Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 2, 2013

more

November 2, 2013

As parents to two children with special needs, we are determined to provide our children with the best that life has to offer, despite their disabilities. When the needs of our children became financially challenging, we reached out to Variety. Our youngest needed a walker and orthotics were required for both children and were provided immediately by Variety. Our children desperately wanted bikes, but were unable to ride the traditional ones. Variety was able to provide both of our children with therapeutic bikes, custom-fitted to their unique abilities.

Our children have also attended Variety Adventure Camp and always have the time of their lives. With their intense therapies and doctor appointments consuming most of their days, it is wonderful that Variety can help our children experience a more typical childhood summer. We thank God that Variety is able and willing to help us in so many ways.

We are unsure what the future entails and get overwhelmed when thinking about it, but we take great comfort in knowing that Variety will be there when we need them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try and make Variety known to everyone out there. They are an amazing organization changing the lives of children by simply saying they CAN!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

Where do I start? My son needed a wheelchair. We didn't have the extra money to cover what insurance would not. We didn't know what we were going to do! I met a mom with a child in a chair at a fair. She told me about Variety, and gave me the number for Diane. Diane was so gracious and helpful. Variety covered what we couldn't. Then we learned that Variety not only helps with equipment, but many other things too. My son was invited to an adventure camp put on by Variety. It was wonderful! They do these camps to provide opportunities for children who otherwise would not be able to go to camp because of their limited abilities. These camps are helpful in building self esteem and to teach these children they can be a productive member of society. They also learn there are others out there with similar challenges.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

Variety has been amazing for my son. He has gained confidence in himself and made friends. He feels valued and more comfortable in his own skin. It's an amazing organization that we are lucky to have in our community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I am the parent of a six year old boy with Down syndrome and autism. Variety has helped him and our family in so many ways! The summer camp has been so amazing for him and he absolutely loves going. He is able to participate in a lot of activities that otherwise would be very challenging for him. He also received an adapted bike from Variety two years ago and it is amazing to see him pedal it himself, I have to run to keep up. He loves to ride it to the park in our neighborhood. Variety also provides our son with the orthodic inserts that help give him stability for movement. He also receives weekly therapy through the There-happy program. I can't imagine where we would be without the help of the Variety Club, it is truly a wonderful organization dedicated to helping kids with special needs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

My daughter is 8 years old and Variety has helped us more times that I can count! And in more ways than can be counted! She has attended "I Can" Summer Camp for years & it's her favorite weeks of the year. She has also received an amazing bike from Bikes for Kids, and a wheelchair lift for our van. For the past two years, she has loved being a part of Variety Chorus and this year, is doing her first musical with Variety. Everyone I speak to at Variety has such love for kids that it shines through in all they do! She would not be where she is without Variety & neither would we!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Duplicate it all over the world!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I have been served by Variety since I was 4 years old. I have gotten equipment and so many opportunities though. I love acting and singing. Because of Variety I've been able to take voice lessons and be in musicals. I've been able to meet new people and become friends with them. I'm so grateful to Variety for the opportunities I've had and the ones I'm continuing to get!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 18, 2011

more

August 18, 2011

With out Variety Club I am not sure that we would beable to take care of our special needs daughter. They have helped us MANY times when the ins. Company could/would not pay for the equipment. I will forever be greatful for Variety Club and what they have done for us and other famlies like us! Many people do not understand the need for the equipment or the cost of it. God Bless Variety Club and Everyone that contributes to them To make all of this possible.
Forever Greatful,
Tammy

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Many ways, We can take our daughter EVERYWHERE we go! Variety Club plays a roll with our daily lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!

August 18, 2011

more

August 18, 2011

I wish I could give Variety 10 stars! What a fabulous organization. Our son has spina bifida and has attended camp for the past two years (FREE OF CHARGE). It would have been very difficult for us to provide the kind of camping experience he received on our own. The staff, volunteers, and programs are fabulous. Our son talked for an entire year about camp (in fact, he constantly asked us, "how many more months until I can go back to camp?!")

I can't say enough good things about Variety! Love them!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am the parent of a child who received services

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing. they are incredible

August 18, 2011

more

August 18, 2011

Our son suffered a traumatic brain injury in May of '08 at the age of 5. My wife and I were in shock as his life hung in the balance for weeks. As his condition stabilized, it became clear that we were entering a whole new world with a son requiring medical equipment and services that we weren't yet mentally or financially equipped to provide.
Variety was the first place we turned and 3 years later we have never heard them say "No." Our son relies on tens of thousands of dollars of durable medical goods everyday that Variety have been so graciously and unconditionally donated by the good folks at Variety.
Our family can say without reservation that Variety has played a pivotal role in our son's ongoing recovery and their dedication to special needs kids in the St. Louis area is without parallel.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They play a critical role in our son's recovery from TBI.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

June 18, 2011

more

June 18, 2011

Variety childrens Charity has been the lifeline for my son Martin he has been a client for about 16 years now .Diane Grutzka and Jen Petterson and the entire staff are remarkable.This organization has enabled Martin and the rest of our family to engage with various outings, the annual parade and We have goen to places like the Science Center,The Airport
Mcdonald's boat at the Arch.If the Variety's Childrens Charity was not in place Marty would never have any recreational activities at all.They also provided Marty with his first therapuetic bike.Can you believe that! And just when I thought they had done everything for us they were very instrumental to our family recieving a van from United Access! THANK YOU FOR ALL YOU DO FOR FAMILIES WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE SPEACIAL NEEDS AND DISABILITES GOD BLESS YOU!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We have been allowed to attend theatre.My other children get a chance to interact with Martin as well as other Varitety Children families.Variety's Childrens Charity has impacted our lives so much words could never express what they have done for us and so many other families.They are truly a blessing.Diane and Jen and all staff WE Love You!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make sure the media got in invovled more and that the word never stops about this wonderful organization.We only really here about them when the Variey week is up and coming.We need to let the entire community how vital Variety Children Charity really is.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers