Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.839295
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Urban Alliance is not just an organization, it is a true movement that impacts the lives of thousands of people in our community. In its short history, Urban Alliance has provided thousands of under-resourced high school seniors with real-life work experiences through paid internships. This work helps build stronger, more vibrant communities that sustain themselves for generations, and this impacts everyone.

In my work with Urban Alliance, not only did I see an organization driven by results and impact, but I experienced passion from its staff and volunteers that live its mission on a daily basis. Leadership is tremendous and with their continued passion and dedication, more and more high school seniors will thrive academically and professionally. When this happens, we all win in the end.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hope they keep expanding. The more cities where Urban Alliance has a presence, the more lives that will be positively impacted.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

This organization helps at risk youth become confident members of both the academic and professional communities. I have been privileged to hear these young people speak about the changes made in their lives by the opportunity to work and learn and it is incredible. The staff is dedicated to the success of these young people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It should be a model for all educational programs who truly want to help kids help themselves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I acquired a lot from the Urban Alliance. It taught me to become a better professional and even gave me the opportunity to work in professional work place. We had a training process which involved hard skills and soft skills in order to perform our best and experience how it feels to work in a professional environment. I would highly recommend this.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give the interns a day off once and a while in order for them to have a memorable senior year. This is important to many interns because they see all their friends having fun within the last year they are ever going to hangout. Then again I could be wrong it is the responsibilities they took in order to have an opportunity like this. I guess it would be nice for interns to have a day off.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

The Urban Alliance has changed me completely within past year. I am an alumni of the very first Chicago class from 2012-2013. It was an amazing experience and I appreciate everything that they've done for me. The Chicago Urban Alliance staff are amazing and they were a big help with my after high school plans. I recommend that all teens choose Urban Alliance.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

From the first day that Urban Alliance went to my school to recruit students it caught my attention. When the program was starting I decided to give it a chance and I went to pre-work sessions every Monday-Thursday. During these workshops Urban Alliance helped me become the young professional that I am today. They taught me things such as sending a professional email, answering the phone professionally, and even taught me how to dress professionally.
After pre-work, my experience with the program was beyond what I had expected! I had the opportunity to intern at a law firm in the Sears Tower and work with so many amazing people. I learned ALOT more during my internship and Urban Alliance was always there to support me and guide me throughout the whole journey. At the end of the internship I had experienced so many great things that without Urban Alliance I would have never had the chance to experience. I am so thankful towards them for helping me become the person that I am now.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

most definitely make this organization bigger! I would take it to other cities in the United States and maybe one day this organization will help stop youth violence.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 6, 2012

more

December 6, 2012

Sasha Bruce YouthBuild has been utilizing Urban Alliance for soft skills workshops for over a year and half. Each time Mrs. Dixon-Dubois conducted a workshop she did a wonderful job engaging our young people. She was energetic and well informed. She made lessons fun and tailored them to our demographic. The young people were happy to see her come each week and learned a lot. Sasha Bruce Youthbuild will continue to partner with Urban Alliance and recommend their services to partner organizations!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

Urban Alliance is by far one of the if not the most exceptional programs for DC public high school students. I have been a mentor with the Urban Alliance program since 2006. The program provides DC public high school seniors with the opportunity to gain professional experience at several outstanding private and public companies, agencies and organizations. Outside of the professional work experience, the interns get to learn about various industries on a broad scale and more intimately about the department that they work for. The benefits to the interns are obvious - professional experience, networking, acquiring transferable skills, learning professional conduct and attire etc. But as a mentor, the relationship that I form with the interns over the nine month assignment is priceless. Being with them along their journey to finish high school and get into college and learning more about each intern personally adds to the intern/mentor bond, helps me know the areas of growth in which I can assist and the most rewarding part is continuing to keep in touch with several formal interns over the years to come. The Urban Alliance staff is helpful, welcoming, knowledgeable and extremely easy to work with. I would recommend Urban Alliance to all DC public high school students and would encourage companies to become job partners in this fantastic program! Jeanna Wallace, Clark Construction Group, LLC

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Wendy-Ann Dixon-Dubois has been teaching the Urban Alliance Foundation job skills curriculum to our blind and low vision teen weekly DC VIP Teens after-school program participants at the DC Publicd LIbrary. Wendy is great with teens, and the curriculum is fun and informative. Some of teens learned to write a check for the first time last fall! They've definitely benefitted from the training, which is so necessary for so many of our youth here in DC. Thank you, Wendy and Urban Alliance. It's pleasure to write this commendation for you. Venetia V. Demson, Chief, Adaptive Services, DC Public Library.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I am delighted to be called upon as a reference for Urban Alliance. I first became acquainted with them in 2009, when I joined the YWCA National Capital Area. In this reference I would like to express my respect and appreciation for this program, which brings outstanding students with a contribution to the work of of the YWCA NCA. The students are articulate, thorough and pay attention to details and do not dread working. They are excited to be working and coming to work. They have an extraordinary ability to analyze problems and outline necessary courses of action when brought in front them.
The Urban Alliance is training and teaching them great things for when the students go out into the world of business today.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

To whom it may concern. My name is Cyrus Roher, Project Analyst Benefits with PHI headquartered in downtown Washington DC. The program initiated and implemented by Urban Alliance is outstanding. We've supported the organization for more than six years and the experience and relationship has grown. The organization's efforts to build relationship between youth and businesses in and around the city is exceptional. The participation is a win-win situation for our organization in that we've given the students the experience and exposure to the professional working environment through mentoring and we've received support and assistance in various areas of PHI's Human Resources division. Through UA the students are screened, coached and higly recommended with full support of each placement. I recommend companies in the DC Metropolitan or any area with such a program to get involved.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers