Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.818185
| 1 ... 3 4 5 |
Write A Review
November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

As a child growing up, I was faced with many obstacles that could have potentially hindered me from succeeding in life. I was raised in a single-parent home, with my mother raising seven children on her own. I grew up in Southeast, Washington DC, in a pretty rough community, filled with high percentages of high-school drop-out rates, teen pregnancy, drugs, and gangs. Being raised in this type of environment made me really open my eyes to realize that this was not the environment I would want to continue to live in or raise a family. It also allowed me to actually see the negative consequences individuals encountered because of the lack of a college degree. Coming from this place where many are discouraged and have no hope outside of that community, really influenced me to want to give back to those who are the most vulnerable in these negative environments such as the youth. I was fortunate enough to get involved in many programs like Urban Allianc in my community that really offered me a new insight in life. I was able to learn essential skills such as phone etiquette, professionalism, time management, networking and so much more that has really played a major role in my advancement in life. I am currently a Senior at George Mason University, studying Social Work and is expecting to graduate in the Spring of 2013. Honestly, because of programs like Urban Alliance, it has really influenced my career interests and paths I plan on pursuing in life. I am really passionate about working with youth in urban cities to help guide them in the right direction. Whatever my career choice may be, I plan on following in UA's steps by instilling in these youth to have pride in where they come from and hope for a better future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Urban Alliances' mission is to reverse high youth unemployment trends through; workforce training, mentoring, and year-long professional paid internships for high school seniors. Partnering with local business communities, Urban Alliance helps youths gain the skills and experience necessary to succeed in the workforce.
The need for internships is rising! The staff of Urban Alliance is highly dedicated to both the youth and the business community, and are focused on meeting that increased demand. To a person, the staff is; professional, friendly, and amazingly positive about the opportunities the interns will have access to once they complete the program

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I initially learned about Urban Alliance about five years ago when I heard a radio interview with one of its student interns. I was so moved by what the young woman had to say about how Urban Alliance had shown her possibilities for her life that she never even knew existed, that I literally got out of my car, ran into my house, Googled them and have been involved ever since as a volunteer and now as a Board Member. Executive Director Veronica Nolan works tirelessly for these kids and leads a talented and dedicated staff who are passionate about the work that they do with the youth of DC, Baltimore and Chicago. The Urban Alliance organization and the employers who agree to hire and mentor our students are providing them the gift of a life transformed. The young people who come out of this program leave better prepared for college and for living productive and successful lives. Cannot say enough positive things about Urban Alliance!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I thoroughly enjoy serving Urban Alliance (UA) as a board member because there is no doubt in my mind that this organization changes their participants' trajectory for the better. In addition to being on their board, my employer hosts Urban Alliance interns. Interns bring great energy to our work environment and our team members who serve as mentors can't wait to meet their new intern each year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Urban Alliance is an exceptional and inspiring organization. It is incredibly well run, with a talented staff dedicated to improving outcomes and opportunities for young people. They provide youth in DC, Baltimore and Chicago with professional internships, while instilling in them the professional and life skills they will need to be successful adults. Many nonprofits have a great mission but Urban Alliance is actually realizing its mission and seeing clear results. Nearly all of their youth go on to college, and remain connected to Urban Alliance through the alumni program. I have always been impressed in my interactions with the organization but what will forever make me a champion for this organization is the powerful stories I have heard from participants about how Urban Alliance has changed their lives.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have been engaged with the work of Urban Alliance since its founding in 1996. Well over 1,200 young people from DC public schools have graduated from the program and they are often totally transformed by their experiecne with the organization. They learn basic work place skills and more importantly gain an appreciation for their opportunities and for their potential. Seeing a young person gain confidence and self esteem is a true joy and the fact that UA is now able to offer services in Baltimore and Chicago too is very exciting. This is a great program with excellent impact on the lives of some of the most deserving young people in our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Urban Alliance provides transformational experiences for their students. They have a deep commitment to community, excellence, and advancing the Washington community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have worked with the Urban Alliance for the past 6 years as a volunteer, initially, and then as a board member. Veronica Nolan and her staff are exceptional in meeting the needs of HS seniors and matching them with mentors. The staff is extremely dedicated and it is amazing to see how the program helps transforms the lives of these young people. Many of which would never complete high school--do and then they even go on to college. It's amazing what one program and one mentor can do to change the lives of so many.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I participated in this program when I was in High School and had a great experience with this organization. Urban Alliance provided me with paid internships at both The World Bank and the Energy Action Coalition. Thanks to Urban Alliance, these two internship experiences have helped shape my future career goals of becoming deeply involved in the philanthropic field. I also received a scholarship through this program that greatly helped relieve the financial burden of college. I was so inspired by this organization that I, along with my brother, used our birthdays as an opportunity to raise funds for a scholarship that was given to a youth participant in Urban Alliance.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

The Urban Alliance Foundation gives students the tools and skills to be prepared for the world of work -- and then places participants in internships so that they can apply what they've learned. Being successful in the workplace requires the ability to negotiate the many "unspoken rules" and social cues that exist in professional settings. Acquiring these skills can be particularly challenging for youth from under-resourced neighborhoods because of their limited access to professional environments. UA demystifies the work experience and through creating a culture of success and achievement, shows students that their professional aspirations are attainable.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers