Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 17, 2013

more

June 17, 2013

This past year I have donated to UrbanLight on multiple occasions. This past April I had the pleasure of visiting the UL Center and meeting the staff and boys in Thailand. This organization is young and budding and I see big things in their future. It is amazing to see the work that is being done and how great of a space that UL has developed for its mission. Cant wait to visit again and I look forward to continuing my support to their mission.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 26, 2012

I had the privilege to spend 5 weeks as a volunteer in Chiang Mai with Urban Light. The Staff are amazing, such kind hearted people who go above and beyond to improve the lives of the boys at the cent... more

June 14, 2013

What an amazing group of people! I am so happy to have found urban light and they continue to touch my heart even thousands of miles away. Since being a volunteer last summer, I have held fundraisers here at home on the boys behalf. I continue to keep in contact with the staff and some of the boys and receive regular updates on their progress. Alezandra and her staff are amazing people and do everything they can to make a the world a better place for the boys. The boys are a joy to work with, so loving and open to new volunteers. I plan to return to Thailand soon and in the meantime I will do anything I can to help out stateside!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 26, 2012

I had the privilege to spend 5 weeks as a volunteer in Chiang Mai with Urban Light. The Staff are amazing, such kind hearted people who go above and beyond to improve the lives of the boys at the center and reach out to new boys in need! The founder and center mom, Alezandra had such a huge heart and has dedicated her life to an important issue that does not get nearly enough attention or help. The boys are so amazing and have changed my life in so many ways. I have volunteered in several organizations and this was by far the best experience I have had. My only regret is I couldn't stay longer!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013

I was blessed to be part (and will be as much as i can) of this fantastic organization. The love, energy they have here for these boys is just amazing. I had a wonderful time and great experience. It felt so good to do this and made me want for more. So i will continue to do what ever i can to help Urban Light. The great time i had with the boys them self and the wonderfull staff of UL. Alex YOU ROCK ! Support from The Netherlands will alwasy be there, and cant wait to be back !!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013

Fantastic organization. I have been volunteering here for the past two months and have seen firsthand the individualistic approach Urban Light takes with each boy that walks through the center's doors. From helping the boys find jobs to providing a safe space and a meal everyday I see that the work is definitely making a difference in so many lives. Without Urban Light, a very vulnerable population would not be served in Chiang Mai. Exploitation of boys is SO REAL and I am thankful that Urban Light exists to help. So proud to be involved in this organization and am looking forward to serving as a volunteer for many months to come!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We are starting to work with a wider range of age groups so it is difficult to engage all of them at the same time. Perhaps new programming targeting the different age groups would be appropriate. In addition, larger scale projects should be in the works. Perhaps a sustainable business could come out of the boys working at an Urban Light sponsored shop or other entrepreneurial venture.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Urban Light is an incredible organization that works not only inspire the boys it serves directly, but to inspires others to rethink their capacities to serve others. Alezandra, the founder, is an amazing woman who acts as a mother to the boys, and pours her heart and energy into everything she does for them. I have been honored to see her in action from the start and I am constantly inspired by the dreams and constant love she has and pours into the boys and the staff. With her passion, Alezandra has a team of wonderful individuals that serve to love and care for the boys. It is easy to see how this organization has grown so much in just a few years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

The energy at Urban Light is invigorating! I am so glad I had the opportunity to be part of the change Urban Light is creating! The young men who access Urban Light's resources have left a life-long impact on my life. I will forever be an advocate of Urban Light!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

Urban Light is the perfect example of how in the saddest, darkest situations compassion can triumph an beauty can be restored. I saw first hand Alezandra's (and the rest of the UL team) commitment to improving the lives of so many and addressing their needs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

Working with Urban Light was one of the most inspiring and fulfilling experiences that I have undertaken. Alezandra and her team work tirelessly to improve the quality of life that these young boys have, in providing a safe, happy and family environment that these boys so desperately crave. This organisation is a true blessing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

Urban Light ticks every box when thinking about non-profit sustainability, growth, and impact, locally within the community, and internationally. Headed by an amazing,inspiring change maker Alezandra Russell, Alezandra is a social entrepreneur of the highest caliber -entering these amazing boys lives to make a positive difference - and creating lasting social change in Northern Thailand. The boys are charismatic, intelligent and talented. Urban Light works at harnessing their talents and creating opportunities that these boys may not have had otherwise. Working with Alezandra and the boys is a gift I do not take for granted, and I look forward to helping Urban Light grow from strength to strength becoming an example to the local and international community of what can be achieved when you work hard and believe in the boys like Urban Light do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I spent a few days working with Urban Light while on a social justice trip and the entire experience was life changing and eye opening. Urban Light makes such a difference in the lives of the boys they work with, the work they do is amazing and inspiring beyond words!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Donate their Facebook and/or Twitter status to Urban Light; host a lunch/brunch/HH in our honor to raise funds for our boys; write a letter to our boys to be hand-delivered;