VEDA's information about recovery continued to help me stay focused and patient throughout the process and give me hope that I would indeed recover.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 3, 2014

more

June 3, 2014

My mother has Meniere's disease, which affects her hearing and balance. Once an outgoing and independent woman, she now has difficulty navigating busy public places and can't participate in group conversations, but because she doesn't look "sick" many people think she is just making up her symptoms. VEDA has provided a great deal of comfort and validation to her so that she doesn't feel so alone, reassurance that it's not all just "in her head." I have also learned a great deal about vestibular disorders and feel more compassion for what my mother has to live with.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 16, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 16, 2014

I have been connected with VEDA since I was initially diagnosed with Vestibular "Neuronitis" in 1986 (pre-MRI; I am allergic to CT contrast medium;). At that time the research and growing body of information available through VEDA helped me to understand the symptoms I was experiencing, especially the varied distortions in my balance the dramatic changes in cognitive processes. VEDA has LITERALLY saved my sanity and self-confidence over the years since the initial onset. That is not an understatement!
In the mid 1980's physicians were largely unaware of symptoms of vestibular disorders. I was fortunate to have worked with an ENT surgeon who quickly pinpointed the likely vestibular origin of my symptoms. However subsequent referrals by my primary care to neurologists brought very unpleasant, pejorative evaluations and allusions to malingering and psychiatric origins.
I believe VEDA has been a major catalyst and leader in furthering awareness of vestibular disorders among physicians, the development of PT reeducation of balance, research to provide further information, support to and from specialists.... so many positive developments in a life-altering yet largely invisible disease process.
I was a highly functioning RN working in the operating room at the time of onset. After 6 months away from work, mostly housebound, much of the time sleeping and regaining a semblance of balance, I found that I was unable to prioritize and re-prioritize without extreme effort and hesitation, unworkable and unsafe for patients. Information from VEDA assisted me in decisions to move to other areas of nursing. And it helped me compensate for chronic disabilities and the accompanying fatigue. It also was a source of reassurance in a few situations when coworkers judged my situation harshly.
I have been fortunate to have been able to learn to compensate or leave behind prior pleasures (bicycling, skiing,) adjust my lifestyle and continue in my profession over the past 25+ years. As I am aging, I experience the subtle decline in balance and abilities to multitask are further challenged by the underlying chronic vestibular disability. PT is a valuable assistance. And VEDA continues to be a source of valuable information. I introduce VEDA to physicians, friends and acquaintances who are experiencing inner ear symptoms.VEDA is worthy of all the support we can muster; the money is well-used and the results are indeed life changing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None I'm aware of

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2013

more

May 11, 2013

As a Vestibular Physiotherapist who has been treating people with dizziness and balance disorders for 20 years, VEDA has been an extremely valuable resource for my patients and my practice. For many years I've utilized VEDA's excellent and reliable patient education materials, their resources for professionals and their Provider Directory to help people find help from vestibular medical professionals in their area.
Now that I am fortunate enough to be on the Board of Directors, I've come to appreciate the hard work, passion and dedication from those 'behind the scenes' and am amazed by how much is accomplished by so few. We are committed to serving and advocating for those with vestibular disorders, with the vision of an international community where vestibular patients are rapidly recognized, diagnosed and treated.
Those with vestibular disorders frequently encounter a lack of understanding and support from their medical, insurance, employment and social communities. VEDA is working hard to change this, so I encourage everyone who has or cares for a person with a vestibular disorder to consider joining and supporting this wonderful and necessary organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 4, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
January 4, 2013

When my symptoms of Meniere's began to worsen, I found the best information source was VEDA! This organization provides invaluable information for people with the vast array of vestibular disorders. I truly do not know what I would have done, or to whom I would have turned for knowledge, for guidance, for support, if it weren't for VEDA, especially the publications they provide that address just about everything vestibular.

Unless people have already established a relationship with the right kind of physician who can effectively diagnose and treat these diseases, so many of us wander the Earth in agony. VEDA knows these diseases well and provides those afflicted with the tools and resources we need to get moving in the right direction of health.

Thank you to all the people of VEDA! You rock.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us prepare a membership mailing. Volunteer