Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.818185
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Urban Alliance is a phenomenal organization that provides underserved youth with the resources and tools required to succeed. For the past two years, I've served as a judge for the year end Public Speaking Challenge event. It's a very rewarding experience to see the students use the skills they've learned throughout the year during their presentations. The staff at Urban Alliance is second to none and is incredibly dedicated to serving the youth. I'm looking forward to future volunteer opportunities with Urban Alliance.

I highly recommend this nonprofit organization!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Urban Alliance is a much needed resource in the community for under-served and disadvantaged youth. Our involvement with this organization has created a strong partnership that provides exposure, mentoring, personal and professional development for youth who would otherwise be looked over or left behind. Urban Alliance interns are excellent additions to our operation. They come with training, motivation and a strong desire to learn and grow. In return for their assistance they are met with acceptance and embraced by the entire staff who reaches out to mentor, advise and train them, making for a extraordinary internship opportunity. Urban Alliance is a program that targets and lifts up our youth and we intend to support this program for as long as possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything. The leadership of UA is responsible, accountable and available. They are the example of what they are trying to create for their students and we appreciate their effort to expose young people to the world that exists and is available to them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Urban Alliance is a great organization that helps to provide professional development training, exposure and experience to underprivileged youth who would not be afforded such opportunities otherwise. Their curriculum is easy for volunteers to jump in and assist in different ways and according to their expertise or however they would like to give of their time.

I volunteered to help with mock interviews and served on a panel to talk about my college and career experience. Urban Alliance does a great job of prepping volunteers with instructions, sharing information about where the youth are in the Urban Alliance process, explaining expectations of volunteers, recognizing and thanking volunteers. It was amazing to see how just one hour of your time can help shape and impact the lives of our youth.

Highly recommended nonprofit!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More staff capacity to run existing programs and to reach more youth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I acquired a lot from the Urban Alliance. It taught me to become a better professional and even gave me the opportunity to work in professional work place. We had a training process which involved hard skills and soft skills in order to perform our best and experience how it feels to work in a professional environment. I would highly recommend this.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give the interns a day off once and a while in order for them to have a memorable senior year. This is important to many interns because they see all their friends having fun within the last year they are ever going to hangout. Then again I could be wrong it is the responsibilities they took in order to have an opportunity like this. I guess it would be nice for interns to have a day off.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

From the first day that Urban Alliance went to my school to recruit students it caught my attention. When the program was starting I decided to give it a chance and I went to pre-work sessions every Monday-Thursday. During these workshops Urban Alliance helped me become the young professional that I am today. They taught me things such as sending a professional email, answering the phone professionally, and even taught me how to dress professionally.
After pre-work, my experience with the program was beyond what I had expected! I had the opportunity to intern at a law firm in the Sears Tower and work with so many amazing people. I learned ALOT more during my internship and Urban Alliance was always there to support me and guide me throughout the whole journey. At the end of the internship I had experienced so many great things that without Urban Alliance I would have never had the chance to experience. I am so thankful towards them for helping me become the person that I am now.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

most definitely make this organization bigger! I would take it to other cities in the United States and maybe one day this organization will help stop youth violence.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

Urban Alliance is by far one of the if not the most exceptional programs for DC public high school students. I have been a mentor with the Urban Alliance program since 2006. The program provides DC public high school seniors with the opportunity to gain professional experience at several outstanding private and public companies, agencies and organizations. Outside of the professional work experience, the interns get to learn about various industries on a broad scale and more intimately about the department that they work for. The benefits to the interns are obvious - professional experience, networking, acquiring transferable skills, learning professional conduct and attire etc. But as a mentor, the relationship that I form with the interns over the nine month assignment is priceless. Being with them along their journey to finish high school and get into college and learning more about each intern personally adds to the intern/mentor bond, helps me know the areas of growth in which I can assist and the most rewarding part is continuing to keep in touch with several formal interns over the years to come. The Urban Alliance staff is helpful, welcoming, knowledgeable and extremely easy to work with. I would recommend Urban Alliance to all DC public high school students and would encourage companies to become job partners in this fantastic program! Jeanna Wallace, Clark Construction Group, LLC

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Urban Alliance is blessing to both mentors and students. They take great pride in teaching their students on how to conduct themselves in a professional and everyday environment . Urban Alliance treats each and every student as if they were their own!!!!! Wish they had this program when I was coming up!!!!! Keep up the good work Urban Alliance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

We have had Urban Alliance interns in our office for over four years. They do a great job of training both the students and the job sites. We have worked with great, deserving young people, and a couple of them have continued working or volunteering at our office.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Urban Alliance (UA) is a great program. I believe UA gave the work experience I needed before entering college. UA is a home away from home. They indeed are very passionate about helping the students in which they serve. I wish their were more programs that serve the community non profit sectors like Urban Alliance.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Urban Alliance has the greatest and most positive impact of any nonprofit working with youth in the DC area. I base this conclusion on my time as a classroom teacher and as an intern with another education reform organization where I interacted with a number of leading DC nonprofits working to improve the lives of young people. I volunteer with Urban Alliance as a way to continue to connect with youth and the youth development sector. Urban Alliance provides youth opportunities that are launching pads for better post-secondary choices and careers. As an organization, Urban Alliance is changing the trajectory of the lives of DC, now Baltimore and Chicago youth. I cannot give high enough praise for Urban Alliance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers