Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.925935
Write A Review
November 7, 2014

more

November 7, 2014

As a volunteer, I came onsite hoping to do my thing, feel good, and get outta there - on to the rest of my life and back to my schedule. I expected I'd walk away feeling bad about the amount of need in certain communities. Instead, I walked away completely humbled by the information that I was given, the "Doodle", the beautiful people that are intentionally building and inhabiting stronger neighborhoods, and the degree to which Urban Homeworks staffers are enmeshed in it all. I walked away inspired and reevelauting my agenda in the first place. I look forward to going back and to supporting this strong organization.
November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I work nationally as a consultant and trainer to housing development nonprofits. These travels allow me to have many conversations with leadership and front line staff in all parts of the country with regard to best practices, challenges, and sustainable impact. Urban Homeworks is by far the most creative, productive, and innovative community development organizations in the entire country. And to top it all off, they do what they do in true parttnership with the entire community and with a faith-based mission in the heart of the city!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have been supporting Urban Homeworks for over a decade, and as a 100 Gives 100 monthly donor for 5 years or so. Here's why: I find myself "refreshed" and impressed how they creatively approach challenging issues in their target communities. Lets be honest: there does not seem to be a whole lot of creativity or innovation coming from most non-profits or ministries when it comes to addressing the issues/needs in poor communities. But time and time again Urban Homeworks is creatively combining marketplace expertise with informed compassion with impressive outcomes. Well done!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I'm not an "evangelist" but I feel I make a difference by volunteering with Urban Homeworks to renovate homes and apartments that benefit people who normally couldn't afford dignified housing. One house, one apartment at a time we are making a difference and improving the lives of others. Urban Homeworks is a concientious steward of the donations they receive, always working to maximize the benefit of donations through volunteer labor and great leadership.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Urban Homeworks is the one organization that our members at Westbrook Community Church love to volunteer for and to support! From top to bottom the Urban Homeworks staff is top-notch and passionate about their mission within the community, neighborhood and families that they serve. They utilize their resources in a manner that is unmatched and you will not find a better non-profit organization. All in the name of Christ - Yeah!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

We have had UHW on our list of favorite non-profit organization for more than five years. As members of Christ Presbyterian Church in Edina, it has been a great joy to participate in several work weekends and with the QuickSilver volunteers. UHW's impact on their community has been considerable, not only in housing, but most assuredly on the lives of many. One Hudred for a Hundred, a rent subsidy program, has been very successful.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

My family and I have been donating financially and with our "talents" to Urban Homeworks for 4 years now, and have witnessed the dramatic and real impact this group has on dignified housing and community building in Minneapolis. The group is forward-thinking and operates beyond the four walls they are dedicated to putting around people/families. Their commitment to neighborhood as a state of being is inspiring and effective. Please help to support this incredible organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

My involvement with Urban Homeworks began over two years as a result of a St Marks fundraiser. Over the past two years, I have volunteered twice a week and have observed firsthand how this organization has helped build community and restore housing in North Minneapolis. They have provided gainful employment, mentoring opportunities, and both work skills and life skills to various individuals (and organizations) in the community. Along the way, I have also increased my own home building/restoring skills and learned how to use power tools more effectively. Keep up the good work!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I had the opportunity to work with Urban Homeworks last year. I really admire the difference they are making in the community for so many people. This is a great organization to donate your time with. They are able to use any level of help with their projects. I painted and cleaned a home and had a great time with the other volunteers. It is really important to get involved in our communities and this is a fantastic way to do it! I highly recommend donating some of your time to this great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have been volunteering with UHW for about 3 years now, I started doing it with my church and now have become the contact between other volunteers at my church and UHW. This is a great place for men and women to get involved no matter what your skill level is. I like that aspect of it because it allows a diverse group of people to get out, be in Minneapolis, and doing something productive with their hands. I love that they always share the story of who UHW is and what they are trying to do, this not only allows volunteers to know that they are needed and appreciated but also know what role they play in the bigger picture. I have enjoyed working with many people at UHW and look forward to finding more ways for our church to get involved through making gift baskets, connecting with other inner city churches, and hearing the stories of hope coming out of this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers