Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.933335
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

When I discovered Upwardly Global online, I was impressed enough to drive 2-hours from the city where I live to attend one of their volunteer training sessions in San Francisco. I've been a volunteer for almost 2-years now. Upwardly Global has many strengths as an organization that I appreciate as a nonprofit leader and as a professional:

1) Their clear mission--to assist new immigrants in their pursuit of US employment through support, mentoring, and coaching--is a laudable goal that promotes human dignity and well-being. Upwardly Global makes the "American Dream" not only accessible, but achievable for new Americans.
2) Their committed staff--the people whom I've encountered at Upwardly Global have been uniformly impressive. Their team shows a refreshing blend of practical idealism--able to inspire their various constituents--donors, volunteers, and mentees, while at the same time encouraging job-seekers to work hard to achieve their goals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work for them, rather than just with them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I have worked with Upwardly Global for 2 years now and have been very pleased with the organization. They are professional and focused in their desire to assist applicants finding employment utilizing candidate's depth and experience. They are tenacious but not to a fault. They are flexible and creative in working with organizations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none noted

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I was looking for a volunteer opportunity and I was able to sign up for a Saturday session easily only a few days ahead of time with Upwardly Global. I had no idea what to expect but it looked like a good opportunity to work with people in a supportive role.

I showed up and was incredibly
impressed at the organization and presentation of the group. They walked us through an introduction about the program and what we would be doing that day. They said that we could sign up to be mentors if we liked this, and I thought to myself that I doubted I would be interested.

Then we had a really good lunch. Then we went to our assigned interviewees and went through the process. Afterward we all met and mingled and had a closing talk. I met so many interesting people, and really enjoyed the interaction with the second person I interviewed. After I wrote to the organizer to let them know I would be interested in signing up to be a mentor.

They have regular networking events that are fun and I get to meet awesome people. You can commit as little or as much as you want to.

What keeps me coming back is that it feels like I am really helping and contributing to the lives of the people in the program. It is such a feel good thing to do and I tell a lot of people about the opportunity so that I've become a kind of word of mouth marketer because I love it so much!

Try it out. It's easy to sign up and there's lots of opportunity. You just might end up loving Upwardly Global as much as I do!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wan them to get more social media coverage and generally more exposure with great marketing so that more people know what a wonderful organization they are!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Upwardly Global does an amazing job of working with immigrants and providing straight-forward, proven career support to help them get back on their career track quickly. Their volunteer program is very well-run. They communicate effectively, and what's more, they have great trainings for both volunteers and candidates. I've been very impressed with my volunteer experience there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I participated in a resume and interview skills workshop with Upwardly Global hosted by Accenture in San Francisco. It was a great experience. The staff was great and very professional and the participants were really interesting. The participants were smart, many were highly trained and it was interesting to hear about their experience and help them learn to talk about their skills and education in a way that would get them a great job here in the US. The workshop lasted a couple hours and was time well spent. Upwardly Global is a great organization and does its job incredibly well. I'd recommend volunteering with them to someone who has only a little time once in a while or someone who's looking for a more consistent commitment. I really enjoyed it and would recommend it to volunteers and companies looking for volunteer opportunities for their people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it... it needs to be everywhere. Also, would be great to get an update on how the participants did in their job search... maybe a note that XX number got jobs within a month/3 months of the workshop.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

I've volunteered with Upwardly Global as part of Accenture's Skills to Succeed Program. It is a high impact program helping immigrant refugees expand their career options in the US. The workshops simply require a volunteer to guide and mentor a highly-skilled participant as they seek employment in the US. Accenture has successfully hired Upwardly Global participants. The partnership has been a win-win. It is time well-spent and something which has been expanded across the country.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I provide online resources/ portal where mentors and participants can interact. This would be more effective than using traditional social media.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've worked with Upwardly Global for more than three years and it has been very rewarding. I am amazed by how much I learn and inspired by the foreign professionals the organization serves. The organization is truly making an impact on new immigrants with professional experience, families and the economy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Upwardly Global truly impressed me with their services, cause, and effectiveness. Most people probably know someone (if not in their own family) who has come to this country to make a better life of it, but never consider just how hard this is. I volunteered at one of their networking and interview training sessions interviewing a pair of clients and networking with many more. There were probably about 40 professionals (not including local employee volunteers from Cisco, Apple, Google, banks, etc) that Upwardly Global was helping that day and everyone I met was skilled and experienced in their professions. It's absolutely incredible what these people are doing and have overcome just to get here and then they are faced with having no professional network in the United States, and almost no experience in getting a job the way Americans do in spite of their abilities to actually excel at those jobs. Upwardly Global provides more than just hope for these people, they gain actual skills that can put them in a position to make money, support their families, and contribute fully to society. Upwardly Global seems to set their bar pretty high for those they support (permanent work authorization, Bachelor's degree minimum, English speaking, from a developing country or refuge status, multiple years of work experience), which is actually something I appreciate, because you know your time and any donations are being used by people who need it, are capable of doing something with it, and won't become dependent on assistance down the road. As a volunteer, this event was very beneficial to me as well. It gave me more confidence in speaking/approaching people related to networking and was a fantastic refresher on common interview questions and evaluating what sounds good and what I should focus on in an interview having been on the other-side of the table. When I got home I immediately told former employers / colleagues about what this organization was doing and that their amazing untapped talent pool. Check out their website for more information, and consider a worthy donation. I highly recommend volunteering with this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It added another level of respect for my grandparents who immigrated here as refuges themselves. I also improved my own interviewing and networking skills and got valuable feedback.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Amazing! Exhilarated.

November 18, 2008

more

November 18, 2008

Upwardly Global provides a service that transform lives. We all know how nerve-wrecking the job searching process is; now imagine doing it as a recent immigrant! The immigrant professionals that UpGlo works with are all educated and successful in their own right. But they can't break through the cultural barrier here. You can see the frustration and eagerness in each job seeker - their need to get back on their feet, support their families, and most importantly, reestablish their self worth. As a volunteer at UpGlo, I get the opportunity to transform individual lives. With every resume or interview tip I give, I can personally see the impact it has on the job seeker. It is an immensely rewarding and satisfying experience.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the immense joy and gratitude of the immigrants who have gotten back on their feet because of UpGlo.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

working directly with the immigrants.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

help tens of thousands of immigrant professionals and contribute significantly to the talent gap in the U.S. economy.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

November 11, 2008

more

November 11, 2008

I am a volunteer/mentor at Upwardly Global. I have seen first hand how this wonderful organization assists professional refugees and immigrants in rebuilding their careers here in US. My mentee, who is from Mexico, had had a difficult time finding a job for 6 months after moving to SF Bay Area early this year. After joining Upwardly Global's program, he was able to get helps from a team of staff and volunteers and found a job with a leading credit card company within 6 weeks of joining the program. To date, Upwardly Global has helped 1100 jobseekers from 94 developing countries in Latin America, Asia, Africa and Eastern Europe to get back into their careers. Being an immigrant myself, I can empathize with the challenges that Upwardly Global job seekers face trying to get back into their usual professions after relocated to US. Since the volunteering with Upwardly Global is skilled based, I get to practice my resume reviewing, interviewing, mentoring, and networking skills with Upwardly Global job seekers. As a manager, these are all critical skills in my day job. I also love that I get to make connections with people from different backgrounds, cultures, and countries through Upwardly Global. The job seekers that I have met are well-educated, driven, motivated, and are very high caliber people. Their personal stories and struggles have touched me and made me realized how blessed I am to be able to extend helps to others. I feel a personal connection to the mission of Upwardly Global and am certain that my volunteering effort will make a positive difference in someone's life. It has been a truly rewarding volunteering experience for me.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

how this wonderful organization assists professional refugees and immigrants in rebuilding their careers here in US. My mentee, who is from Mexico, had had a difficult time finding a job for 6 months after moving to SF Bay Area early this year. After joining Upwardly Global's program, he was able to get helps from a team of staff and volunteers and found a job with a leading credit card company within 6 weeks of joining the program. To date, Upwardly Global has helped 1100 jobseekers from 94 developing countries in Latin America, Asia, Africa and Eastern Europe to get back into their careers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to get the message out and get more support from the immigrant community.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

that I get to make connections with people from different backgrounds, cultures, and countries through Upwardly Global. The job seekers that I have met are well-educated, driven, motivated, and are very high caliber people. Their personal stories and struggles have touched me and made me realized how blessed I am to be able to extend helps to others. I feel a personal connection to the mission of Upwardly Global and am certain that my volunteering effort will make a positive difference in someone's life. It has been a truly rewarding volunteering experience for me.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

wonderful people with big hearts. The staff is very supportive and a fun group of people to hang out with.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

help more professional immigrants and refugees to get back into their careers and contribute to our society. There are way too many people out there that can use their help.

Ways to make it better...

the companies and hiring managers have better understanding of people from different cultures and with diverse backgrounds.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

getting companies and hiring managers to be more open minded about diversity and inclusion and obtaining the resources they need to continue to provide the services to people who need it.

One thing I'd also say is that...

immigrant communities are encouraged to get involved and help the ones that come after you.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers