Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.333335
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

V were volunteers here bt were disappointed by the food given to the kids. Milk tetra packs had expired! They wanted to do a CSR with us and hence our organisation had sent us...disappointed though...never took on the CSR....needs lots more management skills and training.
April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

I have heard about VAANI from a lot of people and have got good reviews about them. I too want to be associated with them, whether in a small ole or big.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 17, 2012

My association with Vaani goes back to the organisation's inception. I am privileged to conduct their annual personnel development workshop, which is held at the time of their Annual Review and Plann... more

April 17, 2013

As you can see from my review last year, I have a long and engaging relationship with VAANI. In the last one year, I feel that they have made even greater strides than before. They have achieved that which separates a good organisaton from a really great one. They have looked deep and hard at where they are, what funds and resources are available to them and how best these can be maximised to get where they aspire to. They have not flinched at taking the hard decisions they needed to with regard tro projects and programs. They have bolstered up the team with bright young minds, brimming over with enthusiasm and ideas. They have shifted location to a larger, more spacious premises which will allows for them to do many more things at the office. They have effected a change in leadership at the top - a moving up of Founder/Director to the Board of Trustees and the Associate Director up to Director. This has been smooth and effortless as they have been planning for it for over a year now. All this in a year, and yet the organisation has just taken it in their step, without missing a beat - in the superbly disciplined and trained manner that is so VAANI. The most important thing, the work with deaf children and their families is at the top of their priorities and this can be seen as strongly as ever in the last year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012

My association with Vaani goes back to the organisation's inception. I am privileged to conduct their annual personnel development workshop, which is held at the time of their Annual Review and Planning Session. It is always the most rewarding three days of my year. The team is bright, responsive and articulate. They know how to take a good hard look within themselves and are willing to openly discuss issues and dynamics that could be preventing them from being even better than they already are. They are mature and constructive about feedback. They are not threatened by each other, and have the utmost respect for what each one brings to the table. Above all, they are bound together by the unwavering belief in the work that they do, and the need for it to be even better, stronger and more meaningful every year. The team consists of people from varied walks, with differing levels of education and training, and yet, the cohesion and single focus on purpose is in plain sight. I have not seen many in the corporate sector who have such a proactive and systematic approach to their work, and who invest so much in ensuring that their people are giving of their best, happily. So for an NGO, Vaani is truly unique.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

As being volunteer, I am really motivated to learn more and add values to services that offered by VAANI. Also, as hearing challenged, it has changed my view towards outside world. In past years, some activities from schools and NGO's were making importance on how to speak through sign language/lip reading, how to get jobs in govt/pvt firms that's just, but nowadays, it's changed !! VAANI brings many creative ideas in STRUCTURED ways,that enables society to act 'with' hearing challenged persons, not 'for' them, so it brings equality among us !!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 12, 2012

more

October 12, 2012

I am a graphic designer/illustrator based out of Bangalore. My association with VAANI Deaf Children's Foundation has been long and strong, as I have worked with them for a little over 6 years now. I design their communication material, as well as undertake the graphic design work they require for their various fund-raising and other such events. As a result of which, I have been fortunate enough to work with the VAANI team first hand, as well as witness the work they do, and the projects they run, both in Assam as well as Bengal. I have seen the impact VAANI's work has on deaf kids and their families, and I have seen how each of these kids have grown tremendously under VAANI's wing. They are an extremely professional organisation with the way they handle themselves, their projects, and their consultants.

I love the way they are intrinsically involved in the work they do, and the way each milestone reached by the organisation is rejoiced individually. I remember being a part of Team VAANI in the Bangalore TCS Marathon 2012 where Sandhya Srinivasan, VAANI's Deputy Director, came down from Guntur to run along side us. Each member who couldn't be there, sent us words of encouragement and cheer over Facebook/Twitter/email. At another fund-raising event where the Indian Cricket Team auctioned their memorabilia, had the VAANI team cheering the loudest at each bid made, for it meant that the projects (like the Kolkata Metro Project) they had started that year could be continued, and the children involved could carry on learning.

VAANI has an enthusiasm that is infectious, and despite it being a very tough disability to work with, their outlook is positive and happy. It focuses on the work that is being done, and the milestones reached, as opposed to the difficulty of the disability itself. Working with them makes the change they believe in, and work towards, seem very possible and achievable. I am proud to have been given the opportunity to be a part of a team who believes and advocates their vision and mission as much as the families and children they are working for. I have worked with a number of development-related organisations and it is safe to say that VAANI has been one of my top clients - a team that I will be glad to work with for an indefinite amount of time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes - by generating awareness of an otherwise invisible disability, sensitising me to those around.

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

Being a Friend of VAANI has been an absolute pleasure from the word go. My first interaction with VAANI was through a good friend Atreyee, their Resource Management Officer, who introduced me to the organisation as someone who could help in kick-starting their social media initiatives and assist in giving it a new direction. During the span of my voluntary work for VAANI and even now as I continue to follow their activities and be a part of them, I have seen nothing less then ardent devotion from all of their team members who strive to make a difference in the lives of deaf children. Believe me, dealing with this issue in this part of the world is not a very easy task, bearing in mind the lack of education and poor economical conditions of most families with deaf children, both urban and rural. The way VAANI intervenes, strategizes and works to bridge gaps of communication among deaf children and the world around them is commendable. I have been part of a couple of community events organized by VAANI where the kids and their families come together for a day of fun and frolic, interacting with each other and the teachers, community mobilizers, volunteers.... and both occasions have brought me as much joy as I'm sure the little ones experienced. These kids are no different from the rest and what they really need is a pat on the back and proper guidance to channelize their energies. VAANI is doing what very few non-profits are doing with childhood deafness. I would always continue to support VAANI in whatever way possible and it's my wish that they reach many more kids and change many more lives with the wonderful work they're doing.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It has sensitized me towards the issue of childhood deafness, introduced me to some very good people, who are experts in this field and good human beings. I've also made a number of cute little friends! :)

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Blessed for what I am. Compassionate and sensitive towards those who are unable to hear and speak, especially children.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers