Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

In 2012 my baby girl was diagnosed with Joubert syndrome that affected her vision and her muscle tone. At this time i was really emotional and needed alot of support.In the most difficult situation We were put in the hands of Pam Champin who guided us every step off the way without her we could have been lost , always has wonderful suggestions that might help and improve my daughter eyesight she is available by phone, lent us appropriate toys to help stimulate Arlyns vision most importantly she accompanied me to her eye appointments take notes and ask questions after the appointment she takes time to discuss .I'm forever grateful to Pam champin and Blind Babies foundation and will always appreciate her compassion , expertise and sensitivity to my daughters Arlyn needs .
August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

My step daughter became blind at age 6 months from a probable SIDS episode. The Blind Babies Foundation served her and her family with home visits, counseling to the family, and assistance with interactions with medical and educational staff! This little one would not have been able to grow into a happy young adult with the early intervention provided by Dottie Bridge and her colleagues. We are forever grateful to Blind Babies!
August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

There is simply nothing like BBF anywhere. Imagine getting a frightening diagnosis, then having someone who fully understands your child's medical conditions, their developmental challenges and the emotional roller-coaster the family has just jumped aboard arrive on your doorstep.

The
support, advise and expertise is second to none. BBF wrote the book on services for blind and low vision infants and preschoolers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 21, 2014

more

August 21, 2014

When my daughter Sharon was born in 1984 we soon realized that she was legally blind. We were referred to Blind Babies Foundation, and were put in the hands of Dottie, who guided us every step of the way. Without her we would have been lost. I am forever grateful to Dottie and Blind Babies Foundation and will always appreciate her compassion, expertise and sensitivity to my daughter's Sharon needs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

In July of 2007 my beautiful son Logan was born. I could not be happier with my new bundle of joy. Everything about Logan is perfect and we had a hard time being apart from each other. Very few people would watch Logan and give my husband and I time together because he would cry the whole time. Even I felt like crying when we were apart. I knew something was different with Logan and was assured that he was fine, "go home, his eyes are still growing, he'll start to focus on things soon." I wanted to believe that Doctor so badly. After a few months and over a dozen Doctors we finally found Logan's current Doctor that we see bi-annually. The moment we stepped into his office he gave us a diagnosis for Logan and asked us if we would like for him to call Blind Babies Foundation on our behalf and give us a referral. I vaguely remember much after this moment. I think it was just the word blind that put me in a trance of just non-belief that this was my life and that there was anything wrong with my son. Blind Babies called me the next day and they came out to the house the day after. Blind Babies gave me the initial support I needed to get through the shock of having a diagnosis of a baby with no vision. Blind Babies Foundation helped me wade through the muck of services provided for Logan, our first IFSP, how to get help with our first IEP, and most important what I can do to help Logan now! The only regret I have is not having Blind Babies Foundation available to Logan earlier. The earlier the intervention in a child's life with special needs the better chance that child has at an independent future. Logan just had his first day of 2nd grade yesterday! He is a part of running club, he does dance and is happy to be back with all the friends he made last year. Logan walks with a cane and because of Blind Babies early intervention and parent support we all gave Logan the confidence to be independent, just like everyone else. Thank you Blind Babies Foundation!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

Ten years ago my granddaughter was born with HIE, Micricephaly, CP, and CVI ( cortical vision Impairment The people at Blind Babies were called and we were assigned Pam Chapin who worked tiredlessly with our grand daughter. What a lifesaver she was she had wonderful suggestions that might help and improve her eyesight. From constructing a PVC play gym to picking up gold fish, using a early communication board. So many things. She saw us through those first difficult years and helped us find ways to encourage my granddaughter to use what sight she might have.
We were so lucky to have Pam as our therapist and give thanks for all her help. It wouldn't have been possible without Blind Babies Foundation. Forever thankful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make changes

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

August 16, 2014

more

August 16, 2014

Blind Babies Foundation serves families of children with various disabilities as well as blindness. The children usually have been identified somehow as babies with visual impairment. Blind Babies counselors, teachers of the visually impaired, connect with the child in the home, bringing hope and strategies for raising these children. As the parent of a child with visual impairment, the grandparent of a multiply disabled child with visual impairment, I know how isolated these families feel. The support and help provided by Blind Babies Foundation is a lifeline that these families really need and appreciate. I know many families who have been served by Blind Babies Foundation. The support offered is life-changing, for parents and children, enabled to live a "normal" and fulfilling life. One of the children I know, now grown, has gone on to earn a Master's degree and serves disabled people himself. Another is a professional chemist and professor of chemistry at a California University, who offers blind teenagers an opportunity to master chemistry despite their visual impairments. The start enabled by Blind Babies counselors has helped them and many others to go on to achieve their full potential, rather than being relegated to busy work in their classrooms, being left behind their sighted peers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

fund it lavishly so that all of Northern California counties could be served by Blind Babies Foundation. I think that BBF would have made a fundamental difference to my blind son. Unfortunately, we did not live in a county served by BBF, due to financial limitations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 28, 2013

Blind Babies Foundation provides exemplary services to families whose children have a visual impairment. A child born with vision loss learns much differently than their sighted peers. BBF has been a ... more

August 13, 2014

I have been involved with BBF since 1979. First I was a home teacher for BBF, working in the Central Valley and several other areas BBF serves. It was an honor to join families on a journey that few can understand! The role vision plays in the development of a child is so crucial. Making the adaptations, understanding the implications extends to all areas of development.
Once retired from BBF, I began a different journey-that of a board member. Knowing the import of these critical services drew me to involvement which would help sustain Blind Babies Foundation. The services have remained free to families and their blind and/or visually impaired child for over 64 years. The services are awesome.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More funding so that children in other communities could benefit from the direct in home services.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2013

Blind Babies Foundation provides exemplary services to families whose children have a visual impairment. A child born with vision loss learns much differently than their sighted peers. BBF has been a leader in the field of early education, providing disability specific help to the families and their children. I am proud to be a part of this community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand their services to all of California.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My son was born with a visual disability called cortical visual impairment (CVI). Despite having worked in the area of education for students with visual impairments for more than 10 years, I was absolutely stunned. Blind Babies Foundation was wonderful. Our Home Counselor visited regularly, was available by phone 24/7 and lent us appropriate toys to help stimulate Jacob's limited use of his vision. Most importantly, she accompanied me to his eye appointments, took notes and called me the next day to report what the doctor had said. This was necessary because I was a total basket case in the eye doctor's office and generally couldn't remember anything he said. All this happened almost 30 years ago and Jacob is now grown up, has his MSW and is working for an Independent Living Resource Center in Santa Barbara, CA. BBF was a major player in Jacob's "village". Don't know how we would have managed without Blind Babies Foundation. I am now a volunteer for BBF and am trying to pay back some of what I received.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would hire more staff, lower each staff's caseload and cover more counties - all at the same time.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 15, 2013

more

November 15, 2013

Blind Babies Foundation is an incredible resource for so many families. I feel fortunate that my incredible cousin was able to reap the benefits of this organization. He excelled so much in his first few years of life thanks to the relentless support of his parents and Blind Babies Foundation. I was lucky to work at the California School of the Blind one summer, and many of these students had been part of Blind Babies Foundation family. It was evident that these children benefited so much from the resources, information and support provided by Blind Babies Foundation. They are a wonderful nonprofit!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers