Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Variety Club Children's Charity has been a huge help to my daughter and our family. Due to my daughter's special needs, growing body, and short endurance for walking and standing for extended periods of time, her toddler stroller was no longer appropriate. The specialized stroller that we needed to help her access the community was very costly and unobtainable for us, but becoming increasingly necessary. The Variety Children's Charity helped us to get a specialized "big kid" stroller which has allowed my daughter to particpiate in all kinds of family and community activities, that would otherwise be very difficult. Thanks again to all of the staff, volunteers, and community members that participate in this organization that is dedicated to helping children of all abilities.

~Katie and Grace

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 12, 2013

I have been involved with this organization for almost 2 years,what a wonderful organization it is. They really care for the kids!!! My son has Celebral palsey and Variety got him a tricycle so he co... more

September 19, 2013

My son has special needs and they helped me get him the tricycle that he wanted. Now he can play with the neighbor kids!! I have been involved with Varitety alittle over 2 years . They are great!!! What a great organization to be involved with!!! They far-exceed my expetations!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with this organization for almost 2 years,what a wonderful organization it is. They really care for the kids!!!
My son has Celebral palsey and Variety got him a tricycle so he could keep up with the neighborhood kids playing. Just seeing how my son's face lights up when
he was presented the tricycle and rides it ,I will always be thankful for Variety coming into my life!!!
They exceed my expectations every time I'm involved in an activity with them.
Great organization and wonderful staff members!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved in Variety for almost three years and could not imagine a more impactful or meaningful volunteer experience. Growing up as an able-bodied and "normal" child, I had all the opportunities for activity and mobility. There are many children in our community who do not get to experience the joys of mobility and independence, and Variety does all it can to change that, one child at a time. Mobility is such an intangible thing...you can't feel it like hunger or quantify it in dollars to fix. Giving the freedom of of mobility for the child for the first time is a life changing experience and allows the to live a more active and healthy life, and in many cases, leads to a much higher quality of life. For me, the highest satisfaction I receive from my volunteer efforts are the smiles on a child's face the first time they ride their new adaptive bicycle or stand-up in a new wheelchair. Further, the letters from the parents saying how much happier their special needs child is now that they can ride their bicycle with neighborhood children...or parents no longer have the back-breaking task of lifting the wheelchair into the van for a trip...are truly heartwarming!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to grow as there are many more children and families that can be served by the gift of mobility. The broader reach the organization is able to have, the more charitable requests will come in, and the more funds will be needed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Impactful. Dynamic. Innovative. These three words come to mind when thinking about Variety Children's Charity of Greater Kansas City! What a great organization to be involved with! The energetic volunteers, amazing cause and great events (both fundraisers and ones that directly involve beneficiaries) all make for a phenomenal non-profit organization. I have had the opportunity to work with Variety the past 4 years as an intern and a volunteer and have truly seen the difference that they make in the lives of Kansas City kids! Not only do the kids benefit, but also those who are involved in any way! Great cause & great people to get involved with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have a special needs daughter. (muscular dystrophy, epilepsy, brain tumors, osteoporosis, and spina bifida occulta) When I was in need of a lift for her motor scooter because I can't lift it and our van is not big enough, I looked online and found Variety! Our lives have been changed forever. Sometimes having special needs children you feel helpless, but after meeting Deb I have a whole new energy. Not only did they jump right on getting us the lift we needed for the van, Deb has shown us a love that no other has shown. Variety has provided us with many opportunities to be "normal" and go do "normal" things. Anytime I see a child or family struggling with a special needs child, I tell them all about Variety. There is no way I could ever repay Variety for the freedom they have given, except to share my story.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The passion and energy of this organization is absolutely amazing!! I leave every event, happy hour and planning session feeling inspired and like I am making a difference. The best part is being able to interact with the kids at different events and getting to know them and their families. I am extremely proud to be a member of this organization and help children living with daily challenges live their lives to their fullest potential.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Watching my 5 year old learn to ride a bike has been such a joy this summer... I think it has to feel like what I feel like times thousands for the loved ones that watch our Variety kids get on an adaptive bike for the first time!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a board member of Variety Children's Charity of Greater Kansas City for 8+ years. In that time, I have meet some amazing children and their families. It is an incredibly rewarding experience to present a mobility bike / trike to a special needs child and see their face light up as they realize they can ride along with their able-bodied siblings and friends. In addition to mobility bikes, Variety has helped Kansas City children and their families with wheelchairs, strollers, transportation needs, wheelchair ramps, braces, lift systems, handicapped accessible playground equipment and more. Variety truly helps improve the quality of life for special needs children and their families.

In addition to the children and families I have meet through Variety, I have enjoyed getting to know the Variety board members who are from all walks of life. We all have a passion in common to help children in the Kansas City area experience life as comfortably, proudly and as happily as possible!!! Thanks to our wonderful Executive Director (Deb), our mission is made possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Variety is so passionate about kids with special needs and ensuring that they have the same opportunities as others. Their kid-centered events, their connection with our community's kids, and the true value and spirit that they bring those they serve is immeasurable. Thanks for being a great community leader!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

Variety Children's Charity Of Greater Kansas City has been instrumental in helping The Miracle League of Olathe get their Miracle League Baseball field built. They have put in countless hours helping with fundraising and giving ideas to make to make this dream happen. They are great people and know how to get things done. We are very grateful! Eric Hughes

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer to make a difference in our community Volunteer