Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 17, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 17, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

While I was working in Nairobi, Kenya, I was introduced to the David Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage located at the edge of the Nairobi National Wildlife Park. I visited and fell in love with the baby elephants, the staff, and the mission to save these beautiful creatures from extinction. I have been a proud sponsor of several orphans in the last 17 years and admire the passion, perseverance, and care given to the elephants, rhinos, and other orphans that come their way. They are doing an amazing job in fighting the poaching that is prevalent but need many more hands, many more eyes, much more equipment to truly make a dent in the horrible and useless deaths. I urge everyone to support the work and to visit them in Kenya to see them first hand.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their resources so they could publicize the work more and have a greater impact on the government and the society there.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 5, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have visited each of the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust elephant rehabilitation sites and couldn't be more impressed. The gentlemen "Keepers" who care for the elephants truly love and respect them. Everything Dame Daphne does is for the benefit of the animals. US Friends is the first organization which actually allowed and encouraged me to use my talents to assist them, and makes me feel just as important to their efforts as a major donor. When I first returned from visiting the nursery on a vacation, I sent a box of school supplies to US Friends of the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust. The President of the organization was going to a meeting and took my box along with him to save the postage costs. Later, I received a personal letter of thanks from Dame Daphne herself.

The Keepers keep in touch via email when you want to know about a specific elephant in their care, or simply find out how their children are doing in school. Many of these young men live far away from their families for long periods of time while they care for the elehants. I cannot recommend this charity strongly enough. I consider these kind people my friends and will continue to help in every way possible throughout my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 19, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 19, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I foster an orphan elephant at the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust in Nairobi, Kenya and visited in August, 2012. The elephants are so lovingly cared for by all the keepers, staff and volunteers. The baby elephants often arrive traumatized after witnessing the poaching and brutal, senseless killing of their mothers. Thankfully, this wonderful organization saves them. I receive a monthly update of my foster elephant, Kenia. I receive detailed information and pictures of Kenia and all her friends. She's thriving and it's due to the hard work, love and dedication of all the people involved. You can trust the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust to carry out its mission honestly and with total integrity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

There is an elephant holocaust going on in Africa right now - tens of thousands of elephants are being slaughtered every year for their tusks, their beautiful faces hacked-off with axes and machetes even before they are dead. Whole families are being wiped out - all so that greedy, dispicable people can have ivory chopsticks and trinkets. The DSWT runs an orphanage in Kenya for baby elephants. Dame Daphne Sheldrick and her staff do an amazing job of hand raising orphaned elephants. Not all of the babies are found in time, but the lucky ones who are rescued are given a second chance through this charity. People can foster these orphans through the US Friends of the DSWT and follow their progress through regular updates. Donations also fund anti-poaching efforts, veterinary care in the wild, and other wildlife saving programs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Every person who cares about the lives and rescues of Elephanrs, this organization is the best that you will ever find. The lives, health, and mental health, of these elephants are the whole reason DSWT exists. I can't say enough good about them, they are simply THE BEST PEOPLE.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers