Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.944445
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

My daughter, who has cerebral palsy, was lucky enough to be a participant in Variety's first-ever Chatter Matters camp in June 2013 for her first-ever camp experience, which represented one of only two times she's been away from home aside for hospital stays.

With extraordinary vision and
planning, the Variety staff and volunteer therapists and therapy students worked with tireless and infinite patience, compassion, energy, and imagination to ensure that children with disabilities could have the chance to enjoy a meaningful summer camp experience with others who face similar challenges as they and their parents became familiar with communication devices and networked with each other. From the special location Variety chose, which provided accommodations for those with all kinds of special needs to the range of activities tailored to enable these children to participate--the nature walk and lecture, the arts and crafts projects, the water games, the creative cooking, the camp fire and sing-along, the group talent show--to the Variety staff and volunteers' generosity with their time and their willingness to give of themselves, their expertise, their kindness--what a wonderful program!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 25, 2013

more

August 25, 2013

I volunteered for Variety's new Chatter Matters summer camp this past summer. I'm a student in speech pathology and not only did this camp provide a great learning experience for me but it really made an impact upon children who needed alternative ways to communicate with other people because of their disabilities. The camp was highly functional, helping families and their kids to augment their use of AAC devices, but it was also a wonderful, energetic, and fun summer camp that was able to bring people together who face similar day-to-day challenges so they could connect and learn from each other. It was a moving experience for me as a volunteer and I heard much positive feedback from the attendees as well. I would not hesitate to recommend this camp to other volunteers or people interested in attending.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 23, 2013

more

February 23, 2013

My family and I just found out about this program threw another family with a special needs child and when they told me the fun outing, the ticket's to basketball games,and water parks and soo much more. plus they have this wonderful program where you can swap equipment omg who does that no execpt, Variety!!!! They can help you get equipment for your child this is the best program ever! I'm just sad it took me till last 2 weeks ago to find out about them so Thank you guys again for the ticket's to the Bucks game my daughter loved it and so did the whole family. Let me touch on that real quick too how great that they included everyone in the house! That's great I'm super excited to see what's next on the agenda for the summer:) Thank you so much we are very thankful because without this we would never have been able to do this on our own. My mother just passed away in November and the children and I have been really depressed lately so maybe God sent you guys to us to help fill our lifes back with joy! Thank you From the Wade and Robbins family

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 26, 2012

more

December 26, 2012

My family enjoys the Variety family events. Even though my daughter has a mental disorder instead of a physical disorder, we have been included in some of the events. We just went to the Christmas party at the Majestic Cinema to see "Monsters Inc." We hardly ever go to the movies because of the cost for 5 people. These events bring our family together and are very enjoyable.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 12, 2012

I attended Variety's annual luncheon this afternoon. I haven’t been able to stop thinking about the stories, and information about what Variety does for children. What I think makes your organization so unique is that you aren’t raising money to help fund research (don’t get me wrong, I do think that’s important too) but you are just trying to find creative ways to help kids with disabilities feel more like other kids! What a loving and caring approach that is.

So in short, I have been moved beyond belief and I want to get involved! Please let me know what you need help with! I think it is absolutely amazing what you do to help disabled children and their entire families! I am so glad I was able to be there today to witness first-hand the look on Carson’s face when he saw his new blue bike! I will never forget it!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 22, 2011

more


1 previous review
March 24, 2011

Thank you so much Variety Club for the wonderful blessing you have given my son and us; He recently received a beautiful adaptive trike as a gift for Variety and would not have had this opportunity if... more

December 22, 2011












We are writing to share our experience at the recent Christmas party at Majestic Theatre. Our family was treated with courtesy and the staff present was particularly gracious. A few of the staff actually paid attention to our son and it was
very touching. The world as a whole does not recognize the value of special needs children. Given the attention and care of this program was encouraging and an application of the meaning of Christmas. We have also been recepients of a custom-made bicycle for our son. We truly have been treated well by Variety Club.



Should this review be counted for a specific campaign?

No






















How would you describe the help you got from this organization?



How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?



How do you feel you were treated by this organization?



When was your last experience with this nonprofit? Select a year 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000 1999 1998 1997










































































Add this nonprofit to My Favorite Nonprofits


Submit Review


Additional optional questions




































































Photos/Video


























.


About Us
Contacts
Are you a Nonprofit
Best Nonprofits

Community Guidelines
For Volunteers
For Donors
Holiday Giving Guide

Privacy
Terms of Use

© 2006-2011 GreatNonprofits
.





.

































































Sign In
Sign in with Facebook
Register
Tour for Nonprofits
About Us
Contact
Follow us: FacebookTwitter



Find & share your nonprofit experiences
GreatNonprofits is the place to find and review great -- and perhaps not so great ? nonprofits, charities, and volunteer and donation opportunities



Find a nonprofit or charity (e.g. "United Way" or "Food Bank San Francisco") Search

Or browse by:
ISSUE































ZIP CODE


























CITY/STATE


























CAMPAIGNS





Home
> Variety Club Children's Charities, Inc.
> Write A Review










Write A Review of Variety Club Children's Charities, In...







Tell your story


Every review helps. But the most helpful review is the one that speaks from your personal experience.
Click here for more tips on writing your review.













Key Information:
(all fields required)

Overall Rating



12345












Please select a rating.


Your role

Volunteer Client Served Donor Board Member Professional with expertise in this field General Member of the Public Advisor


Tips:•Share your personal experience
•Provide details and specific examples
•Constructive feedback can strengthen the organization
•Be honest and candid


Your Review

We are writing to share our experience at the recent Christmas party at Majestic Theatre. Our family was treated with courtesy and the staff present was particularly gracious. A few of the staff actually paid attention to our son and it was very touching. The world as a whole does not recognize the value of special needs children. Given the attention and care of this program was encouraging and an application of the meaning of Christmas. We have also been recepients of a custom-made bicycle for our son. We truly have been treated well by Variety Club.



Should this review be counted for a specific campaign?

No






















How would you describe the help you got from this organization?



How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?



How do you feel you were treated by this organization?



When was your last experience with this nonprofit? Select a year 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000 1999 1998 1997










































































Add this nonprofit to My Favorite Nonprofits


Submit Review


Additional optional questions




































































Photos/Video


























.


About Us
Contacts
Are you a Nonprofit
Best Nonprofits

Community Guidelines
For Volunteers
For Donors
Holiday Giving Guide

Privacy
Terms of Use

© 2006-2011 GreatNonprofits
.





.

































































X



Please select a rating for your review.

Ok

X



Please select a rating for your review.

Ok

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 24, 2011

Thank you so much Variety Club for the wonderful blessing you have given my son and us; He recently received a beautiful adaptive trike as a gift for Variety and would not have had this opportunity if they didnt help. We could not afford such a bike for him and are so grateful for this organization and what they did for my son and for others, keep up the great work you do!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Thank you Variety for helping my son!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep up the great work you do!

December 18, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 18, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

we are very thankful for Variety of Wisconsin in our lives. We have gone to two different events - the Harley Davidson Museum and the holiday party at the Majestic. We enjoy these free family events very much. It gives us the opportunity to participate in fun activities that we otherwise wouldn't be able to do and it is so nice to be around others who understand what we are going through.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 10, 2011

more

April 10, 2011

Variety is new to our family as a resource for assistance for my son with Fragile X. Variety is excellent at making our family feel as a priority on their list at any time. May it be tickets to an event or monetary assistance for an item or service. Variety has helped my son gain his independence and his feeling of inclusion with the children in the neighborhood by helping us purchase a new bike for him to ride with fellow friends. Thank you Vaiety for being there when our family needed help.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

many ways. Tickets to great events and funding for very helpful things for my son.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am not sure at this time as I am new to Variety.

April 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Wow.. our lives have been so enriched, blessed, made brighter by the love, and hard work of this organization and their volunteers. Every day is such a gift but in this beautiful mess of life sometimes, just getting through a week with multiple therapies, work, IEP goals , school appt's, navigating the grocery story can be a challenge - But at the Variety events, all of that is forgotten, it is about support , joy , accessible fun and friendship interaction with the kids. The easiest way for me to say it is, that this group gives us a place to "belong" and to feel connected. Thank You from our hearts :)

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing all the families with their kids - we are together having a beautiful day, focused on what we CAN do , and not on the barriers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It is a fabulous group here in Milwaukee. Wow, The communication is stellar, and the events are a bright spot in our lives

March 24, 2011

more

March 24, 2011

My parents and I started going to the activities since the last December. I am very grateful with your services. Thanks for making a difference in Our Lives.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In diferents activities

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help at an event with duties ranging from registration, providing assistance with activities at the event, conducting evaluation surveys, serving a meal, or translating for families that may not speak English fluently. Volunteer