Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.923085
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Being a member of Christ Presbyterian Church in Edina and hearing the impact that Urban Homeworks has had on the community is inspring. I plan to volunteer to help with their mission next summer. Urban Homeworks truly makes a difference.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I'm a volunteer at Urban Homewoorks and part of a group of senior guys that really enjoy working on the various projects. To see the transformation of houses starting with the demo and ending with the "punch list" to finish various tasks is amazing and, we have a ton of fun while doing it. I've mentioned to leadership that, having lived in the Twin Cities for over 30 years, Urban Homewoorks is the best kept secret and shouldn't be such. What this organization does to offer affordable housing while revitalizing neighborhoods is outstanding. I'm just happy to be a small part in making that happen.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have been a volunteer with the Quicksilver Crew for about four years, working as often as I can make it with the Tuesday crews working on house renovations in the North Minneapolis neighborhood near Urban Works headquarters. Not only has the experience of helping prepare the properties for occupancy been very rewarding and inspiring, but the fellowship with the Urban Homeworks staff and the dedicated guys on the crews has been amazing. Rick Person

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

My name is Ben Jaworski, and I have volunteered with Urban Homeworks both in the office and on-site with some of the renovations. Initially, I was a volunteer draftsman for Urban Homeworks. I chose them for my internship so I could finish my degree in Architectural Drafting. After I caught them up on their renovation plans, I got to help with some of the actual remodeling, even on some of the home I myself had been in and drafted. It was amazing to see just how fast the changes could take place, and how hard everyone was working. Then, after a few months of renovating, they acquired more houses that needed drafts, and they hired me as a private contract draftsman for three homes. It has been an honor to serve with Urban Homeworks. My only regret is that I was not there for the tornado relief effort, for which UHW has received a lot of praise from the communities. Urban Homeworks is a wonderful organization. When they need something done in the office, they don't just send an email, or try them on the phone, they walk to that person's office and get the task done as soon as possible. They hold weekly meetings so that everyone involved is up-to-date on the current happenings at UHW, and get progress reports on renovations. They are a wonderful organization, and I am happy to have worked with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Over the past year, I've become a donor, volunteer and admirer of UH. I've been impressed at the organization's intense focus on their mission. As a business executive, I appreciate how effectively and diligently UH goes about their work - being excellent stewards of donors funds. I applaud their ability to wrestle with the changes brought on by their rapidly expanding operation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

As a neighbor in North Minneapolis I have the privilage to live near many of Urban Homework's houses. Any organization can rehab a building but Urban Homeworks rehabs neighborhoods by the quality work they do, engaging the community during the transformation of a building and challenging those who become an Urban Homeworks resident to be part of the solution for the surrounding blocks. If North Mpls had more organizations like this you wouldn't be hearing such bad things on the news about the "Northside" but rather a transformation. From top down the folks at Urban Homeworks are top notch as experienced first hand and your dollar if donated here will go further than you would ever imagine.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

No matter what happens the rest of the week, I know that when I head to an Urban Homeworks work site on a Saturday morning, it will be a good day. I was fortunate to see the evolution of a property that seemed like it was barely habitable to a wonderful, multi-family dwelling that was getting comments from neighbors and passersby on what an amazing transformation took place after Urban Homeworks acquired the property. God Bless !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

When I consider how to make a positive difference in our community, I think immediately of Urban Homeworks. The people of UHW have the right heart and have developed the ability to effectively and consistently serve our city. I have complete confidence that every hour and dollar we provide them will be used to strengthen families and individuals in meaningful, powerful and lasting ways. UHW does big work and it's an unsurpassed delight to be one of their many partners.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

The dedicated and faithfilled staff of Urban Homeworks makes it a priviledge to work with them. They inspire each other and the volunteers as well as their clients. Urban Homeworks is an extremely valuable asset to the Twin Cities and provides hope for a better future for individuals as well as the cities as a whole.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

This organization gives me a warm heart - and hope! First, the fact that they are faith based is wonderful. In a very secular world, knowing their faith is first in the structure and how they function is great! The employees are always looking for new ways to help, give others hope and grow their faith. The volunteers are great too. My boss is constantly coming back with enthusiastic stories about Urban and the people who work and volunteer there. They are giving people a place to live, a life with dignity and a chance to see there are good people who care and practice what they preach in our community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers