Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.914295
Write A Review
August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

Every time I enter the building I feel at home. Aileen runs a tight ship, and it always works out in the end. After working at Vagabond, you will feel like a better person in more ways than one.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

Vagabond makes me a cheerier, more outgoing person. I've gained new appreciation for theater through this group and made many new friends. My younger sister started in Vagabond when she was a little kid and shy, and now she is a social butterfly and very self-confident, and is very well-prepared for the arts middle school she's starting in the fall.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

Before I came to Vagabond I had very little confidence and I was too shy to audition for anything. Now through being in two shows and helping on other shows, I have gained the confidence to put together a strong audition and even be in a musical. I had never considered being in a musical before because I was too nervous to sing in front of people. However the lessons and encouragement I received at every rehearsal helped be become a confident performer and have more confidence in my everyday life as well. Thanks Vagabond for a life changing experience!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more people to help them out with work or money.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

A wonderful group that is always open to new ideas. A well established and all inclusive children's program, with many new programs in the works for adults. The support and confidence the children get from live theatre will help create well rounded and confident children as they learn and play.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

My volunteer work has been very limited, so I actually consider myself more of a general member of the public. Additionally I have experience with theatre, both in school and the community, going back over 30 years so I feel I have a good sense of what makes good theatre. VAT consistently provides professional quality productions. Every single show I have seen has greatly exceeded my expectaions. And any time I have doubts about how the company will "pull something off" I come away more than impressed. An example of this was a recent production of "Little Shop of Horrors." The staging of Audrey II, (the Venus Flytrap, for those unfamiliar with the story) and the growth of the plant was fantastic.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them lots of money so they could build the perfect theatre with all the space and everything they need to bring even more great theatre to this area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 30, 2012

Vagabond Acting Troupe has been a wonderful experience for both of my children. My oldest has developed her talent and confidence so much in just the past year it is unbelievable. She has truly blos... more

September 30, 2013

Vagabond is a community theatre that offers many opportunities for kids, tweens and teens (and adults) to learn self-confidence and self-discipline through performance. They are encouraged through rehearsal and they can learn so much about the industry if that is what they love. My kids have benefitted greatly from being part of this wonderful organization! They have developed as both people and actors. I highly recommend this group!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 30, 2012

Vagabond Acting Troupe has been a wonderful experience for both of my children. My oldest has developed her talent and confidence so much in just the past year it is unbelievable. She has truly blossomed into a serious, focused actress in training. My youngest has just started and I have already seen improvement in his focus, talent and confidence as well. The staff are also parents who have patience, compassion and understanding as well as many talents and knowledge to share! I have seen amazing transformations in all the kids in this theatre family and enjoy being part of the group.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the quality of the performances, the confidence of the kids, the talent of the kids, the closeness of the families involved

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

figure out a way to advertise better to just get word out about the theatre and get more patronage and participation

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

i have learned so many new things about the theatre and about my ability to learn new skills! i have enjoyed all the families i have met during our tenure and i believe i have found a lot of great new, long-lasting friends with similar interests. it has truly enriched my life.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

i feel lucky to have found this special group. occasional frustration through the process results in a more rewarding feeling in the end! overall i feel happy about being there, and proud of everyone, and look forward to working with the group.

September 29, 2013

more

September 29, 2013

Great opportunity for actors to grow and learn. Tons of fun as audience member too!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 31, 2012

I have been with the Vagabond Acting Troupe for about 3 years now but I have worked with there excutive director Aileen McCulloch for almost 7 years! She runs a great theatre which could be big time! ... more

September 29, 2013

Vagabond Acting Troupe is a great community theater where kids, teens, and hopefully soon adults, can express their love for the arts! But even more so the theatre is great for kids just getting in to the industry and starting out! As a fellow vagabond I started with Aileen and I learnt everything I know today from her! Then I went on to VAT and that was where I became a more well rounded actor. But now after leaving the theatre and doing shows around the tri-state I can happily and truely say that working with Aileen and VAT helped me with becoming the actor I am today and why I am still getting booked in productions at other theatre with more competition! Great place for fun, theatre, friends, a date night, whatever!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to the organization it would be the fact that it's so small and the theatre is located in an area where it's not really noticed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 31, 2012

I have been with the Vagabond Acting Troupe for about 3 years now but I have worked with there excutive director Aileen McCulloch for almost 7 years! She runs a great theatre which could be big time! I have learnt so many great things throught this theatre that I will always remeber and bring them with me in the future years a successful actor because of Vagabond and Aileen! I have also been given the best opportunites that a lot of young actors my age don't get which I am very appreciative for! I would say this is a great family to belong to, very welcoming, talented, fun, and great! Its a perfect fit for me and I'm sad that I will be leaving soon to go and do bigger and better things! A lesson I have learnt from here "ALWAYS REACH FOR THE STARS AND IF YOU HAVE DETERMINATION YOU WILL SUCCEED!"

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 29, 2013

more

September 29, 2013

This is a great place for the whole family. Vagabond puts on some really great shows.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013

more

September 29, 2013

Vagabond Acting Troupe is an educational and experimental works theater dedicated to teaching artists the ins and outs of theater through production work. Vagabond Acting Troupe has been doing this work for over 20 years, and was recently named as number 1 on the PHL 17 Hotlist for children's entertainment. The staff is much beloved of the students, and the company has just been able to expand from a one stage theater, to having three separate performance spaces.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help it to outfit the space with more technological capability. That's coming though!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers