Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.933335
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

When I discovered Upwardly Global online, I was impressed enough to drive 2-hours from the city where I live to attend one of their volunteer training sessions in San Francisco. I've been a volunteer for almost 2-years now. Upwardly Global has many strengths as an organization that I appreciate as a nonprofit leader and as a professional:

1) Their clear mission--to assist new immigrants in their pursuit of US employment through support, mentoring, and coaching--is a laudable goal that promotes human dignity and well-being. Upwardly Global makes the "American Dream" not only accessible, but achievable for new Americans.
2) Their committed staff--the people whom I've encountered at Upwardly Global have been uniformly impressive. Their team shows a refreshing blend of practical idealism--able to inspire their various constituents--donors, volunteers, and mentees, while at the same time encouraging job-seekers to work hard to achieve their goals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work for them, rather than just with them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I have worked with Upwardly Global for 2 years now and have been very pleased with the organization. They are professional and focused in their desire to assist applicants finding employment utilizing candidate's depth and experience. They are tenacious but not to a fault. They are flexible and creative in working with organizations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none noted

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I was looking for a volunteer opportunity and I was able to sign up for a Saturday session easily only a few days ahead of time with Upwardly Global. I had no idea what to expect but it looked like a good opportunity to work with people in a supportive role.

I showed up and was incredibly
impressed at the organization and presentation of the group. They walked us through an introduction about the program and what we would be doing that day. They said that we could sign up to be mentors if we liked this, and I thought to myself that I doubted I would be interested.

Then we had a really good lunch. Then we went to our assigned interviewees and went through the process. Afterward we all met and mingled and had a closing talk. I met so many interesting people, and really enjoyed the interaction with the second person I interviewed. After I wrote to the organizer to let them know I would be interested in signing up to be a mentor.

They have regular networking events that are fun and I get to meet awesome people. You can commit as little or as much as you want to.

What keeps me coming back is that it feels like I am really helping and contributing to the lives of the people in the program. It is such a feel good thing to do and I tell a lot of people about the opportunity so that I've become a kind of word of mouth marketer because I love it so much!

Try it out. It's easy to sign up and there's lots of opportunity. You just might end up loving Upwardly Global as much as I do!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wan them to get more social media coverage and generally more exposure with great marketing so that more people know what a wonderful organization they are!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Upwardly Global does an amazing job of working with immigrants and providing straight-forward, proven career support to help them get back on their career track quickly. Their volunteer program is very well-run. They communicate effectively, and what's more, they have great trainings for both volunteers and candidates. I've been very impressed with my volunteer experience there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I participated in a resume and interview skills workshop with Upwardly Global hosted by Accenture in San Francisco. It was a great experience. The staff was great and very professional and the participants were really interesting. The participants were smart, many were highly trained and it was interesting to hear about their experience and help them learn to talk about their skills and education in a way that would get them a great job here in the US. The workshop lasted a couple hours and was time well spent. Upwardly Global is a great organization and does its job incredibly well. I'd recommend volunteering with them to someone who has only a little time once in a while or someone who's looking for a more consistent commitment. I really enjoyed it and would recommend it to volunteers and companies looking for volunteer opportunities for their people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it... it needs to be everywhere. Also, would be great to get an update on how the participants did in their job search... maybe a note that XX number got jobs within a month/3 months of the workshop.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

I've volunteered with Upwardly Global as part of Accenture's Skills to Succeed Program. It is a high impact program helping immigrant refugees expand their career options in the US. The workshops simply require a volunteer to guide and mentor a highly-skilled participant as they seek employment in the US. Accenture has successfully hired Upwardly Global participants. The partnership has been a win-win. It is time well-spent and something which has been expanded across the country.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I provide online resources/ portal where mentors and participants can interact. This would be more effective than using traditional social media.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've worked with Upwardly Global for more than three years and it has been very rewarding. I am amazed by how much I learn and inspired by the foreign professionals the organization serves. The organization is truly making an impact on new immigrants with professional experience, families and the economy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Upwardly Global truly impressed me with their services, cause, and effectiveness. Most people probably know someone (if not in their own family) who has come to this country to make a better life of it, but never consider just how hard this is. I volunteered at one of their networking and interview training sessions interviewing a pair of clients and networking with many more. There were probably about 40 professionals (not including local employee volunteers from Cisco, Apple, Google, banks, etc) that Upwardly Global was helping that day and everyone I met was skilled and experienced in their professions. It's absolutely incredible what these people are doing and have overcome just to get here and then they are faced with having no professional network in the United States, and almost no experience in getting a job the way Americans do in spite of their abilities to actually excel at those jobs. Upwardly Global provides more than just hope for these people, they gain actual skills that can put them in a position to make money, support their families, and contribute fully to society. Upwardly Global seems to set their bar pretty high for those they support (permanent work authorization, Bachelor's degree minimum, English speaking, from a developing country or refuge status, multiple years of work experience), which is actually something I appreciate, because you know your time and any donations are being used by people who need it, are capable of doing something with it, and won't become dependent on assistance down the road. As a volunteer, this event was very beneficial to me as well. It gave me more confidence in speaking/approaching people related to networking and was a fantastic refresher on common interview questions and evaluating what sounds good and what I should focus on in an interview having been on the other-side of the table. When I got home I immediately told former employers / colleagues about what this organization was doing and that their amazing untapped talent pool. Check out their website for more information, and consider a worthy donation. I highly recommend volunteering with this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It added another level of respect for my grandparents who immigrated here as refuges themselves. I also improved my own interviewing and networking skills and got valuable feedback.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Amazing! Exhilarated.

November 20, 2008

more

November 20, 2008

i came from Mexico 3 years ago. I am doing my jobseeking with Upwardly Global training program. i feel so happy, because they make me feel that i can do something wiht my carrer here in the United State. I recently lose my job, and i am looking for one. I have a business Administration bachelor degree from Mexico. I have my mentor right now her names is Jackie Ross, and I hope so she will help me alot with my carrer.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

right now, because i feel so comfortable working with them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to give them some donation,

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

yes, i enjoy working with them during the jobseeking training.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

I like the staff, they are very nice, great, confidecial, person, and tomorro I will meet with my mentor, even thought all my partners during each section

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

they could help more people like me, because we came from another countries, with different kind of lives, cultures, etc.and they help us to feel USA our house.

Ways to make it better...

they can help us for more time.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

the training programs and the mentor volunter

One thing I'd also say is that...

this organization is great, i will want to stay with them for more time that only 6 months. if they would can help us for more time.

Should this review be counted for a specific campaign?

unemployment

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

November 19, 2008

more

November 19, 2008

It is a great privilege to write a review about upwardly global about their commendable work in assisting qualified immigrants find back their job and life in the USA. I have been the lucky very few to have met upwardly global and get the necessary assistance I need to find a job. With their professional approach they instill a systematic and well founded methodology of preparing and presenting a qualified non-US origin professional to the US job market. With their close and personal communication techniques, they understand each job seeker’s need and provide guidance and day to day counseling. Unlike many other Job assistance organizations, they not only give the theoretical information on how to get a job, they actually practically help prepare the clients in building resumes, self marketing techniques, networking techniques and even do mock interviews. Moreover, they go the distance to search jobs and present the job seekers to companies from their large network of employers. I have known Upwardly Global only for two months, but every workshop and personal communication I received has been getting me ever closer to realizing my dreams and even gave me the opportunity to network with a number of companies and organizations very relevant to my career line.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They have very high outcome of successful job seekers. They are expanding their resources continuously.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

They organize events and invite a lot of volunteers from all professions. Simply talking to the volunteers can give a lot of help for many job seekers.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

They have hard working and versatile staff who are always eager to assist and answer questions; who follow up relentlessly until they see achievements.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

It could actually not only make employer and employee to find each other easily but actually create projects/jobs run by it's own job seekers.

Should this review be counted for a specific campaign?

Tewodros Teketel (MD)

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers