Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12.79167345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
December 6, 2012
16 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 6, 2012
16 people found this review helpful

CONTRIBUTIONS:
As you open your pockets to do a good thing and make yourself feel good, please keep the following facts in mind:
----------------------------
The American Red Cross
President and CEO Marsha J. Evans'
salary for the year was $651,957 plus
expenses
MARCH OF DIMES
It is now called the March of Dimes because
only a dime for every 1 dollar is given to the needy .
The United Way
President Brian Gallagher
receives a $375,000 base salary along with numerous expense benefits.
UNICEF
CEO Caryl M. Stern receives
$1,200,000 per year (100k permonth) plus all expenses including a ROLLS ROYCE.
Less than 5 cents of your donated dollar goes to the cause.
GOODWILL
CEO and owner Mark Curran profits $2.3 million a year .
Goodwill is a very catchy name for his business.
You donate to his business and then he sells the items for PROFIT.
He pays nothing for his products and pays his workers minimum wage! Nice Guy.
$0.00 goes to help anyone!
Stop giving to this man.
Instead, give it to ANY OF THE FOLLOWING
GO "GREEN" AND PUT YOUR MONEY WHERE IT WILL DO SOME GOOD :
The Salvation Army
Commissioner, Todd Bassett receives a small salary of only
$13,000 per year (plus housing) for managing this $2 billion dollar organization.
96 percent of donated dollars go to the cause.
The American Legion
National Commander receives a $0.00 zero salary.
Your donations go to help Veterans and their families and youth!
The Veterans of Foreign Wars
National Commander receives a $0.00 zero salary.
Your donations go to help Veterans and their families and youth!
The Disabled American Veterans
National Commander receives a $0.00 zero salary.
Your donations go to help Veterans and their families and youth!
The Military Order of Purple Hearts
National Commander receives a $0.00 zero salary.
Your donations go to help Veterans and their families and youth!
The Vietnam Veterans Association
National Commander receives a $0.00 zero salary.
Your donations go to help Veterans and their families and youth!
Make a Wish: For children's last wishes.
100% goes to funding trips or special wishes for a dying child.
St. Jude Research Hospital
100% goes towards funding and helping Children with Cancer who have no insurance and can
not afford to pay .
Ronald McDonald Houses
All monies go to running the houses for parents who have critical Children in the hospital.
100% goes to housing, and feeding the families.
Lions Club International
100% OF DONATIONS GO TO HELP THE BLIND,BUY HEARING AIDES, SUPPORT MEDICAL MISSIONS AROUND THE WORLD. THEIR LATEST UNDERTAKING
IS MEASLES VACCINATIONS (ONLY $1.00 PER SHOT).

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

i am shocked that the CEO makes more than $500k. This means people have to donate a lot to support the other high salaried top management like CEO, COO, CIO, CFO, EXEC VP'S, VP'S, and directors besides the rest of the company before any money goes to the needy. Let's say for the 10 top executives: $400k each is $4million dollars. Same idea like the IRS, how many months you have to work to pay IRS before your salary actually is for you. So how much of people need to donor before the money actually goes to the needy after paying of all the people in the company. I guess my $500 that I saved very hard for donation went to their expense account!!!! I really want my money to make a difference with the needy and NOT make a difference in the top manager's life!!!!!! And this is a Non-Profit!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

Its a Charity whereby the resources they produce are very informative and educative to the recipients.Volunteers are given opportunity to volunteer at their convinient field of work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The payment to the CEO might seem excessive to many of us, but the CEO'S of many major charities are paid a lot more. Look at the American Red Cross for example. The important number is how much is given out in aid, and 90.2 is a very good score.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

J David, So glad you wrote your comment saying negative comments were lies. needed to know. was upset.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 4, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

April 4, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I can't stand seeing this vitriol repeated. The age old story of Caryl Stern (or, in other tellings, UNICEF executive director Tony Lake, or before him Ann Veneman) making "$1.9M a year" and driving an expensed Rolls Royce is as untrue as it is absurd. Moreover, the US Fund for UNICEF consistently ranks as one of the most efficient non profits in its field, with overhead of less than 6%. Over .90 on the dollar goes to programs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 2, 2012

more

April 2, 2012

UNICEF CEO Caryl M. Stern receives $1,900,000 per year (158K) per month, plus all expenses including a ROLLS ROYCE. Less than 5 cents (4.4 cents) per donated dollar goes to the cause. To me that is a serious WTF! How can she sleep at night?

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Finance

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Cap salaries and benefits

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Stop paying outrageous salaries to executives and lead by example.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes. Unfortunately I realized that this is not a transparent organization.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

S-h- - i-t -t-y and unable to voice my opinion.

January 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

While I like the work that UNICEF does, the organization could do a lot more if they didn't have to pay the CEO over $400,000 a year. For that reason, I would never consider a donation to UNICEF until their payroll comes down.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

January 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I also cannot support a charity (?) where the CEO earns more than the President of the US. Job more difficult? The argument that the CEOs of corporations make substantially more doesn't wash. They are for-profit organizations attempting (in theory) to earn more for their shareholders.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I too am writing to share my experiences with UNICEF with regard to international adoption. UNICEF has not responded to my personal e-mails so I decided to give my opinion here. We were made aware of a $5million payment to the government of the Southern nations and people groups state in Ethiopia. Since that time, orphanages have been closed without basis (per Ethiopian investigation), children have been relocated, children who were in process to be adopted were moved and hidden from agencies and two children were even kidnapped by southern officials. These officials are now arrested. As far as I have been able to find out, families were offered payment to take their children out of orphanages. Don't get me wrong, family preservation is the ultimate goal in this situation, but this is the WRONG way to do it. Shame on UNICEF. They seem to have lost their way over the past few decades. In reply to the review that says that UNICEF's policy toward international adoption is "sound" I have to say that it is not. Do not be fooled, this is a political organization that does some good work, but the politics come first, in this case at the expense of children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers