Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12.79167345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 16, 2014

more

August 16, 2014

Like every charity, this one has high paid employees that take money off the donations. The solution to these pitiful children stories is - STOP HAVING BABIES!!!!! MONEY JUST MAKES MORE BABIES AND PROBLEMS. AND NO, IT IS NOT ANYONE'S RIGHT TO HAVE BABIES THEY CANNOT TAKE CARE OF.

NO
DONATIONS FROM ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make the administrators DONATE their time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The payment to the CEO might seem excessive to many of us, but the CEO'S of many major charities are paid a lot more. Look at the American Red Cross for example. The important number is how much is given out in aid, and 90.2 is a very good score.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

While I like the work that UNICEF does, the organization could do a lot more if they didn't have to pay the CEO over $400,000 a year. For that reason, I would never consider a donation to UNICEF until their payroll comes down.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

January 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I also cannot support a charity (?) where the CEO earns more than the President of the US. Job more difficult? The argument that the CEOs of corporations make substantially more doesn't wash. They are for-profit organizations attempting (in theory) to earn more for their shareholders.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I too am writing to share my experiences with UNICEF with regard to international adoption. UNICEF has not responded to my personal e-mails so I decided to give my opinion here. We were made aware of a $5million payment to the government of the Southern nations and people groups state in Ethiopia. Since that time, orphanages have been closed without basis (per Ethiopian investigation), children have been relocated, children who were in process to be adopted were moved and hidden from agencies and two children were even kidnapped by southern officials. These officials are now arrested. As far as I have been able to find out, families were offered payment to take their children out of orphanages. Don't get me wrong, family preservation is the ultimate goal in this situation, but this is the WRONG way to do it. Shame on UNICEF. They seem to have lost their way over the past few decades. In reply to the review that says that UNICEF's policy toward international adoption is "sound" I have to say that it is not. Do not be fooled, this is a political organization that does some good work, but the politics come first, in this case at the expense of children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

UNICEF sponsored an ad showing a palestinain AXE cutting through the State of Israel.

You can see this add here:

http://israelmatzav.blogspot.com/2010/03/unicef-sponsored-ad-calls-for.html

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have experienced the hate expressed by the jihadists supported by UNICEF's endorsement of that advertisement

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would stop working with jihadists. Sooner or later they will turn on you.

March 6, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 6, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Please educate yourself on all of UNICEF's policies before donating. They are fighting international adoption in many countries and their black and white approach that children should remain in their country of origin deprives many children of permanent families.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This organization has helped keep my daughter from coming home for over three years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see UNICEF rethink its stance toward international adoption, especially in countries where domestic adoption is so rare that international adoption is a child's only way out of living in an institution.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers