Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.985
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
May 1, 2012

more

May 1, 2012

My Until There's A Cure shipment came in a Uline supply box; glad to see my work is not the only one that reuses any usable box it can find! Not only am I an advocate for this foundation because of the wonderful work they do for HIV/AIDS, but I'm even happier to support any business that uses the 3 R's: Reuses, Recycles, and Repurposes!

Did you know that they reinvest 90% of all proceeds back into the cause!? That's only 10% overhead! How awesome is it that they are smart enough to reuse, recycle, and repurpose - not only for the greater good of the environment - but also so that they can delegate more money to the fight against HIV/AIDS!? Until There's A Cure will ALWAYS have my business!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 29, 2012

more

April 29, 2012

My Review About; Until There is a Cure Foundation, USA

Before I commence with my review, let me say how much I admire the board, Management and staff of Until There is a Cure Foundation, USA and how honored I feel to be sharing my review about an organization which is making a huge
difference in the lives of many families in our community.

When I was surfing on the internet, I came across a web page, www.until.org. I was inspired by it and I decided to initiate contact with the organization. I applied for a grant which after a couple of month, It was approved/ /awarded.

They say that childhood is the best time for everyone in their life. But not so many children in our community can say that today. My organization which is called Kiyita Family Alliance for Development (KIFAD) works towards contributing to increased access to comprehensive HIV/AIDS treatment, home based care and support to People Living with HIV/AIDS (PLWHA), Orphans and other Vulnerable Children (OVCs) in Wakiso District.

We concentrate mainly on increasing care and support to people infected and affected by HIV / AIDS in order to mitigate the effects of the epidemic. Besides that we aim at strengthening the coping of People living with HIV/AIDS (PLWHA), Orphans and other vulnerable children families to progressively become self reliant for economical sustainability of their families, building the internal capacity of KIFAD for effective and sustainable programme design and implementation and finally, improving access to food among families / households, infected and affected by HIV / AIDS, as far as our financial means allows us to.
Through a grant of $4000 KIFAD got from Until There is a Cure Foundation; it made a huge difference in the lives of many community members in our community. Over 800 people were tested for HIV and got to know their HIV Sero status. During the same time, 60 pregnant women were referred to HIV treatment, care and support centre’s. Through this arrangement, 59 HIV Positive women gave birth to HIV Negative babies through a program called Prevention of Mother to Child Transmission (PMTCT) of HIV. This program is about supporting pregnant women living with HIV/AIDS to give birth to HIV Negative babies. If it was not for the support from Until there is a cure foundation, all those babies could have been HIV Positive.
As I am writing this review now, these children are now over five years of age good enough all these children are HIV Negative. Until recently, a reasonable number of the same women are still benefiting from the support KIFAD got from Until there is a Cure Foundation. This is through the production and sale of Red paper bracelets to UTAC from which they are earning some income to make their families happy and their children access to education.
The project for which Until there is a cure foundation donated funds to was for supporting people living with HIV/AIDS families and children who have lost their parents to AIDS, infected by HI/AIDS. If it was not for this great support, these children could have learnt to cry before knowing laughter, to work without knowing to rest, and would have continued to do so unless organizations like UTAC intervenes. They would suffer and live in inhuman conditions, because if they don’t, they would die, at the same time knowing in their hearts that if they continue to live, they will die anyway.
There are millions of children in our community today living in such situations, involved in child labour, and as we try as we can, we cannot support all of them. Our Endeavour has been to raise funds from people and organizations of good will like until there is a cure and to use that money to educate, feed, support access to healthcare and bring some laughter and sunshine into these people's darkened and hopeless lives.
The donations of funds we received from UTAC were for providing care and support to people living with HIV/AIDS in our community. It specifically made many children alive and have learn not only how to write their names, but also to read Until there is a cure foundation updates from its web page and share its victories as if they were their own. It built on earth castles that were in air.
I feel UTAC is an organization which is worth praising for the great work they are doing to make a difference in the lives of people in the different communities.
Thank you very much for all the support.

Bongole Richard Bob
Programme Manager
KIFAD.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

April 19, 2012

more

April 19, 2012

I have volunteered with Until repeatedly, and can attest to how much of a green impact they have. Not only do they show this through small gestures like working with the lights off in the daytime or reusing as much packaging as possible, but through the fundamentals of their cause as well.
HIV/AIDS has a major effect on poverty by depriving people of their health and ability to work. And in turn, poverty affects the environment because people must resort to less green-friendly customs, jobs, and the like, in order to support themselves. Here is where Until steps in and helps people affected by HIV/AIDS support their families so they do not have to resort to environmentally unfriendly actions.
Take for example, Until's red beaded AIDS pin, made by women in rural South Africa. These women who have been affected by HIV/AIDS receive compensation for crafting the pins and can then support their families. Then the proceeds as well go back to help more victims of HIV/AIDS through the Topsy Foundation.
I believe Until has a major effect on the environment, both through the small things they do, and the larger goals of the foundation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2012

more

April 15, 2012

I'm not only a volunteer at Until, I'm a passionate fan of their product. My favorite bracelet, and the one I wear every day, is the African Art bracelet, made from recycled PVC piping. In addition to the focus on sustainability, each bracelet is unique, hand carved and crafted by people in Namibia who are directly affected by HIV/AIDS. The money Until There's A Cure earns on the sale of these bracelets is returned to these villagers for care services, food and schooling for their children. Until prioritizes being green and through this joint project in Namibia, Until is spreading the message about the value of recycling.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2012

more

April 15, 2012

I've been volunteering with Until There's a Cure for almost a year now. I love working with the organization for many reasons, including the meaningful work that they do all over the world, and how much of an effort to be green they put forth.
After packaging tons of bracelets for them, I can
tell you with complete certainty that they make a huge effort to reuse packaging and be eco-friendly. Some of their bracelets show this as well, as many are made out of recycled materials. The Orphan Bracelet, for example, which is made in South Africa, is made using recycled rubber. This, and many of their other bracelets show their effort to be green in the manufacturing of the bracelet and it's packaging.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2012

more

April 13, 2012

Until There's A Cure Foundation - where do I even begin? I have been volunteering with this organization for over a year now, excited to play my part in America's developing nonprofit industrial complex. With the agility of the private sector and the purely altruistic motives of the government, Until There's A Cure foundation is improving many aspects of today's world - one sale of The Bracelet at a time.

In an effort to do our part to combat the rampant consumerism propegated by the western world, we at Until There's A Cure Foundation reuse discarded technology. While other companies and individuals are locked in an endless cycle of purchasing and discarding, we're fighting the trend and improving the world. As old computers are discarded, Until There's A Cure Foundation takes them in and give them a new chance at life in a [mostly] caring and gentle environment. This prevents the incomplete recycling of heavy metals and the need for additional rare earth minerals, improving the finances of by western companies struggling to compete in the rising prices caused by China's quotas on rare earth exports. This in turn leads to more jobs in the manufacuring of everything from hybrid cars to TVs - this helps combat the US's unemployment issues and the higher income levels increase the likelihood of charitable donations to other worthy causes.

By taking a leadership role and displaying the benefits of old technology, Until There's A Cure Foundation is slowly changing America for the better - reducing wasteful purchases and the economic costs of shipping and manufacture.

Also cutting back on the vicious cycle of consumerism is Until There's A Cure Foundation's core product - The Bracelet. These timeless masterpeices spread the message of love and caring to far flung regions of the globe - better yet, there are never "new versions" and once you're demonstratibly supporting the cause there's no reason to purchase more. Preventing ongoing purchases of bracelets and other wrist ornaments may seem small, but imagine the impact as this spreads to ever greater swaths of the general populace! Less and less products shipped, less emissions from shipping, less waste from packaging, and of course less harmful environmental damage from the manufacturing itself.

Better yet, these are nothing more than tangential benefits to the laser-focused efforts of Until There's A Cure Foundation. The profits accrued by offering The Bracelet as an option for responsible forward thinking people are turned right around and invested into aids vaccine development (which will dramatically improve the human condition once this horrible virus is finally eliminated), funding highly innovative programs that promote AIDS awareness, and financial support to be used for care and services for those unfortunate enough to be stricken with this deadly disease.

A portion of those saved or helped through our programs are statistically bound to be engineers working on climate related issues, so by proxy we are contributing to green research and science. Eventually this research will yield new innovations to reduce the carbon footprint of mankind, for which Until There's A Cure Foundation is proud to play a part.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

UTAC truly supports sustainability - the real meaning behind being green - because it furthers social justice through many avenues. I love the FaceAIDS pins which are made by Rwandans, who then receive funds in return when they are sold - money they can use to support their families or their health. .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

One of the things that I really appreciate about this organization is their dedication to finding and selling more and more fair-trade products. I especially love their Bronze Bracelet - not only is it a beautiful piece of work but they are made out of recycled bronze piping! Way to reuse and recycle! On top of that, I truly love that my purchase means that I am directly supporting the artists themselves so that they can better their lives and their families', but also a portion of the proceeds will benefit their HIV/AIDS impacted community. I very much appreciate UNTIL's efforts in supporting these artisans, their concern for the environment and all they do for those impacted by HIV/AIDS worldwide.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2011

more

June 21, 2011

I used to volunteer for this organization in middle school and I truly feel like my participation made a difference. Until There's A Cure is an incredible foundation that will certainly make a significant contribution in our fight to cure HIV. To all of you looking to get involved, this is the foundation for you!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

bringing awareness to the HIV epidemic.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give more money! Hire more people!

June 17, 2011

more

June 17, 2011

I have seen first hand the generosity of Until There's A Cure
Until There's A Cure has given to so many organizations in the USA
Without an organization such as UTAC, many smaller organizations would have to close

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping others with advice, grant money and supportive listening

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that retailers around the global would give UTAC a chance to sell their bracelets

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers