Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.985
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I've volunteered with Until There's A Cure two years in a row at their annual Giants game selling raffle tickets and it's been a blast. Great cause, plus organized and friendly staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I first became aware of Until There's A Cure in the 90's because of their annual S.F. Giants game. Eventually I became very involved with the organization and enlisted many friends and family members as well. They are incredibly dedicated, knowledgeable, professional, and a terrific group with whom to work. And, of course, their cause and "function" (raising awareness and funds for AIDS research), is critical and very dear to me. I just can't imagine a more relevant and devoted team. Although, I must admit that I hope they go out of business someday because they've helped find the cure...but until then, go Until There's A Cure!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
June 16, 2011

I help out sometimes at Until There's A Cure (UTAC) and from the inside I can tell you that the thing I like best about UTAC is how lean they are. They give a huge portion of their donations and brace... more

October 16, 2012

I continue to be amazed at the reach of Until There's A Cure. For a small group, they have a huge impact. I wear my bracelets from them every day to remind me of why we keep up the fight.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 16, 2011

I help out sometimes at Until There's A Cure (UTAC) and from the inside I can tell you that the thing I like best about UTAC is how lean they are. They give a huge portion of their donations and bracelet proceeds to the cause of fighting HIV/AIDS. This organization is truly there to help, not to make a name for themselves. If you dig deep and really look at many of the big name charities, only a very small proportion of all donations actually goes to charity. The rest goes for their overhead, their marketing or their big legal teams. Not at Until There's A Cure.
The bracelets they sell are not only great looking, but each style tells a story. Many of them are made by HIV positive women in Africa and the funds go back to their villages to help them live and thrive with their disease and to help the children orphaned by the disease. This is a powerful motivator for me to help.
I hope you will too...Until There's A Cure

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

NA

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My volunteer experience has taught me a lot about the non-profit world and opened my eyes to the many ways I can contribute.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

More fulfilled than the fashion business I was in before. But that's not tough.

April 19, 2012

more

April 19, 2012

I have volunteered with Until repeatedly, and can attest to how much of a green impact they have. Not only do they show this through small gestures like working with the lights off in the daytime or reusing as much packaging as possible, but through the fundamentals of their cause as well.
HIV/AIDS has a major effect on poverty by depriving people of their health and ability to work. And in turn, poverty affects the environment because people must resort to less green-friendly customs, jobs, and the like, in order to support themselves. Here is where Until steps in and helps people affected by HIV/AIDS support their families so they do not have to resort to environmentally unfriendly actions.
Take for example, Until's red beaded AIDS pin, made by women in rural South Africa. These women who have been affected by HIV/AIDS receive compensation for crafting the pins and can then support their families. Then the proceeds as well go back to help more victims of HIV/AIDS through the Topsy Foundation.
I believe Until has a major effect on the environment, both through the small things they do, and the larger goals of the foundation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2012

more

April 15, 2012

I'm not only a volunteer at Until, I'm a passionate fan of their product. My favorite bracelet, and the one I wear every day, is the African Art bracelet, made from recycled PVC piping. In addition to the focus on sustainability, each bracelet is unique, hand carved and crafted by people in Namibia who are directly affected by HIV/AIDS. The money Until There's A Cure earns on the sale of these bracelets is returned to these villagers for care services, food and schooling for their children. Until prioritizes being green and through this joint project in Namibia, Until is spreading the message about the value of recycling.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2012

more

April 15, 2012

I've been volunteering with Until There's a Cure for almost a year now. I love working with the organization for many reasons, including the meaningful work that they do all over the world, and how much of an effort to be green they put forth.
After packaging tons of bracelets for them, I can
tell you with complete certainty that they make a huge effort to reuse packaging and be eco-friendly. Some of their bracelets show this as well, as many are made out of recycled materials. The Orphan Bracelet, for example, which is made in South Africa, is made using recycled rubber. This, and many of their other bracelets show their effort to be green in the manufacturing of the bracelet and it's packaging.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2012

more

April 13, 2012

Until There's A Cure Foundation - where do I even begin? I have been volunteering with this organization for over a year now, excited to play my part in America's developing nonprofit industrial complex. With the agility of the private sector and the purely altruistic motives of the government, Until There's A Cure foundation is improving many aspects of today's world - one sale of The Bracelet at a time.

In an effort to do our part to combat the rampant consumerism propegated by the western world, we at Until There's A Cure Foundation reuse discarded technology. While other companies and individuals are locked in an endless cycle of purchasing and discarding, we're fighting the trend and improving the world. As old computers are discarded, Until There's A Cure Foundation takes them in and give them a new chance at life in a [mostly] caring and gentle environment. This prevents the incomplete recycling of heavy metals and the need for additional rare earth minerals, improving the finances of by western companies struggling to compete in the rising prices caused by China's quotas on rare earth exports. This in turn leads to more jobs in the manufacuring of everything from hybrid cars to TVs - this helps combat the US's unemployment issues and the higher income levels increase the likelihood of charitable donations to other worthy causes.

By taking a leadership role and displaying the benefits of old technology, Until There's A Cure Foundation is slowly changing America for the better - reducing wasteful purchases and the economic costs of shipping and manufacture.

Also cutting back on the vicious cycle of consumerism is Until There's A Cure Foundation's core product - The Bracelet. These timeless masterpeices spread the message of love and caring to far flung regions of the globe - better yet, there are never "new versions" and once you're demonstratibly supporting the cause there's no reason to purchase more. Preventing ongoing purchases of bracelets and other wrist ornaments may seem small, but imagine the impact as this spreads to ever greater swaths of the general populace! Less and less products shipped, less emissions from shipping, less waste from packaging, and of course less harmful environmental damage from the manufacturing itself.

Better yet, these are nothing more than tangential benefits to the laser-focused efforts of Until There's A Cure Foundation. The profits accrued by offering The Bracelet as an option for responsible forward thinking people are turned right around and invested into aids vaccine development (which will dramatically improve the human condition once this horrible virus is finally eliminated), funding highly innovative programs that promote AIDS awareness, and financial support to be used for care and services for those unfortunate enough to be stricken with this deadly disease.

A portion of those saved or helped through our programs are statistically bound to be engineers working on climate related issues, so by proxy we are contributing to green research and science. Eventually this research will yield new innovations to reduce the carbon footprint of mankind, for which Until There's A Cure Foundation is proud to play a part.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 13, 2012

This year Until There's A Cure has been invited to participate at the New Living Expo held at the SF Expo Center. The event focuses on the tools necessary to enjoy a healthy, spiritually fulfilling, ... more

November 8, 2012

World Aids Day is less then a month away! The Timing is perfect to spread the word of this organizations cause. They are celebrating 20 years of spreading compassion, knowledge, funding, remembrance, and perseverance Until there's A Cure. HIV Aids has gone from being an invisible silent killer, to becoming more manageable, though developed expensive treatments, it remains a complex virus but progress is gaining way. Prevention education is the most economical means and using a tool is impactful. Give a gift, make a donation or purchase a bracelet to support this cause, remember those near and dear that have past and remind those to protect themselves today. The bracelet you buy could further impact an artisan living with HIV Aids and allows them to provide such simplicities in their communities as shelter, food, water, medication & education.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2012

This year Until There's A Cure has been invited to participate at the New Living Expo held at the SF Expo Center. The event focuses on the tools necessary to enjoy a healthy, spiritually fulfilling, environmentally sustainable and socially just lives. Volunteers will be selling Until's products that are hand made, some made from recycled material, keeping it out of landfill, and the ibean plant, which is grown in a recycled pot. Come visit us at the Expo April 27 - 29 and see first hand the commodore of being an Until volunteer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

UTAC truly supports sustainability - the real meaning behind being green - because it furthers social justice through many avenues. I love the FaceAIDS pins which are made by Rwandans, who then receive funds in return when they are sold - money they can use to support their families or their health. .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2011

more

June 21, 2011

I used to volunteer for this organization in middle school and I truly feel like my participation made a difference. Until There's A Cure is an incredible foundation that will certainly make a significant contribution in our fight to cure HIV. To all of you looking to get involved, this is the foundation for you!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

bringing awareness to the HIV epidemic.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give more money! Hire more people!

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers