Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
114 Reviews
1234.903515
| 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

I have been associated with UniversalGiving for the past 6 months and I absolutely love it. I like UG for their complete uniqueness of giving away 100% of the donations directly to the cause, for their efficient business model and business does not sound like business with UG’s Corporate Social Responsibility programs when we are working towards building a positive community around us. I am working with CEO Pamela Hawley and her team since I started my internship; they are so helpful, friendly and are always looking out for each other. Everyone in her team is very well organized, efficient and passionate about their work. I have acquired lot of skills and would like to take this opportunity to thank her for giving me a chance to show what I am and also for the opportunity to serve the world through online platform.
It has been truly amazing experience and take I pride to be a part of this glorious organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

I am very excited to start my work with UniversalGiving. I am glad I have found a place where I can both learn valuable professional knowledge from leaders in the social impact community and make a positive impact in the world. I am excited to see how our efforts will continue to push the boundaries of social impact and encourage people to help others in need!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 3, 2014

more

July 3, 2014

I joined UniversalGiving because I wanted to help out in the world and gain professional experience. I am extremely impressed by the business model that allows UniversalGiving to turn over 100% of the donations to the causes that need them. The team is organized and efficient, but also incredibly friendly and helpful. The office environment is conductive to both working alone and collaborative efforts. I am excited to be working here this summer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

I joined UniversalGiving because I want to work on something meaningful and I want to be a part of a non profit organization.
I find that the organizational model of UniversalGiving is unique. They did nice work helping people to donate!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

I am excited to start my volunteering with UniversalGiving because I can gain professional world experience and at the same time, contribute to a good cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 24, 2014

more

June 24, 2014

After my first day at UniversalGiving, I can already tell that this organization is special. Overflowing with dedicated and hard working men and woman, UniversalGiving is truly a place that efficiently finds ways to promote social activism. I am truly honored to have to opportunity to work here and I know I am going to learn so much.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 17, 2014

more

June 17, 2014

In joining UniversalGiving, I sought to gain experience in the professional world to enhance my career. I haven't been here for long, but I can safely state that UniversalGiving is a wonderful company to be apart of. Right as i entered the double glass doors, I was immersed in an atmosphere of knowledge and expertise. From day one, the staff has been outstanding and caring when it comes to their work and their volunteers. Although i have no prior experience of having a formal job or internship, the staff has assisted me in all possible ways to help maximize my efforts and I look forward to the outstanding experience and connections I will gain.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 17, 2014

more

June 17, 2014

As someone interested in learning different ways companies promote social responsibility, UniversalGiving™ was an obvious choice for an internship. Even with this positive outlook, my expectations were far exceeded! At UniversalGiving every team member is given an important role to play and a lot of independence. You can tell everyone is very passionate about what they're doing, so it's a great place to learn and build relationships.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 17, 2014

more

June 17, 2014

Who hires college freshmen as interns? Not many. Why? Because companies don't want to dedicate precious time to train fresh faces and then bid farewell to them after three months. It's a cost to them.

Not to UniversalGiving™, though.

UniversalGiving™ tweeted me back one day
(yes, Twitter was a crucial element of acquiring my internship - social media conscious, right?), letting me know that they were "age agnostic" when hiring. Happy days! Resume, cover letter and writing samples were sent, phone interview was completed, outfit was pressed and ironed, and a long list of to-do's presented to me already on my first day. I loved it! UG really treats you like a staff member and not an intern.

As a marketing intern, I was responsible for operating UG's social media, newsletters, the CEO's blog, video editing, creating Excel tracking systems, Salesforce, customer service, and of course, outreaching and working with the press. But it doesn't stop there. After my second week, I was made a marketing coach and was put on the spot, training another new intern. UG therefore possesses somewhat of a start-up culture with its fast paced work days and cross-functional team. You will overlap, you will impact the company, and if asked, you will get to work on areas of your interest.

One of my favorite parts of my internship was the intern support. Almost 2/3 of the staff are interns. I mean it is a nonprofit after all (=unpaid, but worth it of course). I worked with people of different ages, backgrounds, states and countries, which was refreshing for a third culture kid, like me. But it's up to you to create that intern culture. Definitely push to gather the crowd and go to after-work events, festivals, meals. In that way, I learned both inside and outside the office. The space we worked in was also fantastic (look up "The Hub- Bay Area" ... *spoiler alert* lots of free food!!!!).

The CEO, Pamela Hawley, was also a highlight of my internship. You will never meet anyone else like her. She does not sit when she works (she has a standing desk). She comes in almost every day and works in the same room as everyone else. She will ask you about your day, your interests and aspirations. She talks pretty fast. And she's an improv actor! Pamela is certainly a character, a memorable one in the best way possible. It's admirable to work with such a high-level, high-spirited, strong woman - she definitely livens up the room. If there's one quote that I'll remember long-term, it's her quoting her grandmother (her "Oma"): "There is nothing difficult, only new." Tantalizingly true, no? And a monumental representation of her success in creating UniversalGiving.

Overall, UG is a wonderful place to work for those interested in the nonprofit sector, the start-up life, and the beauty of San Francisco (minus the occasional pee smell).

I learned a lot, improved my current skills, and became more confident in my own abilities through UniversalGiving. I love the people and I love their message (100% donations go straight to the charities!!!). It's a great place to be.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make orientation more practical-based, change the outreach system to pair marketing interns together rather than assign each intern her own direction, invest in better video equipment, assign more long term projects.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 17, 2014

more

June 17, 2014

I joined UniversalGiving because I wanted to find an organization that is truly dedicated to helping the community and gives 100% of what they receive back. This organization has such a friendly and open workspace that encourages creativity and independence.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers