Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
117 Reviews
1234.905985
Write A Review
June 17, 2014

more

June 17, 2014

As someone interested in learning different ways companies promote social responsibility, UniversalGiving™ was an obvious choice for an internship. Even with this positive outlook, my expectations were far exceeded! At UniversalGiving every team member is given an important role to play and a lot of independence. You can tell everyone is very passionate about what they're doing, so it's a great place to learn and build relationships.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 17, 2014

more

June 17, 2014

Who hires college freshmen as interns? Not many. Why? Because companies don't want to dedicate precious time to train fresh faces and then bid farewell to them after three months. It's a cost to them.

Not to UniversalGiving™, though.

UniversalGiving™ tweeted me back one day
(yes, Twitter was a crucial element of acquiring my internship - social media conscious, right?), letting me know that they were "age agnostic" when hiring. Happy days! Resume, cover letter and writing samples were sent, phone interview was completed, outfit was pressed and ironed, and a long list of to-do's presented to me already on my first day. I loved it! UG really treats you like a staff member and not an intern.

As a marketing intern, I was responsible for operating UG's social media, newsletters, the CEO's blog, video editing, creating Excel tracking systems, Salesforce, customer service, and of course, outreaching and working with the press. But it doesn't stop there. After my second week, I was made a marketing coach and was put on the spot, training another new intern. UG therefore possesses somewhat of a start-up culture with its fast paced work days and cross-functional team. You will overlap, you will impact the company, and if asked, you will get to work on areas of your interest.

One of my favorite parts of my internship was the intern support. Almost 2/3 of the staff are interns. I mean it is a nonprofit after all (=unpaid, but worth it of course). I worked with people of different ages, backgrounds, states and countries, which was refreshing for a third culture kid, like me. But it's up to you to create that intern culture. Definitely push to gather the crowd and go to after-work events, festivals, meals. In that way, I learned both inside and outside the office. The space we worked in was also fantastic (look up "The Hub- Bay Area" ... *spoiler alert* lots of free food!!!!).

The CEO, Pamela Hawley, was also a highlight of my internship. You will never meet anyone else like her. She does not sit when she works (she has a standing desk). She comes in almost every day and works in the same room as everyone else. She will ask you about your day, your interests and aspirations. She talks pretty fast. And she's an improv actor! Pamela is certainly a character, a memorable one in the best way possible. It's admirable to work with such a high-level, high-spirited, strong woman - she definitely livens up the room. If there's one quote that I'll remember long-term, it's her quoting her grandmother (her "Oma"): "There is nothing difficult, only new." Tantalizingly true, no? And a monumental representation of her success in creating UniversalGiving.

Overall, UG is a wonderful place to work for those interested in the nonprofit sector, the start-up life, and the beauty of San Francisco (minus the occasional pee smell).

I learned a lot, improved my current skills, and became more confident in my own abilities through UniversalGiving. I love the people and I love their message (100% donations go straight to the charities!!!). It's a great place to be.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make orientation more practical-based, change the outreach system to pair marketing interns together rather than assign each intern her own direction, invest in better video equipment, assign more long term projects.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 17, 2014

more

June 17, 2014

I joined UniversalGiving because I wanted to find an organization that is truly dedicated to helping the community and gives 100% of what they receive back. This organization has such a friendly and open workspace that encourages creativity and independence.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 16, 2014

more

June 16, 2014

After hearing Pamela at a university event, my thoughts on UniversalGiving's values and goals are nothing but positive! UG does a great job of allowing people of all ages to find volunteer opportunities that best match them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

Universal Giving is a non-profit that radiates positive energy in truly making the world a better place. I am greatly looking forward to spending my time here as an intern this summer and learning every day. I am inspired by Universal Giving's beliefs, that philanthropy is more than giving money to someone with financial troubles, and in its diligent and astute review of organizations to collaborate with. The everyday environment is motivational, and the people on the UG team are hard-working and absolutely excellent.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

I first became interested in interning for UniversalGiving after meeting Pamela Hawley at a school function. It was really inspiring seeing how hard she had worked and how much she had done to help people all over the world. I often struggle to find the perfect cause to donate to or volunteer for and UniversalGiving solves that problem perfectly.

Observing UniversalGiving's large impact on global issues, I wanted to discover what it takes for a CEO like Pamela to inspire a large team, deal with obstacles and successfully run an organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 5, 2014

more

June 5, 2014

Today was my first day working as an Intern at UniversalGiving and I cannot describe how inspiring it is to work in an environment with such a motivated and collaborative team. Within the first 10 minutes of stepping into the office, I was listening to the CEO of UG (Pamela) deliver an in-depth presentation to the rest of the UG staff (interns included) on our strategies and goals for the upcoming months, as well as explaining some key concepts of the logistics of our nonprofit model.

I was initially drawn to UG because I wanted to work with an organization that makes a global impact. UG has been repeatedly recognized as being an impactful nonprofit, not only for streamlining donations and volunteer opportunities within the public sector, but also for improving Global Corporate Social Responsibility. Additionally, 100% of public donations go directly to UG vetted charities, which made me even more certain that UG was the nonprofit for me.

However, one thing that caught me by surprise was how inclusive and driven the woking environment is. I was incredibly impressed to learn that the entire team was regularly updated regrading the various projects that individual members are undertaking, as well as the fast-paced work environment and how driven everyone is. You can feel that everyone here believes in the goals of this organization and is actively working to accomplish those goals and strive to grow in the future.

I'm ecstatic to begin my work with such an incredible organization and such an amazing team. I know that this is an incredible opportunity for me to see behind the scenes of a truly impactful nonprofit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 27, 2014

more

May 27, 2014

Having had the opportunity to work with various NGOs internationally, I've come to share UniversalGiving's realization that private-public partnerships possess incredible potential to catalyze change. Although corporations possess the ability to place items on the global agenda, companies still lack trusting relationships within beneficiary communities to generate results. As a new member of the dedicated UniversalGiving Corporate team, I sincerely believe that as we bridge this gap we are reaching more people in need of a second chance worldwide.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 27, 2014

more

May 27, 2014

I am a 24-year-old recent college graduate and I applied for and was offered an internship with Universal Giving. It is a very exciting opportunity to work alongside intelligent, passionate people in downtown San Francisco. It is an amazing work space where everyone is supportive and are constantly generating new ideas and projects. Anyone that wants to gain some insight into the world of nonprofit organizations could not choose a better environment than Universal Giving.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 27, 2014

more

May 27, 2014

I am so excited to be interning with UniversalGiving this summer. The organization is well-organized and allows anyone involved to make a real impact on the world around them. I know that I will be challenged to meet my goals and I am inspired by the passion for the cause that I see all around me. I look forward to learning more about this amazing organization and being able to further UniversalGiving's vision of a world filled with goodwill and kindness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers