Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.818185
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

I truly admire the important work Urban Alliance does to foster necessary skills in youth and provide them with opportunities to succeed personally and professionally. I had the pleasure of working with an Urban Alliance intern this past Summer. She was eager to learn and approached each task with a sincere passion and commitment. It was clear to me that the resources and supports provided to her through the Urban Alliance program were working. Urban Alliance really works to develop essential life skills in young people that not only makes them more marketable for employment but increases their self-esteem and helps them realize their full potential.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

Urban Alliance has been assisting Dance Place's Junior Staff Program for over a year. One of the main goals of the Junior Staff Program is to train high school students in our community to be ready for college and the professional world after they leave school. Urban Alliance's sessions with our Junior Staff have better prepared them for this and have gave them valuable on-the-job training! Dance Place is very thankful and appreciative for all that Urban Alliance has done for us!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Urban Alliance is a phenomenal organization that provides underserved youth with the resources and tools required to succeed. For the past two years, I've served as a judge for the year end Public Speaking Challenge event. It's a very rewarding experience to see the students use the skills they've learned throughout the year during their presentations. The staff at Urban Alliance is second to none and is incredibly dedicated to serving the youth. I'm looking forward to future volunteer opportunities with Urban Alliance.

I highly recommend this nonprofit organization!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

As a TV producer who's currently working on a show that helps high school students explore their dream careers, Urban Alliance was and remains an early champion and key supporter of the cause. Their leadership quickly recognizes opportunities that further help their students and they move fast to make things happen on the ground. They have once again chosen an extraordinary group of Baltimore City Public High School students and I know these students will have better employment opportunities thanks to the work of Urban Alliance.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have been impressed on both the micro and macro levels, so if I had to make changes I would simply look for more fundraising to scale up their existing structure and expand into more cities across the United States.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Urban Alliance is a much needed resource in the community for under-served and disadvantaged youth. Our involvement with this organization has created a strong partnership that provides exposure, mentoring, personal and professional development for youth who would otherwise be looked over or left behind. Urban Alliance interns are excellent additions to our operation. They come with training, motivation and a strong desire to learn and grow. In return for their assistance they are met with acceptance and embraced by the entire staff who reaches out to mentor, advise and train them, making for a extraordinary internship opportunity. Urban Alliance is a program that targets and lifts up our youth and we intend to support this program for as long as possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything. The leadership of UA is responsible, accountable and available. They are the example of what they are trying to create for their students and we appreciate their effort to expose young people to the world that exists and is available to them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

Urban Alliance is an organization that has impact not only with the students directly involved but through out the communitty. It allows at risk high school seniors to earn money, develop professiona... more

October 28, 2013

Urban Alliance has such a positive impact on our community. The students enrolled in the program show dedication and effort, in order to change their lives for the better. The end of year speaking engagement is one of the most inspirational meetings I have ever attened. To witness the growth of these students in a short ten month period is astonishing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

Urban Alliance is an organization that has impact not only with the students directly involved but through out the communitty. It allows at risk high school seniors to earn money, develop professional skills and build their resume for college. It enables employers the ability to hire inexpensive labor, a tax deduction and the opportunity to impact the life of a youngster forever. It betters the communitty by having more profesionals working in their city, creating more revenue for their companies, stimulating the local econonmy and paying more taxes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Urban Alliance provides the necessary resources in youth development for future success wherever a student's aspirations lead them - college, career, military. The keys to success are not always available to every family. While parents and families only want what's best for their child, they don't always have first hand experience or know where to look for those tools. Urban Alliance empowers students to own their future by consistently providing professional development.

I have seen students begin their internships nervous but willing to do a good job. Helping them on the job site by reinforcing what they are taught through their professional (youth) development sessions has tremendous rewards for the workplace. By the end of their internship I am able to see a student who no matter what they chose knows what's needed to be successful.

Over 5 years none have disappointed me!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Urban Alliance is very focused on how to make improvements in the areas where it most counts because of the strong commitment of their local and national board members.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Urban Alliance is a great organization that helps to provide professional development training, exposure and experience to underprivileged youth who would not be afforded such opportunities otherwise. Their curriculum is easy for volunteers to jump in and assist in different ways and according to their expertise or however they would like to give of their time.

I volunteered to help with mock interviews and served on a panel to talk about my college and career experience. Urban Alliance does a great job of prepping volunteers with instructions, sharing information about where the youth are in the Urban Alliance process, explaining expectations of volunteers, recognizing and thanking volunteers. It was amazing to see how just one hour of your time can help shape and impact the lives of our youth.

Highly recommended nonprofit!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More staff capacity to run existing programs and to reach more youth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Urban Alliance is not just an organization, it is a true movement that impacts the lives of thousands of people in our community. In its short history, Urban Alliance has provided thousands of under-resourced high school seniors with real-life work experiences through paid internships. This work helps build stronger, more vibrant communities that sustain themselves for generations, and this impacts everyone.

In my work with Urban Alliance, not only did I see an organization driven by results and impact, but I experienced passion from its staff and volunteers that live its mission on a daily basis. Leadership is tremendous and with their continued passion and dedication, more and more high school seniors will thrive academically and professionally. When this happens, we all win in the end.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hope they keep expanding. The more cities where Urban Alliance has a presence, the more lives that will be positively impacted.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

This organization helps at risk youth become confident members of both the academic and professional communities. I have been privileged to hear these young people speak about the changes made in their lives by the opportunity to work and learn and it is incredible. The staff is dedicated to the success of these young people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It should be a model for all educational programs who truly want to help kids help themselves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers