Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.818185
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

I truly admire the important work Urban Alliance does to foster necessary skills in youth and provide them with opportunities to succeed personally and professionally. I had the pleasure of working with an Urban Alliance intern this past Summer. She was eager to learn and approached each task with a sincere passion and commitment. It was clear to me that the resources and supports provided to her through the Urban Alliance program were working. Urban Alliance really works to develop essential life skills in young people that not only makes them more marketable for employment but increases their self-esteem and helps them realize their full potential.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

Urban Alliance has been assisting Dance Place's Junior Staff Program for over a year. One of the main goals of the Junior Staff Program is to train high school students in our community to be ready for college and the professional world after they leave school. Urban Alliance's sessions with our Junior Staff have better prepared them for this and have gave them valuable on-the-job training! Dance Place is very thankful and appreciative for all that Urban Alliance has done for us!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

As a TV producer who's currently working on a show that helps high school students explore their dream careers, Urban Alliance was and remains an early champion and key supporter of the cause. Their leadership quickly recognizes opportunities that further help their students and they move fast to make things happen on the ground. They have once again chosen an extraordinary group of Baltimore City Public High School students and I know these students will have better employment opportunities thanks to the work of Urban Alliance.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have been impressed on both the micro and macro levels, so if I had to make changes I would simply look for more fundraising to scale up their existing structure and expand into more cities across the United States.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

The Urban Alliance has changed me completely within past year. I am an alumni of the very first Chicago class from 2012-2013. It was an amazing experience and I appreciate everything that they've done for me. The Chicago Urban Alliance staff are amazing and they were a big help with my after high school plans. I recommend that all teens choose Urban Alliance.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Wendy-Ann Dixon-Dubois has been teaching the Urban Alliance Foundation job skills curriculum to our blind and low vision teen weekly DC VIP Teens after-school program participants at the DC Publicd LIbrary. Wendy is great with teens, and the curriculum is fun and informative. Some of teens learned to write a check for the first time last fall! They've definitely benefitted from the training, which is so necessary for so many of our youth here in DC. Thank you, Wendy and Urban Alliance. It's pleasure to write this commendation for you. Venetia V. Demson, Chief, Adaptive Services, DC Public Library.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I am delighted to be called upon as a reference for Urban Alliance. I first became acquainted with them in 2009, when I joined the YWCA National Capital Area. In this reference I would like to express my respect and appreciation for this program, which brings outstanding students with a contribution to the work of of the YWCA NCA. The students are articulate, thorough and pay attention to details and do not dread working. They are excited to be working and coming to work. They have an extraordinary ability to analyze problems and outline necessary courses of action when brought in front them.
The Urban Alliance is training and teaching them great things for when the students go out into the world of business today.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

To whom it may concern. My name is Cyrus Roher, Project Analyst Benefits with PHI headquartered in downtown Washington DC. The program initiated and implemented by Urban Alliance is outstanding. We've supported the organization for more than six years and the experience and relationship has grown. The organization's efforts to build relationship between youth and businesses in and around the city is exceptional. The participation is a win-win situation for our organization in that we've given the students the experience and exposure to the professional working environment through mentoring and we've received support and assistance in various areas of PHI's Human Resources division. Through UA the students are screened, coached and higly recommended with full support of each placement. I recommend companies in the DC Metropolitan or any area with such a program to get involved.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

We have been with Urban Alliance since their debut in the Baltimore area. This is our 5th year. We have enjoyed having the interns. We have helped them understand the commitments and opportunities of the real work world and then in turn have taught us alot also. We were able to expand opportunities in our building this year to two more departments. I would recommend this experience for anyone wanting to make a difference in someone's future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Urban alliance is a great program that helps youth in the inner city's to succeed. This program really allowed me to obtain an experience that I other wise would not have been exposed to if I did not attend this program. Not only did I get a job but urban alliance provided me with resume workshops and job training skills that would carry on throughout my life. Urban Alliance is a program that keeps on giving with there aluminum services once you become a member you are member for life. Thank You Urban Alliance

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

The urban Alliance staff goes well out of their way to help their students succeed. I started with Urban Alliance as a senior in High school as a part of the High School internship program. I am now a College Graduate with a Bachelors of Science in Nursing and throughout the years Urban Alliance has been there to guide me along the way with job placement assistance, resume building, interviewing skills, etc.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers