Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.839295
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

We have been partnering with UA for over 15 years now and the proof of their programs is that we now have 6 full time staff working at the World Bank (post college) that were once HS interns here. Th... more

October 30, 2014

UA is an awesome organization that makes a difference in the lives of the young people it serves. As a former funder and now as a Board member, I cannot say enough about the deliberate and powerful way UA addresses the needs of young people and understands the business needs of the companies hiring them. That is truly important and often under estimated. When I worked at The World Bank, we would not have had a High School internship program without the involvement of this organization - they truly prepare young people to enter the workforce.
November 15, 2012

We have been partnering with UA for over 15 years now and the proof of their programs is that we now have 6 full time staff working at the World Bank (post college) that were once HS interns here. The staff are professional, smart and very well versed in youth development. The students are well trained and are excellent representatives of our community. The programming is in-depth and substantive and provides students with the right amount of knowledge and support necessary to a successful internship experience. Leadership matters ina great nonprofit and Veronica Nolan embodies that concept. She is phenomenal, funny, warm and an amazing manager of her staff. I can't imagine we would be able to hire as many interns every summer (20-25) without UA - it just wouldn't work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

Urban Alliance is an organization that has impact not only with the students directly involved but through out the communitty. It allows at risk high school seniors to earn money, develop professiona... more

October 28, 2013

Urban Alliance has such a positive impact on our community. The students enrolled in the program show dedication and effort, in order to change their lives for the better. The end of year speaking engagement is one of the most inspirational meetings I have ever attened. To witness the growth of these students in a short ten month period is astonishing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

Urban Alliance is an organization that has impact not only with the students directly involved but through out the communitty. It allows at risk high school seniors to earn money, develop professional skills and build their resume for college. It enables employers the ability to hire inexpensive labor, a tax deduction and the opportunity to impact the life of a youngster forever. It betters the communitty by having more profesionals working in their city, creating more revenue for their companies, stimulating the local econonmy and paying more taxes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Urban Alliance has a team that understands its mission and is totally committed to helping DC youth through professional and personal development and work experience. Look at the results! It's a joy to serve as a board member with such dedicated staff talent working to make a difference in the lives of young adults.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Urban Alliances' mission is to reverse high youth unemployment trends through; workforce training, mentoring, and year-long professional paid internships for high school seniors. Partnering with local business communities, Urban Alliance helps youths gain the skills and experience necessary to succeed in the workforce.
The need for internships is rising! The staff of Urban Alliance is highly dedicated to both the youth and the business community, and are focused on meeting that increased demand. To a person, the staff is; professional, friendly, and amazingly positive about the opportunities the interns will have access to once they complete the program

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I initially learned about Urban Alliance about five years ago when I heard a radio interview with one of its student interns. I was so moved by what the young woman had to say about how Urban Alliance had shown her possibilities for her life that she never even knew existed, that I literally got out of my car, ran into my house, Googled them and have been involved ever since as a volunteer and now as a Board Member. Executive Director Veronica Nolan works tirelessly for these kids and leads a talented and dedicated staff who are passionate about the work that they do with the youth of DC, Baltimore and Chicago. The Urban Alliance organization and the employers who agree to hire and mentor our students are providing them the gift of a life transformed. The young people who come out of this program leave better prepared for college and for living productive and successful lives. Cannot say enough positive things about Urban Alliance!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I thoroughly enjoy serving Urban Alliance (UA) as a board member because there is no doubt in my mind that this organization changes their participants' trajectory for the better. In addition to being on their board, my employer hosts Urban Alliance interns. Interns bring great energy to our work environment and our team members who serve as mentors can't wait to meet their new intern each year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have worked with the Urban Alliance for the past 6 years as a volunteer, initially, and then as a board member. Veronica Nolan and her staff are exceptional in meeting the needs of HS seniors and matching them with mentors. The staff is extremely dedicated and it is amazing to see how the program helps transforms the lives of these young people. Many of which would never complete high school--do and then they even go on to college. It's amazing what one program and one mentor can do to change the lives of so many.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

The Urban Alliance Foundation gives students the tools and skills to be prepared for the world of work -- and then places participants in internships so that they can apply what they've learned. Being successful in the workplace requires the ability to negotiate the many "unspoken rules" and social cues that exist in professional settings. Acquiring these skills can be particularly challenging for youth from under-resourced neighborhoods because of their limited access to professional environments. UA demystifies the work experience and through creating a culture of success and achievement, shows students that their professional aspirations are attainable.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers