Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
123.1428645
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I looked at the USOC financial report for the year ending 12/31/11, the latest I found. Fundraising amounted to $41,292,000. This was reduced by $4,804,000 for "Direct Donor Benefits", whatever that may be. So the net contributions were $36,488,000. The Fundraising Expense was listed as $19,191,000. This is 46.4% of the Fundraising number, or 52.5% of the Fundraising number less direct donor benefits. Even if you assume none of the $22,386,000 listed for Sales, Marketing and General Administrative actually went to fundraising in some way, seeing about half of each contributed dollar go to funraising seems excessive. There must be a better way to support the athletes instead of what seems to be fundraising for the fundraisers.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

We are so proud to have the US Olympic Committee as a key player in our community in Colorado Springs. The USOC brings a positive presence to our city. It is quite inspiring to tour the Olympic training center here in town and see the nation's beloved athletes working together towards fulfilling their dreams and somehow bringing us all along for the ride. It seems unbelievable that this organization and the athletes are not funded by government and knowing that fact makes the organization that much more honorable.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 8, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

exec comp is very high...admin expenses very high...no money from me

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

havent

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

reduce your admin and exec comp

August 4, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
August 4, 2011

Mr. Shearer, I suggest, rather than lashing out at old information, you take the time to review the organization's latest data as well as the recent news stories about the reduction in salaries improved financial situations.

I think it also important to remember that this organization is
responsible for helping to prep, train and organize a multitude of athletes representing their individual sports and America. That type of work can not be done in a vacuum and requires dedicated professionals who certainly can not be asked to provide their services for free.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've experienced the results of this organization through the pride I feel watching US athletes compete and win during the Olympics.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Further tell the stories of the athletes and the work and money it takes to get ready for these international events.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers