Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
117 Reviews
1234.905985
Write A Review
April 28, 2014

more

April 28, 2014

After searching for volunteer opportunities at global nonprofits in the Bay Area, I came across UniversalGiving. I was attracted to UG because of its mission and vision as well as the vast number of internships available in various business units. The organization recruits volunteers on a rolling basis, so I was able to begin volunteering shortly after applying.

If you are looking for a steep learning curve with the opportunity to work with the management team and take on leadership roles, I highly recommend the Internships and Returnships at this organization. It's obvious that CEO and Founder, Pamela, is very passionate about UG's cause, and this is reflected in the organizational culture. While small, UniversalGiving attracts a diverse groups of committed volunteers, and it's been an honor to work with people with different backgrounds, skills, and talents.
April 25, 2014

more

April 25, 2014

Six months ago, I started working at UniversalGiving as an NGO Services Intern with very little job skills. And today I will be leaving with a wealth of knowledge, not only about NGOs but also about CSR and Social Media. CEO Pamela Hawley likes to personally mentor all interns and returnees. She will develop your talents and put you in charge of high-level projects. I consider my time here to be an invaluable experience.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 1, 2014

more

April 1, 2014

Today, I'll be starting a three month software development-based internship at UniversalGiving™. UniversalGiving has a renowned status as a non-profit, their regular and corporate CSR services being invaluable for many. I was drawn in by its open, multi-cultural working environment, as well as its dedication to improving the lives of others. In the coming months, I expect to improve my software development and professional skills, and hope to have an increased insight into the world of non-profits.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have it find and promote long term (e.g. over a year) volunteer opportunities for NGOs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

What really stood out to me about UniversalGiving is their strong initiative to really make a change in this world. Through their website they provide information for people who want to volunteer and help with this cause, but don't know how. They even have many gift packages for donators to choose from, so they can see where their gift is going and what the benefit of their donation is. This provides an excellent form of awareness, as well as important information to those looking to do a little more for the world. I began my journey with UniversalGiving as a way to help their cause and to grow as an individual.

I recommend this organization for they are truly there to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 10, 2014

more

February 10, 2014

What led me to volunteer with UniversalGiving was their model and vision. Volunteering has played an important role in my personal life and career development, and I appreciate the work they do to vet volunteer/donation opportunities. I think there needs to be more transparency in nonprofit organizations and UG is helping make that possible. It's great to know that your money or time is going to a worthy cause that has a proven track record. I'm so glad to be a part of an organization that is doing much needed work in a growing field.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 10, 2014

more

February 10, 2014

What drew me to UniversalGiving was their mission to connect volunteers and donors with opportunities worldwide. Unlike many organizations 100% of your donation goes towards the cause of your choice. I also think that it’s great that all of the volunteer opportunities are vetted so you know you are giving to something meaningful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 12, 2013

more

December 12, 2013

What first caught my attention is UniversalGiving's vision to make giving and volunteering a natural part of everyday life. There is so much effort put in by a group of people to help others make the world a better place in different ways; and this includes Social Transaction which is a unique way of contributing while shopping online without additional cost to consumers. As they say, smalls steps can lead to big differences. What I also like about the organization is that 100% of the donation goes directly to the cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2013

more

December 10, 2013

What interested me about Universal Giving is the efficiency of it's business model: a sort of hybrid organization that helps bridge the gap between companies and NGO's to positively impact local and international communities in need. I also value that 100% of the donations goes directly to the specified program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2013

more

December 9, 2013

What drew me to UniversalGiving is their mission to connect people to quality giving and volunteer opportunities worldwide, and its vision to create a world where giving and volunteering are a natural part of everyday life. Our world is plague with problems, but I believe we can solve one problem at a time if we all give a little bit of our time to tackle problems in our communities and around the world. UniversalGiving makes easy to volunteer or support organizations and 100% of each donation goes directly to the cause, ensuring that your donations goes directly to those that need it most instead of going into administration or fundraising costs as it happens in other nonprofit organizations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2013

more

November 13, 2013

UniversalGiving is an online platform for people who want to give back, but are unsure how. By vetting organizations and volunteer opportunities around the world, UniversalGiving promote causes that are easily accessible and highly effective.

I came across UniversalGiving after expressing
an interest in having their CEO Pamela Hawley speak at a community event in Oakland. Pamela's warm personality and enthusiasm encouraged me to reach out and see how I could help further UG's mission around the world. The office environment was incredibly welcoming and effective in stretching their limited resources as far as possible.

I would highly recommend donating and volunteering at UniversalGiving.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers