Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.839295
Write A Review
November 6, 2014

more

November 6, 2014

I have been mentoring through the Urban Alliance for four years, and it has been the most rewarding experience. It is exciting to see the students mature throughout the year. Their confidence increases and they become more focused on their goals.

The staff at the Urban Alliance are
professional and attentive to the needs of the students in the program.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

This is great program keep up the good work. Thank you
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I have worked closely with Urban Alliance for many years, i could not think of how my work in the work place would be without my young ladies and gentlemen. They help from filing to audits to every powerpoint and TV displays throughout the hotel. They are a true pleasure and joy to have, they teach me many new things with tech information. They think that we are teaching them but they are teaching us as well. They are an inspiration to my entire staff and all the ladies in gentlemen love to speak and ask them what are they going to do in their future. I truly dont know how we would get along without them. Thank you for all your help and support.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

We have participated with Urban Alliance for a few years and I have know great young ladies that are very focus on their future and are very positive with our host at the Marriott. They quick to learn and eager to show their skill. As a mentor I would not know what to do with out them.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Participating in urban alliance as a mentor has been the most rewarding thing I have done. As a mentor my goal is to ensure that the intern is motivated and inspired to be the best he/she can be. For the first time last year I participated in the Urban Alliance mentorship program and to be honest I was not sure what I was getting myself into. However, the urban alliance mentorship program changed my life! It was rewarding in so many ways. Recently, my intern wrote me a thank you card that made me nearly cry. It stated, “It is not very often that I say this but THANK YOU for helping me so much. You gave me so much great advice when I needed it. You motivated me to do better and always told me the right thing. I know I can always call you when I need anything and for that I just want to thank you.”

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Urban Alliance is a phenomenal organization that provides underserved youth with the resources and tools required to succeed. For the past two years, I've served as a judge for the year end Public Speaking Challenge event. It's a very rewarding experience to see the students use the skills they've learned throughout the year during their presentations. The staff at Urban Alliance is second to none and is incredibly dedicated to serving the youth. I'm looking forward to future volunteer opportunities with Urban Alliance.

I highly recommend this nonprofit organization!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Urban Alliance is a much needed resource in the community for under-served and disadvantaged youth. Our involvement with this organization has created a strong partnership that provides exposure, mentoring, personal and professional development for youth who would otherwise be looked over or left behind. Urban Alliance interns are excellent additions to our operation. They come with training, motivation and a strong desire to learn and grow. In return for their assistance they are met with acceptance and embraced by the entire staff who reaches out to mentor, advise and train them, making for a extraordinary internship opportunity. Urban Alliance is a program that targets and lifts up our youth and we intend to support this program for as long as possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything. The leadership of UA is responsible, accountable and available. They are the example of what they are trying to create for their students and we appreciate their effort to expose young people to the world that exists and is available to them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Urban Alliance is a great organization that helps to provide professional development training, exposure and experience to underprivileged youth who would not be afforded such opportunities otherwise. Their curriculum is easy for volunteers to jump in and assist in different ways and according to their expertise or however they would like to give of their time.

I volunteered to help with mock interviews and served on a panel to talk about my college and career experience. Urban Alliance does a great job of prepping volunteers with instructions, sharing information about where the youth are in the Urban Alliance process, explaining expectations of volunteers, recognizing and thanking volunteers. It was amazing to see how just one hour of your time can help shape and impact the lives of our youth.

Highly recommended nonprofit!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More staff capacity to run existing programs and to reach more youth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I acquired a lot from the Urban Alliance. It taught me to become a better professional and even gave me the opportunity to work in professional work place. We had a training process which involved hard skills and soft skills in order to perform our best and experience how it feels to work in a professional environment. I would highly recommend this.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give the interns a day off once and a while in order for them to have a memorable senior year. This is important to many interns because they see all their friends having fun within the last year they are ever going to hangout. Then again I could be wrong it is the responsibilities they took in order to have an opportunity like this. I guess it would be nice for interns to have a day off.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

From the first day that Urban Alliance went to my school to recruit students it caught my attention. When the program was starting I decided to give it a chance and I went to pre-work sessions every Monday-Thursday. During these workshops Urban Alliance helped me become the young professional that I am today. They taught me things such as sending a professional email, answering the phone professionally, and even taught me how to dress professionally.
After pre-work, my experience with the program was beyond what I had expected! I had the opportunity to intern at a law firm in the Sears Tower and work with so many amazing people. I learned ALOT more during my internship and Urban Alliance was always there to support me and guide me throughout the whole journey. At the end of the internship I had experienced so many great things that without Urban Alliance I would have never had the chance to experience. I am so thankful towards them for helping me become the person that I am now.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

most definitely make this organization bigger! I would take it to other cities in the United States and maybe one day this organization will help stop youth violence.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers