Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.967745
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I've witnessed how UpGlow has improved the lives of hundreds of foreign professionals in the Bay Area by helping them find their first job in the US. Their staff is very competent, caring and knowledgeable, they have a solid group of volunteers supporting their activities, and it also uses web tools that allow the job seeker to improve hers/his skills without having to commute to the city. UpGlow should have branches in all major cities in the US. Great work!!
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Upwardly global is a unique organization that understands the struggles of first time immigrants in the United States. I was so fortunate that I've found this group that genuinely looks after the welfare of some helpless immigrants like me, most especially during the critical period of looking for a job in order to survive. What makes this organization unique is that the services are free, staff are well educated and they know fully well how to orient and train people so that they could find a job (not just a job) that is in line with their field of specialization. I love Upwardly global and I would be forever grateful to this organization for helping me find my place in an entirely new environment. At present, I am working in a School District where it further opens new opportunities and employment related to the field of education. God bless you UpGlo!
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I've been involved with Upwardly Global for almost three years. It is an amazing organization with an incredibly inspiring mission. UpGlo is extremely professionally run, with a highly qualified and dedicated staff. The programs offered -- resume writing assistance, mock interviews, networking sessions, mentorship, 1-1 coaching, e-learning etc. -- are well designed and effectively delivered. What has impressed me most is the impact UpGlo is having on the lives of skilled immigrants, their families and the broader communities.

I've met many amazing job seekers and alum of UpGlo's programs and am always impressed and humbled by their experiences and contributions. As an immigrant myself, I can identify with many of the issues and challenges new immigrant job seekers face, and working with UpGlo has been an inspiring and rewarding experience. There are many impactful and fun ways to support the organization. Sign up to volunteer!
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Upwardly Global is a phenomenal organization, led by an incredible group of people.

The group's vision of helping skilled immigrants maximize their career potential in the US is incredibly powerful - it's a mission that will benefit not only the job-seekers who attend the program, but the
country as a whole.

The team, moreover, consists of some of the most hard-working, dedicated, visionary people I have ever met. It is incredibly motivating to see the level of passion demonstrated by the UpGlo team at every level, and it shows in the tremendous gratitude of people who's lives are touched by the group.

Finally, the workshops organized by UpGlo are FUN. They are an opportunity to meet incredibly qualified, accomplished people from around the world. Where else can you sit down doctors from Iran and engineers from Colombia, and hear their stories? At every session, I have found myself learning and learning and taking away far more than what I put in.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Upwardly Global is definitely one of the more professional non-profits. Their mission is clear and definitely resonates with many folks in the Bay Area. I volunteered on-site at my company and it was easy and meaningful for me and my coworkers. Would definitely recommend for any professional looking to mentor and help those locked out of the job market.
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

When I discovered Upwardly Global online, I was impressed enough to drive 2-hours from the city where I live to attend one of their volunteer training sessions in San Francisco. I've been a volunteer for almost 2-years now. Upwardly Global has many strengths as an organization that I appreciate as a nonprofit leader and as a professional:

1) Their clear mission--to assist new immigrants in their pursuit of US employment through support, mentoring, and coaching--is a laudable goal that promotes human dignity and well-being. Upwardly Global makes the "American Dream" not only accessible, but achievable for new Americans.
2) Their committed staff--the people whom I've encountered at Upwardly Global have been uniformly impressive. Their team shows a refreshing blend of practical idealism--able to inspire their various constituents--donors, volunteers, and mentees, while at the same time encouraging job-seekers to work hard to achieve their goals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work for them, rather than just with them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I have worked with Upwardly Global for 2 years now and have been very pleased with the organization. They are professional and focused in their desire to assist applicants finding employment utilizing candidate's depth and experience. They are tenacious but not to a fault. They are flexible and creative in working with organizations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none noted

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I was looking for a volunteer opportunity and I was able to sign up for a Saturday session easily only a few days ahead of time with Upwardly Global. I had no idea what to expect but it looked like a good opportunity to work with people in a supportive role.

I showed up and was incredibly
impressed at the organization and presentation of the group. They walked us through an introduction about the program and what we would be doing that day. They said that we could sign up to be mentors if we liked this, and I thought to myself that I doubted I would be interested.

Then we had a really good lunch. Then we went to our assigned interviewees and went through the process. Afterward we all met and mingled and had a closing talk. I met so many interesting people, and really enjoyed the interaction with the second person I interviewed. After I wrote to the organizer to let them know I would be interested in signing up to be a mentor.

They have regular networking events that are fun and I get to meet awesome people. You can commit as little or as much as you want to.

What keeps me coming back is that it feels like I am really helping and contributing to the lives of the people in the program. It is such a feel good thing to do and I tell a lot of people about the opportunity so that I've become a kind of word of mouth marketer because I love it so much!

Try it out. It's easy to sign up and there's lots of opportunity. You just might end up loving Upwardly Global as much as I do!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wan them to get more social media coverage and generally more exposure with great marketing so that more people know what a wonderful organization they are!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Upwardly Global does an amazing job of working with immigrants and providing straight-forward, proven career support to help them get back on their career track quickly. Their volunteer program is very well-run. They communicate effectively, and what's more, they have great trainings for both volunteers and candidates. I've been very impressed with my volunteer experience there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I participated in a resume and interview skills workshop with Upwardly Global hosted by Accenture in San Francisco. It was a great experience. The staff was great and very professional and the participants were really interesting. The participants were smart, many were highly trained and it was interesting to hear about their experience and help them learn to talk about their skills and education in a way that would get them a great job here in the US. The workshop lasted a couple hours and was time well spent. Upwardly Global is a great organization and does its job incredibly well. I'd recommend volunteering with them to someone who has only a little time once in a while or someone who's looking for a more consistent commitment. I really enjoyed it and would recommend it to volunteers and companies looking for volunteer opportunities for their people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it... it needs to be everywhere. Also, would be great to get an update on how the participants did in their job search... maybe a note that XX number got jobs within a month/3 months of the workshop.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers