Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.333335
Write A Review
August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

A family business and a perfect example of how an NGO is used to pull wool over the eyes of the public. Monies donated are used for board parties and to entertain people at expensive restaurants and 5 Star hotels! Beware that the Director, Chairperson and the Deputy Director (Fund Raising) are all in the game.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make public their accounts and study their appointment procedures and lay offs!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 14, 2013

more

September 14, 2013

VAANI is a leading organisation in the field of Hearing Impairment. VAANI team comprises of dedicated,enthusiastic,optimistic and professional workers.They are enabling the Hearing Impaired children to lead a life of respect and dignity through their high calibre trainings for families of deaf children and professionals working in this field,projects on advocacy of the rights and equal opportunities of Hearing Impaired children,early intervention progtammes and interventions on formal education in schools.Their approach to reach to the grassroot level of the society,to the villages apart from the town areas is remarkable. - RITU PRASAD

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand your branches and partners.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I have been listening and witnessing Vaani's work since 2007. The organisation is one of the major forces in India in the field of Hearing and Speech Impairment, and promoting their rights. The focus on rural population of the country, where not many organisations are reaching is strength of Vaani.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I have been fortunate to be part of the team at VAANI Deaf children's foundation for about three years now. As a trained social workers my professional experience has allowed me to be associated with many organisations both large and small...however none of my past experiences has ever taught me so much to value and learn from.

The uniqueness of VAANI remains in its ability to stay true to its vision of working with deaf children and never compromising on its beliefs and principles. The very strong ethical code is followed across all its systems which does make it a truly "ideal" place to work in. The organisation prides itself on the quality of services it provides to children and families, not focusing on the number game, simply to please funders. A well balanced approach of working with a heart and mind...VAANI truly possesses a soul!!.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They say the only thing constant is change, and VAANI as an organisation has done its best to adapt to change. With strong leadership and vision am sure our organisation would be able to take up any challenges or changes head on.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

It has been a true pleasure being associated with the work of VAANI. This is one of the most leading organizations in the country promoting quality work for children with hearing impaired. I very much appreciate professional approach of VAANI in building capacity of the organizations working for children with hearing impairment and for promoting innovative interventions. It has also been sharing information with professionals as regard new approaches and initiatives in the field.

Wish VAANI and all its members and stakeholders a grand success in the mission of promoting services for children with hearing impairment - specially giving VAANI (voice) to such chidlren.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

It was an honour and a pleasure to be associated with Vaani and be part of this unique and committed team of people who are true to their name.
Sometimes it is difficult to define each big and small work Vaani do and the service it provides to the deaf community and its family in rural and
urban sectors in various parts of North and East India. The team is extremely committed and play an amazing role in the community from teaching, advocating and looking after the wellbeing of deaf kids and their families. Getting support and participating with Vaani can be a healing process for parents and reassurance that they are not ALONE.
Vaani believes in knowing yourself, knowing the families, appreciating family individuality, caring for cultural diversity and affirming and building on family choice and faith. The most incredible role that Vaani plays in supporting deaf children is by strengthening parents to advocate their children's wellbeing and make them understand that they have a place in the society and their children can equally contribute as any other normal hearing children in the community. Vaani's little projects on deaf awareness programs have impacted and will impact tremendously in the inclusive world where deaf children in India will be at par with the other deaf community in the world.


During my involvement I have experienced how collaboration, empowerment and alliance can lead to achieve successful outcomes, these are further enhanced by supporting deaf children and their families, which are interwoven and cannot happen alone. Vaani wouldn't have been what it is today without the dedication, sacrifice, hard work, guidance and sincerity of Brinda Crishna, who is ever ready to guide the Vaani team at all times and at all occasions.
It is my privilege to say that Vaani is a unique team, under the very able stewardship and guidance of Brinda Crishna and each one of the team members have made a great contribution to the growth and accomplishment it has achieved today. My sincere and best wishes to each of them..... Well done!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more


1 previous review
October 20, 2009

I am an ex-employee of VAANI. I have over 10 years of experience of working with Deaf people, I can confidently say that VAANI is one of the few organizations that have understood the complete implica... more

October 17, 2012

I have worked with VAANI for three years before I moved on and I can confidently VAANI is the foremost amongst organizations in India working for deaf children and their families. Their understanding of problems faced by deaf people, their commitment to doing quality work, the participatory style of working etc have made a deep impact on deaf children, their families and organizations that partner with VAANI. Since VAANI began working with deafness in India it is easy to see that many milestones have been reached. They have brought together professionals from different parts of the country. They have developed, collected and disseminated training material to partner organizations and families of deaf children and this has significantly increased the knowledge bank on deafness.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 20, 2009

I am an ex-employee of VAANI. I have over 10 years of experience of working with Deaf people, I can confidently say that VAANI is one of the few organizations that have understood the complete implications of childhood deafness and have have gone ahead to devise strategies that help families of deaf children and professionals cope better with the disability. Another outstanding aspect of VAANI is that everyone in the organization keeps and open mind and listen to feedback from the various stakeholders of the project. The management is not afraid to admit they made a mistake and take a different course of action. There have been several instances when during a project evaluation, if it was observed that a particular strategy was not working and based on stakeholder feedback, the team at VAANI have gone ahead and made changes in the strategy. It is unfortunate that at this point VAANI has limited resources. Given the challenges of the disability they are working with and also given the fact that there are very few credible organizations catering to this need VAANI will need to gather more resources to reach out to a wider target group.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

absolutely committed to the cause! Ive said this before and i'm saying it again... the team at VAANI are very focussed on bringing about quality changes in the lives of deaf children and their families.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 11, 2012

more

October 11, 2012

I have known this organisation since its inception and have been very impressed by the quality and standard of the services they have provided to a very invisible group of children with disabilities - those with hearing impairment. What is very important is that they work with parents too as they recognise that a deaf child's parents play a critical role in the life of their child. Also, the parents feel very isolated with what they feel is their 'problem' but once they meet other parents, not only do they become part of a network of sharing and caring, but their communication with their deaf child improves drastically. This leads to a huge bond being developed with parents and their deaf children.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

training and documentation

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything. They recognise their own strengths and areas of growth

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

Their respect for the human rights of marginalised communities such as those who have disabilities and their families, particularly those living in rural areas and in slums. They strongly believe in providing a platform for the voiceless to have a loud and strong voice.

October 9, 2012

more

October 9, 2012

I run a non-profit, the Cause & Affect Foundation, that donates money to well-run local projects in many countries. In June of 2012, I researched organizations assisting deaf children in India and I was directed by industry professionals to VAANI. From the moment I contacted them, they handled everything in a very professional manner. I went to visit their office in Calcutta and was extremely impressed with the effectiveness in which they have dealt with the issue of deafness. This is no piecemeal organization! They have a broad vision, but are detail-oriented. Their staff is amazing as well. First of all, the Executive Director Brinda is an amazing administrator with a real strategic vision for VAANI. She nurtures her employees in a manner so as to help them grow into their roles and succeed in changing the lives of these deaf children. Sandhya, Marissa and Atreyee (amongst others) are just as devoted to their task at hand. On the ground, I was able to visit several of the community centers in the slums where their field workers administer educational assistance to these kids and their parents. I was equally impressed with the teachers as well as the way the students and their parents were treated with respect and compassion. It is obvious these kids lives have been transformed forever as they are SO expressive and happy to finally be able to communicate with their families and teachers. Fortunately, my organization was able to make a donation in order to support an early intervention center for a year. Of all the projects I have assisted in nearly twenty countries, VAANI stands out as one of the most forward-thinking and well-run of them all and I would recommend them to anyone in the industry!

Photos

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers