Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013

I was blessed to be part (and will be as much as i can) of this fantastic organization. The love, energy they have here for these boys is just amazing. I had a wonderful time and great experience. It felt so good to do this and made me want for more. So i will continue to do what ever i can to help Urban Light. The great time i had with the boys them self and the wonderfull staff of UL. Alex YOU ROCK ! Support from The Netherlands will alwasy be there, and cant wait to be back !!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013

Fantastic organization. I have been volunteering here for the past two months and have seen firsthand the individualistic approach Urban Light takes with each boy that walks through the center's doors. From helping the boys find jobs to providing a safe space and a meal everyday I see that the work is definitely making a difference in so many lives. Without Urban Light, a very vulnerable population would not be served in Chiang Mai. Exploitation of boys is SO REAL and I am thankful that Urban Light exists to help. So proud to be involved in this organization and am looking forward to serving as a volunteer for many months to come!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We are starting to work with a wider range of age groups so it is difficult to engage all of them at the same time. Perhaps new programming targeting the different age groups would be appropriate. In addition, larger scale projects should be in the works. Perhaps a sustainable business could come out of the boys working at an Urban Light sponsored shop or other entrepreneurial venture.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Urban Light is an incredible organization that works not only inspire the boys it serves directly, but to inspires others to rethink their capacities to serve others. Alezandra, the founder, is an amazing woman who acts as a mother to the boys, and pours her heart and energy into everything she does for them. I have been honored to see her in action from the start and I am constantly inspired by the dreams and constant love she has and pours into the boys and the staff. With her passion, Alezandra has a team of wonderful individuals that serve to love and care for the boys. It is easy to see how this organization has grown so much in just a few years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

The energy at Urban Light is invigorating! I am so glad I had the opportunity to be part of the change Urban Light is creating! The young men who access Urban Light's resources have left a life-long impact on my life. I will forever be an advocate of Urban Light!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

Urban Light is the perfect example of how in the saddest, darkest situations compassion can triumph an beauty can be restored. I saw first hand Alezandra's (and the rest of the UL team) commitment to improving the lives of so many and addressing their needs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

Working with Urban Light was one of the most inspiring and fulfilling experiences that I have undertaken. Alezandra and her team work tirelessly to improve the quality of life that these young boys have, in providing a safe, happy and family environment that these boys so desperately crave. This organisation is a true blessing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I spent a few days working with Urban Light while on a social justice trip and the entire experience was life changing and eye opening. Urban Light makes such a difference in the lives of the boys they work with, the work they do is amazing and inspiring beyond words!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

This past summer I had the opportunity to travel to Chiang Mai, Thailand and work with the NGO Urbanlight. A sophomore in high school at the time (now a junior) the experience of working directly with Alezandra Russell and the boys at the Chiang Mai center was amazing and the friendships made were life-changing. The team at Urbanlight continually amazes me in their persistance to never give up on the boys and to continueto support them through any and all struggles. It was an honor to witness the transformation of the boys' lives through the work of the Urbanlight team and the many resulting accomplishments and achievements. Urbanlight has many incredible accomplishments thus far and I look forward to seeing and hearing of the many more lives Urbanlight will transform in the future. I hope and plan to be able to work with Urbanlight for many years to come. I applaud the Urbanlight team and the boys for all they have done!! For more information check out the website www.urban-light.org

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I had the wonderful opportunity to volunteer with Urban Light during the summer of 2012 and was truly touched both by Alezandra's moving story as well as the incredible spirit of the boys she works with. A lot of emphasis is placed on the female gender when it comes to the issue of trafficking in the sex trade and while it is imperative to address that issue what often goes unnoticed is how it can effect the young male population as well. Alezandra is truly changing the lives of a very underserved group of fine young men and it was my honour to have met and worked alongside them. If you are looking for an organization to work with that will make your time in Thailand meaningful and unforgettable then look no further then Urban Light in Chiang Mai!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I had the opportunity to volunteer at Urban Light's Youth Center for 5 weeks during the summer of 2011. The staff was welcoming and was open to learning how my skills could be useful to the organization. As with any international volunteer experience, volunteers need to think about what skills they can bring if they are not fluent in Thai. Seeing the difference in the impact and experience of the short term vs. long term volunteers, I would recommend committing to staying for at least a few weeks. It will improve your experience and to make the time the staff take out of their day to help orient and support you worth it. It won't be difficult to stay though, because once you are in Thailand and volunteering at Urban Light - you won't want to leave!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Donate their Facebook and/or Twitter status to Urban Light; host a lunch/brunch/HH in our honor to raise funds for our boys; write a letter to our boys to be hand-delivered;