Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.985
Write A Review
October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Shortly after we moved to Fresno, I lost one of my long time pet dogs. I was not going to get another, but when taking some donations to VAC, I casually asked if a small female fluffy dog might be available. The nice lady said not yet, but we did get get one in that will be available in a few days. When I asked if I could see her, she was very happy to show her to me. Right then I decided to adopt the little girl if my wife approved. I then asked the lady, Lauren, if she would reserve the dog for me until I could bring my wife to see her. The next day when my wife saw how much I already liked the little girl she agreed that we should adopt her. The next day when she could be released, I picked her up and we went directly to to groomer. When I got her home, my other dog which had been the alpha tried to get fresh with her and she put him in his place right then and there. Made me so proud of her. We changed her name from Lacy to Lady Bug and she has been just a great little dog. I often wonder, how could someone have put such a great little animal in a shelter? Actually, she had already been put on the kill list at another shelter when Valley Animal Center rescued her and I am very thankful they did.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have acted in the capacity of General Legal Counsel to VAC for the past several years, I have adopted members of my animal family from VAC and have participated in several fundraisers and other activities sponsored by VAC. I have found this to be one of the most rewarding organizations to be a member of as well as enjoy all interactions with all of the staff and directors of this facility. The new dog park is a most welcome addition and has been the result of much planning and hard work on the part of all of the VAC staff. I highly recommend many of my clients to VAC if they are looking to adopt and try to make pet adoption one of my top priorities whenever speaking with friends, family and clients.

We need the entire Valley to adopt a no kill policy and i hope that one day the influence of this wonderful community of people will have that effect on the rest of the animal care facilities here in the San Joaquin Valley as well as surrounding areas. duroli

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have recently started volunteering at the Valley Animal Center. It is a great non profit no kill animal shelter that gives dogs and cats a temporary home until they can find their forever owner. This is the cleanest and best kept animal shelter that I have ever been to. The animals are provided with a clean and healthy environment that ensures a healthy dog for potential owners. I love volunteering here because I get to clean, help out, and just play with the animals. The animals there are so loving and happy and really appreciate volunteers like myself taking their time just to give them some attention and affection.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I really had to make a change to this organization I would just enhance the online website in order to make it easier for potential owners to view some of the animals present in the shelter before coming in.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Center is one of the few no-kill shelters that provide continuing care for cats/kittens. Having placed a formerly feral cat here, I have witnessed they provide close scrutiny to be certain the cats have good medical care and interaction with people as well as other cats while awaiting a forever home. I visit this shelter about three times each week and observed that the suites are kept clean and comfortable. The staff is professional but also personable. From my observations, the dogs have a lot of attention and exercise. It's amazing how they are able to carefully extend a limited budget.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Advertise their services more broadly given too many residents are not aware they exist. More animals would be adopted if they knew animals from the Center are well socialized and a better choice than those from other shelters. Additional donors might be found should the agency publicize in non-traditional venues.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

Animal Valley Center deserves much recognition for being a top notch facility and safe haven for unwanted animals. They treat the animals as if they were their very own. The facility is clean, beautiful and filled with wonderful staff whom are professional, attentive, sympathetic, and caring. They go above and beyond to help people and animals . Animal Valley Center is a blessing to our community!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

This is the premier facility for the region, serving the Central Valley's unwanted dogs and cats in need of care, shelter and rehabilitation with the end goal of adopting these animals to loving families. This facility was thought out in its constructing phases and is staffed with very caring and professional individuals passionate about animal welfare. The premier facility offers state of the art vet care and living quarters to include indoor / outdoor access plus a dog park with fountains and a wading pool for humans and their dogs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their services to include City and County Animal Control contracts and turn this County into a 99% NO-KILL region.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Wonderful organization with a absolutly great cause!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I can not say enough great things about the Valley Animal Center! The people there are amazing. They are so helpful and their caring attitudes shine through with everything they do. The Valley Animal Center truly cares about the animals they provide homes for and the community they serve.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to serve more animals and families in the Valley.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

VALLEY ANIMAL CENTER IS ALL ABOUT TAKING CARE OF UNWANTED ANIMALS AND THE PEOPLE WHO DONATE THEIR TIME FOR THAT OBJECTIVE. THIS IS NOT ONLY A STOP OFF FOR THESE ANIMALS BUT ALSO A HOME FOR SOME, A HOME THAT MANY MAY NEVER HAD HAD. ITS ALSO A PLACE FOR VOLUNTEERS TO TO GET INVOLVED AND BRING SOME LOVE INTO THESE LIVES AND IN RETURN GET A LOT OF LOVE BACK. AFTER MY WIFE RETIRED, SHE STARTED VOLUNTEERING ,CHANGED HER LIFE AND IS NOW AS HAPPY AS SHE HAS EVER BEEN. WE BOTH SPEND TIME THERE NOW

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

TRY TO KEEP ALL OF THE GOOD STAFF MEMBERS AND NOT LET THEM MOVE ON TO OTHER JOBS

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I am a professional pet sitter and a volunteer for Valley Animal Center. I have helped raise funds and donated food as a community project and have foster parent to VAC puppies. This organization has its act together, they do an outstanding job of caring for all the animals in their charge, they are organized and get things done, work with the community and have the forsite to continue to grow to make the Central Valley a better place for homeless animals. The low cost spay and neuter clinic is a great resource for the many other non-profit shelters in the valley who are trying to do their part. It is my pleasure to help support this great organization in any way I can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

The lifeblood of our organization is our family of volunteers. Over 1,500 people have attended our volunteer orientations and we currently have about 750 active volunteers. These dedicated individuals share our passion for animals and help us out in a variety of ways. Volunteer