Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.985
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with VAC for more than 11 yrs and it has been a very rewarding experience. I have watched it grow from a no kill shelter for cats in a small run-down building to a beautiful no kill shelter for cats and dogs. My main role has been to be foster mommie for kittens. I cannot express the enjoyment and fulfillment this has broght me. The facility is expanding every day and is currently completing fenced in areas for shelter dogs to run and play that will also be open to the public at specified times. The cats have fenced in areas outside their rooms and the dogs are walked many times daily. This is a valuable assest to our community as Fresno County has the highest euthenasia rate in California so we providea valuable alternative and give our furry friends another chance at finding a forever home! I have been blessed to be a part of this shelter's growth and functions. This facility definitely deserves to be one of the 2012 Top-Rated Nonprofits List!! Thank you, Jan Mahar

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have observed this organization transition from a grass roots small organization to an empowered and cutting edge facility for our valleys pets. Very impressive and much needed

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Valley Animal Center is a no kill shelter that has been around for over 26 years, first being a shelter for cats and then expanding to include both cats and dogs. Their work comes from the heart and they are the best of the best, saving the lives thousands of an abandoned animals. Valley Animal Center finds them a loving home and gives them a clean, warm, safe and loving environment to live in in the mean time. Valley Animal Center is a little piece of animal Heaven in Fresno, CA.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is my favorite nonprofit organization. They have come a long ways from a small shelter to being able to help a greater number of both cats and dogs. Because they treat their animals very well, I have supported them with donations and silent auction items for many years.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I recently spent the summer in Fresno and was saddened by the large numbers of abondaned pets, due to foreclosures and high unemployment. A neighbor was contemplating "giving up" her beloved dog as she could not afford the spaying fees and was concerned about her dog not having current vaccinations. The Valley Animal Center worked out a discounted, payment plan................allowing this pet to stay with it's family.........................and NOT contributing to the ever growing pet population problem. The Valley Animal Center had a caring, compassionate staff. They were eager to work with this family, for the health of the animal and workable solutions for the family. While visiting Fresno, I must say the facility was "state of the art"............. clean & efficient, with a knowledgable and friendly staff. The organization is so deserving of the BEST nonprofit!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Valley Animal Center is one of the best animal shelters I have ever visited. They have a wonderful adoption area for the cats that include a large open area surrounded by windows, with many climbing areas and cubby holes. There are also large outside areas that the cats can hang out all day. I have never seen such happy animals in a shelter. Their dogs have large kennels with an outside area and they are housed with a buddy if possible. Their spay and netuer clinic has the lowest prices in the area and provide services for all sizes of dogs, feral cats and kittens. They also provide very low-cost vaccinations and other medical services. The animals are cared for by a very loving, knowledgeable and committed staff. I can't say enough about the Valley Animal Center. It is truly an amazing shelter for animals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

What this center does for the animals in the Valley is absolutely wonderful. So many abandoned and mistreated animals come through and are given the medical care they need to make them adoptable. Keep up the good work, we need more organizations like the Valley Animal Center.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been to, and supported, a large number of animal shelters and the Valley Animal Center is the most impressive facility I have been to. The housing facilities are top notch, with cats sharing large rooms instead of being in individual cages and large runs for the dogs in which they are double housed when possible. The staff and volunteers I have encountered are extremely knowledgeable and both very passionate and compassionate. I will continue to fully support this facility due to the impressive care, staff and facilities.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My 13 year old heard about the Valley Animal Center needing volunteers and signed up. She also got me to sign up, we have walked the dogs and volunteered at different events to raise awareness and funds for the No Kill shelter. They do wonderful work for the animals (cats and dogs) that are waiting for their forever homes. The facility is kept clean, the animals are well cared for, the staff and volunteers are so caring and wonderful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first visited the Valley Animal Center to get one of my cats fixed. They had the lowest prices in town for spay/neutering cats. Also had all the vaccines for a low cost too. I think this provides an extremely valuable service to the community, with the huge pet over population problem we need to have these services offered at a price most people can afford. My favorite part of the Valley Animal Center, however, is the cat adoption building. Its looks nothing like the typical shelter in there. Cats are housed in rooms, not cages. They have shelves and cubbys to sleep on. There are cat doors leading out to a play area outside. The cats look so much happier than the ones at the SPCA... and you know that they arent on 'death row' either!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

The lifeblood of our organization is our family of volunteers. Over 1,500 people have attended our volunteer orientations and we currently have about 750 active volunteers. These dedicated individuals share our passion for animals and help us out in a variety of ways. Volunteer