Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
123.937545
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 19, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 19, 2014

In a time where my family most needed assistance, USACares came through for us. We are so grateful for their kindness. They did an exceptional job of responding to our needs quickly and were wonderful at keeping us updated on the status of our request. What an amazing organization!
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

USA Cares seems to use "Responds in 24 hours" as their staple...I never heard back from them. No letter. No email, no phone call or anything. Thanks USA Cares!
July 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for USA Cares since 2013. This organization truly cares about the soldiers and veterans that need a hand-up in this crazy, hard-to-get-by world. They have exceeded my expectations by a long shot, compared to most other veteran friendly agencies. There are so many letters, cards, and photos from families pouring their gratitude out to this company for their hard work and dedication to serving those that served us. I never see a commercial on T.V. like other non-profits, because they reach out personally and make sure their money is used for it's intended purpose and not for advertisement or hiring a celebrity. This company takes care of our brave men and women across the nation. I only wish there were more out there like this.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not make any changes

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 22, 2014

more

July 22, 2014

Upon reading the 2 complaints listed in the comment section, I understand that USA Cares has denied some families due to their guidelines, however there are no non-profit organizations that do not require specific guidelines in order to assist.

I have witnessed where USA Cares have served
thousands of veterans, service members, and their families. They are audited every year to "check" what they are doing is accurate and not a scam. On their website, they have their financial statement available to any who want to see it. I think this organization is very transparent on what they do and how they spend their funds. There will always be a few disgruntled clients that did not get what they felt like they deserved, but the organization has to follow what it was designed to do. They have impacted many families and veterans.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 14, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 14, 2014

I want to publicly thank USA Cares Inc for helping me and my two kids at a time we were struggling really bad. The Kroger gift cards, paying of my power bill, and paying of my rent helped me to maintain a stable home for my kids. A million thank yous are not enough, I am eternally grateful for your organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Being able to give out Visa/Mastercard gift cards for incidentals purchases.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Received a phone call and request for a donation. Latter I received a letter stating "
John was shot and hit by a 400-volt IED. " I am a 24 year retired military vet. I called McGuire AFB and spoke to Explosive Ordinance Disposal . I told the technician I have never herd of a 400 volt IED. He
confirmed that he and others have never heard of it either. He said that maybe it was a type-o. I said more then likely it was a SCAM-O. No money for them.. Give to the "Wounded warriors project"

MSgt Jerry C. DeMas USAF retired.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 2, 2009

USA CARES is an organization that serves many needs of post 9/11 veterans and their families. They offer financial assistance through grants, not loans. There are many services available to veterans a... more

October 17, 2013

I have been a volunteer since 2009 and I see, on a daily basis, the assistance this agency gives to Military Service members and veterans. USA Cares does not receive and federal or state monies and depends on donations from grateful Americans who appreciate the service of military men and women. Do to financial limitations, they are not able to help everyone who applies.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 2, 2009

USA CARES is an organization that serves many needs of post 9/11 veterans and their families. They offer financial assistance through grants, not loans. There are many services available to veterans and their families. The organization also provides much needed personal care items,boxer shorts and T-shirts for hospitalized veterans through the Operation Brave Boxer program,Lap Wraps for wounded veterans in wheel chairs through their Operation Lap Wrap program. This organization does much to help veterans and their families during difficult times. It has saved many families from being homeless. It lives up to its motto "A Hand Up not A Hand Out"

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

reading letters from veterans and their families as well as individuals who donate items for the veterans. They are all very positive and show how much the services offered are appreciated. I have answered phone calls from veterans who need assistance.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Being able to help service personnel and their families. It allows me to give something back to those who sacrifice daily to keep our Country free.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Professional, empathetic and dedicated to helping veterans and their families during difficult times.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Help many more veterans and their families.

Ways to make it better...

I have only had good experiences since becoming a volunteer.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Getting the information about the services offered to those in need. Often the individuals that need help do not find out about us until they are about to be evicted, utilities shut off or their food has run out.

One thing I'd also say is that...

This organization can always use more volunteers and I would like to tell those interested in volunteering that at the end of your day you cannot help but feel that you have made a difference in the lives of the people served.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

Their name is really ironic since they claim that they care. Im a vet who is about to get evicted and get put out in the street. They had claim that they had reviewed my case with me, which they didn'... more

June 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

These people had the nerve to send me a donation form. I had asked them for help previously and they had told me no. I truly believe that the 5 star reviews are bogus.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012

Their name is really ironic since they claim that they care. Im a vet who is about to get evicted and get put out in the street. They had claim that they had reviewed my case with me, which they didn't do. Basically, it was voicemail. They had left me a message to get in contact with them and I did call a few days later, only to receive a voicemail, which I had left. Then, a few hours later, the rep had left a voicemail stating that my situation doesn't fall under their "guidelines", but their email claimed that they are concerned and they would do their best to meet the needs of every service member or military family. So obviously in my case, they cannot help me. All I know is, I will not donate anything to this charity and will urge others not to do so.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 19, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 19, 2013

When my son came back from Afghanistan, he got a great job offer in Kentucky. The problem was, he lived in north-eastern Pennsylvania. USA Cares paid some of his moving costs so he could afford to accept the job and move his household the 700 miles from Scranton, PA to Lexington, KY. Thanks, USA Cares!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 5, 2013

more

February 5, 2013

My husband and I are disabled veterans and have tried getting the assistance of USA cares who have turned us both down as they said we did not qualify. I cannot understand how 2 combat veterans who are struggling due to job lay off and the other dealing with severe PTSD do not qualify. Basically the only way they will help you is if for some reason you didn't get paid by the army due to an error on their part and if you have been reimbursed which military eventually does you still do not qualify. I think someone should look into this charities finances and where the money is going because its a struggle to qualify for any kind of assistance with USA cares.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers