Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
12.6345
Write A Review
November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

they were evasive when asked about what was done with my donation and when i wanted to unsubscribe refused to explain how my contact information was obtained in the first place

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

This year we wanted to see how many mailings we would receive, so we collected all the paperwork that were sent to our home. So far, we have received 10 different request for donations. I will be requesting that my address be removed from their mailing list. There is why to much money spent on trying to get donations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am conflicted. I'm concerned about the big salary of the CEO, but that may be for good reasons, and no other compensations are listed. The size of the salary is a bit off-putting, I admit. However, I'm swayed by military friends who tell me that the USO is always there, always helpful, and I respect their input. I will donate what I can to this fine organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I wrote this charity, explaining that I could not contribute in the near future and suggested that they could try again in two years. It had no effect. Well, I tried. If they persist, I will keep any gifts received and throw everything else away.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I donated to this organization as a memorial for a service member who passed away. I am CONSTANTLY bombarded with (likely very expensive) postal mail requests for further donations (ie at least 2 per month), and agree whole heartedly with others on this site who say the administrative and fundraising costs are WAY too high. Admittedly, the calendar they sent me as a "thank you" gift is quite nice; it is hanging in my office now.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I was a donor of the USO, but after seeing how much the CEO & staff make, that 70% of funds goes to program services, the millions they waste on fundraising, and that I have to REQUEST them NOT to sell my name & info (rather than them asking ME first - which I realize is not the norm, but should be) that's not a 4 star charity in my book. I won't be making any further donations to this org. It's too bad, because there are a lot of people with this org doing good works.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have a problem anymore of donating to a charity where the CEO makes close to a 1/2 mil in salary. I'm really for the troops, but there must be a better use of my dollars then going to such a highly paid individual.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Like a previous reviewer, I am rather disappointed by the fact that their CEO makes nearly half a million dollars. I'm not well-versed in what an appropriate salary would be for a CEO, but since this is a non-profit organization, that figure seems ridiculously high. While I support the great work that the USO does, this fact about their CEO's salary makes it highly unlikely that I would recommend to others that they should give to this organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 8, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 8, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Sloan Gibson is the President of the charity USO and his salary of over $400,000 / year is too high !
The administrative expenses of USO, over 10%, are too high!
The USO was created by congress and it has a responsibility to correct these excesses.
Congress should take care of the
problem, the USO is needed, and is losing donations because of this pig!
I have written email and snail mail to senators and congress men about this problem, no results yet!
I think they are pigs at the trough, to busy to get the work done.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

i am a donor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put Sloan and his buddies should be put to work in the field.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I believe that the USO serves an important purpose and Sloan and the other expensive pigs should get out of the picture!

Why did you make your donation at this time?

The need is there.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I wanted to do something to support our troops and initially, sent care packages through another non-profit. Due to several reasons, I decided that wasn't the best use of my money or time. After hearing how the USO makes a difference in our troops lives - before deploying and once deployed - I knew I found my answer.

I have never received unsolicited mail from other organizations due to my contributing to the USO. I haven't seen where they sold my name/address. I agree they do send more mailings than I like, but having worked in a non-profit before, I also know they only do what is successful. So the mailings are making more money than it is spending. And it does remind me to get out my credit card and send in a donation.

I find this organization to be responsible to their donors and a wonderful asset to our military as they are away from home. Thanks for all you do, the many great programs you offer and the difference you are making in military families.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Having been involved with persons in the military, I have seen the difference their services make to our troops. Thank you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Send a little less mail, but seriously - not an issue.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers