Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.914295
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2012

I'm so thankful we found Vagabond Acting Troupe. I have been driving my daughter long distances for years to find an experience that really teaches her the rewards and challenges of her current chosen... more

September 17, 2013

Vagabond has been wonderful for our family- the kids and parents are welcoming and supportive, and though there is a competitive process for auditioning, the staff is so supportive and helpful it makes even the audition a learning process. So glad we found Vagabond!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

I'm so thankful we found Vagabond Acting Troupe. I have been driving my daughter long distances for years to find an experience that really teaches her the rewards and challenges of her current chosen profession. After auditions, she told me she had learned more from the VAT team in one day than she did in weeks at other programs. The staff treat the kids as professionals, but they don't forget to allow them "kid" moments. My daughter has already signed up for the next two shows, and has a new group of friends. As a parent, I've been to many organizations that have a high level of competition between "stage moms". This was NOT my experience at Vagabond, which made the whole experience positive. The staff work hard to keep egos at the door and help everyone learn and have fun.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

Vagabond Acting Troupes gave me the experience of life time. I was able to help out with make up and props. I was also give a wonderful opportunity to get up on stage and act in one of their professional shows. I got to meet a wonderfully supportive group of friends and I look forward to continuing my work with them in the Fall season.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would help expand it so that they could do everything that they would like to do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

Well i've been working with them for about almost a year now and originally I was going was not planing on making friends but I ended up did anyway ops all I can say is theses kids are amazing actress and actors Ive had the honor working with as well as the director and other staff members I've actually put a'lot of time as well as effort making sure my acting skills are sharpen as well as others encourage me as well as I encourage others to do so as well the parents are supportive of there kids as well as the other cast mates are very kind to each other as well. I would give this a five star for it for the acting the power theses kids bring to vagabond theater I think Vagabond theater is a great place where you can get your child the confidence they need to succeed in life if you don't believe me check this video out
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yfGu43f6oWo

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't want it to change unless if they have a haunted house for october would be cool as well as more new shows even adult shows As well as improv comedy shows maybe a play called the little princess the fantasticks maybe holes would be kinda cool and another murder mystery if I was to make changes I would make them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

I'm always impressed with the quality of productions that Vagabond puts out with such a short amount of time. The staff and young actors all work very hard and each time they give the communtiy a quality show that would rival some professional perfomances.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

My daughter did two weeks at Vagabond's summer camp and couldn't wait to do it again. When the fall workshop started she could hardly wait to get started. She is typically nervous in new situations, Vagabond has helped her come out of her shell by making new friendships with many new faces. There are many, many important lessons that are taught at Vagabond, the most important being hard work does pay off. She can't wait to get to work at the next workshop.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

My son has learned so much though his experience at Vagabond, (with his singing, blocking, writing, basically every aspect of theater) The director has so much professional experience she passes on to the kids, if they wanted to work in the field, they would be prepared. Its a very encouraging environment for every skill level. And the parents are so nice too!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

My daughter just completed her first, of what she hopes to be many, workshops at Vagabond acting Troupe and is still singing it's praises. We were amazed at what she learned and at her level of involvement I the production. The entire program was a learning experience for her but the most amazing part was that the production was fabulous as well. Everyone we invited to see the show raved about it. When children can experience the success that comes from such quality they truly learn the value of effort in production and I believe that is what Vagabond gave my daughter.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 24, 2012

more

June 24, 2012

Vagabond acting troupe welcomed me as a young theatre artist in Philadelphia, and I couldn't be more grateful for the experience. I grew up with Vagabond; I interned, I became a core ensemble member, I acted as the company’s vocal coach, I even became a board member. My experience with Vagabond was a crucial factor that led me to pursue my MFA in Dramaturgy at Columbia University. Now as I work professionally in the NYC theatre scene, I often think of the many lessons I learned from Vagabond. The organization supports creativity, encourages collaboration, makes hard work fun, and always finds laughter in the rehearsal room. Vagabond is serious about play and is truly an open and encouraging organization. More than anything, I carry Vagabond's enthusiasm for theatre with me wherever I work. I only have great things to say about Vagabond and send all my love and support to the organization from NYC. I miss Vagabond!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

My daughter has acted in several performances with Vagabond. She has enjoyed each and every experience and has come away with new skills and a greater love for acting.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 4, 2012

more

June 4, 2012

When I first joined Vagabond Acting Troupe as a little fourth grader I wasn't sure what to expect. They had came to my school to present one of the plays they were showing at the time and my friends and I thought it would be interesting to try. I had no idea how life changing the experience would be. I have always enjoyed singing and dancing, but it wasn't until I entered Vagabond Acting Troupe that I got over my shyness to show others how much talent I truly had. Before meeting Aileen and the rest of her wonderful cast I would not sing in public and speaking just in front of people was mind boggling. Vagabond taught me that it is okay to be goofy, in fact people actually enjoy it. I have been in five shows now with Vagabond and have even branched out to act else where as well. The only flaw that Vagabond seems to have is it's advertising. It mostly relies on us, the actors, to bring in the ticket sales. While this is absolutely expected I wish that they would further assistance with this to bring more people to the many wonderful performances they put on. Vagabond is the roots and upbringing of my self confidence. This summer I will be traveling to Hollywood through a Girl Scouts Destination trip to change my acting view to a director's viewpoint thanks to a wonderful reference from my favorite director at Vagabond. I never imagined I would be doing something so bold and thanks to Vagabond Acting Troupe my dreams have truly come true. I am now not afraid to speak in front of people, in fact I am often one of the first people to volunteer when it comes to such, and I find a joy in acting that I have never experienced anywhere else. With Aileen's help I have show great progress as an actor and simply as a person and my only hope is that this great organization will continue to help children like me achieve their dreams.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Being on and off the stage. What I love about acting at Vagabond is that you learn a lesson no matter what kind of theatrical performance you are a part of.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more advertising/marketing. Though I can understand that the actors and their families are to be responsible for spreading the world I feel as though more help is truly needed to bring more people to Vagabond.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

They presented their play, I believe it was Tumblelina, at Honey Brook Elementary Center where I went to school at the time.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

I have grown into my own person, built self-confidence, and learned that life can (and should) be a little goofy at time too.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers