Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.985
Write A Review
October 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have recently started volunteering at the Valley Animal Center. It is a great non profit no kill animal shelter that gives dogs and cats a temporary home until they can find their forever owner. This is the cleanest and best kept animal shelter that I have ever been to. The animals are provided with a clean and healthy environment that ensures a healthy dog for potential owners. I love volunteering here because I get to clean, help out, and just play with the animals. The animals there are so loving and happy and really appreciate volunteers like myself taking their time just to give them some attention and affection.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I really had to make a change to this organization I would just enhance the online website in order to make it easier for potential owners to view some of the animals present in the shelter before coming in.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

VALLEY ANIMAL CENTER IS ALL ABOUT TAKING CARE OF UNWANTED ANIMALS AND THE PEOPLE WHO DONATE THEIR TIME FOR THAT OBJECTIVE. THIS IS NOT ONLY A STOP OFF FOR THESE ANIMALS BUT ALSO A HOME FOR SOME, A HOME THAT MANY MAY NEVER HAD HAD. ITS ALSO A PLACE FOR VOLUNTEERS TO TO GET INVOLVED AND BRING SOME LOVE INTO THESE LIVES AND IN RETURN GET A LOT OF LOVE BACK. AFTER MY WIFE RETIRED, SHE STARTED VOLUNTEERING ,CHANGED HER LIFE AND IS NOW AS HAPPY AS SHE HAS EVER BEEN. WE BOTH SPEND TIME THERE NOW

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

TRY TO KEEP ALL OF THE GOOD STAFF MEMBERS AND NOT LET THEM MOVE ON TO OTHER JOBS

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I am a professional pet sitter and a volunteer for Valley Animal Center. I have helped raise funds and donated food as a community project and have foster parent to VAC puppies. This organization has its act together, they do an outstanding job of caring for all the animals in their charge, they are organized and get things done, work with the community and have the forsite to continue to grow to make the Central Valley a better place for homeless animals. The low cost spay and neuter clinic is a great resource for the many other non-profit shelters in the valley who are trying to do their part. It is my pleasure to help support this great organization in any way I can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

Valley Animal Center is the place in the Valley to adopt a cat or dog. All of the staff at Valley Animal Center show so much concern for the dogs and cats at their shelter. The shelter is very clean a... more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Every year I have my picture taken with all of the good cats and dogs. This picture is something you will always cherish and makes a great Christmas Card. All of the volunteers and people that work there are the nicest people you will ever meet. They show an amazing kindness and caring spirit for all of the cats and dogs that are just looking for a special home they can go to. Please come by and see me on Saturday November 16th and join in the fun. I'm looking forward to seeing you.

Santa Paws

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it larger so more cats and dogs would have a shelter to go to when they are lost.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012

Valley Animal Center is the place in the Valley to adopt a cat or dog. All of the staff at Valley Animal Center show so much concern for the dogs and cats at their shelter. The shelter is very clean and professional. I have had the extreme pleasure of volunterring at the shelter and have had the opportunity to see firsthand how all of the staff interacts with the cats and dogs in the shelter. They truly care about the animals and do evrything they can to have them adopted into caring families homes. In fact my dog Mason came from the shelter and is a fantastic dog.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our company, Island Photography, has partnered with Valley Animal Center by providing some technical services to Valley and by encouraging our customers to donate to the Center. We picked Valley because of their humane, ethical and professional manner in running the no kill shelter. Everyone with whom we have contact in their organization is exceptional. They are knowledgeable, dedicated, hard working folks and just plain fun to be around. Our expectations have been exceeded time and again. We have lots and lots of animal lovers in our company and we are all very grateful the the Valley Animal Center exists for the benefit of the animals in our communities. Ed Jaeger, president/owner, Island Photography

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 5, 2012

The Valley Animal Center is the best there is in Fresno County, it has the best care for any animal. It took care of my Tootie they were great. more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for at least 20 years and this is the best shelter every, they are best on helping all of our animals. Thank you Valley Animal Center for all your help in our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012

The Valley Animal Center is the best there is in Fresno County, it has the best care for any animal. It took care of my Tootie they were great.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012

more

November 23, 2012

I like the fact there is a no-kill shelter in Fresno that is helping to save animals and also provide lo-cost spaying and neutering. I do wish the kennel staff was more professional and friendlier though, which is why I gave them 3 stars instead of 4.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

i have been a volunteer for about a year and love every minute. the animals are kept in great condition the place is so clean no odors lots of room. The dogs are always being walked and the cats are always being cuddled and the staff are just such special people, i cannot say enough good things about this wounderful place. maggie

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Valley Animal Center is a top notch shelter. The staff is amazing and the animals are able to live in a very nice environment until they find their forever homes. I am proud to be a volunteer with Valley Animal Center!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with VAC for more than 11 yrs and it has been a very rewarding experience. I have watched it grow from a no kill shelter for cats in a small run-down building to a beautiful no kill shelter for cats and dogs. My main role has been to be foster mommie for kittens. I cannot express the enjoyment and fulfillment this has broght me. The facility is expanding every day and is currently completing fenced in areas for shelter dogs to run and play that will also be open to the public at specified times. The cats have fenced in areas outside their rooms and the dogs are walked many times daily. This is a valuable assest to our community as Fresno County has the highest euthenasia rate in California so we providea valuable alternative and give our furry friends another chance at finding a forever home! I have been blessed to be a part of this shelter's growth and functions. This facility definitely deserves to be one of the 2012 Top-Rated Nonprofits List!! Thank you, Jan Mahar

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

The lifeblood of our organization is our family of volunteers. Over 1,500 people have attended our volunteer orientations and we currently have about 750 active volunteers. These dedicated individuals share our passion for animals and help us out in a variety of ways. Volunteer