Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.923085
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I'm not an "evangelist" but I feel I make a difference by volunteering with Urban Homeworks to renovate homes and apartments that benefit people who normally couldn't afford dignified housing. One house, one apartment at a time we are making a difference and improving the lives of others. Urban Homeworks is a concientious steward of the donations they receive, always working to maximize the benefit of donations through volunteer labor and great leadership.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Urban Homeworks is the one organization that our members at Westbrook Community Church love to volunteer for and to support! From top to bottom the Urban Homeworks staff is top-notch and passionate about their mission within the community, neighborhood and families that they serve. They utilize their resources in a manner that is unmatched and you will not find a better non-profit organization. All in the name of Christ - Yeah!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

My family and I have been donating financially and with our "talents" to Urban Homeworks for 4 years now, and have witnessed the dramatic and real impact this group has on dignified housing and community building in Minneapolis. The group is forward-thinking and operates beyond the four walls they are dedicated to putting around people/families. Their commitment to neighborhood as a state of being is inspiring and effective. Please help to support this incredible organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

My involvement with Urban Homeworks began over two years as a result of a St Marks fundraiser. Over the past two years, I have volunteered twice a week and have observed firsthand how this organization has helped build community and restore housing in North Minneapolis. They have provided gainful employment, mentoring opportunities, and both work skills and life skills to various individuals (and organizations) in the community. Along the way, I have also increased my own home building/restoring skills and learned how to use power tools more effectively. Keep up the good work!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I had the opportunity to work with Urban Homeworks last year. I really admire the difference they are making in the community for so many people. This is a great organization to donate your time with. They are able to use any level of help with their projects. I painted and cleaned a home and had a great time with the other volunteers. It is really important to get involved in our communities and this is a fantastic way to do it! I highly recommend donating some of your time to this great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have been volunteering with UHW for about 3 years now, I started doing it with my church and now have become the contact between other volunteers at my church and UHW. This is a great place for men and women to get involved no matter what your skill level is. I like that aspect of it because it allows a diverse group of people to get out, be in Minneapolis, and doing something productive with their hands. I love that they always share the story of who UHW is and what they are trying to do, this not only allows volunteers to know that they are needed and appreciated but also know what role they play in the bigger picture. I have enjoyed working with many people at UHW and look forward to finding more ways for our church to get involved through making gift baskets, connecting with other inner city churches, and hearing the stories of hope coming out of this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Our men's small group from EBC has volunteered twice with Urban Homeworks and we have found it to be a fun and rewarding way to serve God through the community. The people are fun and laid back but still focused on getting the job done and creating a better Christ centered community of people helping people. Thanks to all at Urban Homeworks for allowing us to help out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I'm a volunteer at Urban Homewoorks and part of a group of senior guys that really enjoy working on the various projects. To see the transformation of houses starting with the demo and ending with the "punch list" to finish various tasks is amazing and, we have a ton of fun while doing it. I've mentioned to leadership that, having lived in the Twin Cities for over 30 years, Urban Homewoorks is the best kept secret and shouldn't be such. What this organization does to offer affordable housing while revitalizing neighborhoods is outstanding. I'm just happy to be a small part in making that happen.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have been a volunteer with the Quicksilver Crew for about four years, working as often as I can make it with the Tuesday crews working on house renovations in the North Minneapolis neighborhood near Urban Works headquarters. Not only has the experience of helping prepare the properties for occupancy been very rewarding and inspiring, but the fellowship with the Urban Homeworks staff and the dedicated guys on the crews has been amazing. Rick Person

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

My name is Ben Jaworski, and I have volunteered with Urban Homeworks both in the office and on-site with some of the renovations. Initially, I was a volunteer draftsman for Urban Homeworks. I chose them for my internship so I could finish my degree in Architectural Drafting. After I caught them up on their renovation plans, I got to help with some of the actual remodeling, even on some of the home I myself had been in and drafted. It was amazing to see just how fast the changes could take place, and how hard everyone was working. Then, after a few months of renovating, they acquired more houses that needed drafts, and they hired me as a private contract draftsman for three homes. It has been an honor to serve with Urban Homeworks. My only regret is that I was not there for the tornado relief effort, for which UHW has received a lot of praise from the communities. Urban Homeworks is a wonderful organization. When they need something done in the office, they don't just send an email, or try them on the phone, they walk to that person's office and get the task done as soon as possible. They hold weekly meetings so that everyone involved is up-to-date on the current happenings at UHW, and get progress reports on renovations. They are a wonderful organization, and I am happy to have worked with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers