Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
12.71875345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 21, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 21, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

My active duty son has served 2 tours in Afghanistan and strongly encourages us to support the USO. He said they provide a great service to our GIs overseas as well as at airport locations in the U.S.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 2, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 2, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

People need to stop judging an organization based on the CEO's salary. This is a 120 million dollar organization that only spend 10.1% (based on this site) on admin fee's. I can say as a Soldiers who has been deployed USO is always there providing Moral and Welfare for Soldiers. While i was in Iraq and KWT, the USO was always packed with Soldiers who were either calling home on the free phone (which i used myself in KWT) or enjoying the activities there in order to relax and relieve stress.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 12, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 12, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I have donated in the past and like the idea of the USO. But when learning that the CEO makes over $400,000 a year, sorry, I am not donating my money to pay him those wages.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The USO was very well organized and supportive of the effort to fly WW II Vets to Washington, DC to recognize their service to our country. I was present on the return of these elder veterans on a Flight of Honor as they arrived at the Raleigh-Durham Airport. The faces of the veterans and their families, the interaction of all the people there waving and applauding them, and especially the interactions of the vets and children in crowd - were all so heart-warming. The USO has been involved in this effort across the nation. Since my in-laws fought in WW II and I have had other family in the military, I know the USO has always been there for our military and appreciate the difference they make. The USO volunteers that day were great!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Reports of military families about their services, sending supplies to the troops with friends. I have not been deluged with mailings or fundraising contacts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

How did you learn about this organization?

Local military wives, family recall.

June 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've never had any contact with the USO and don't know how they got my name & address. They sent a very heavy envelope full of those terrible, preprinted, stick-on address labels - along with a donation request. What a complete waste of charitable donations - spending the money on all that postage and those awful preprinted labels that no one wants! In this age of email, texting, and twitter, the USO appears to be operating in the dark ages. I'm a Vietnam veteran, and I fully support the troops, but I would NEVER give money to a charity that is so out-of-touch and so wasteful with the money they receive from donors. Also, I agree with the other reviewers who thought Sloan Gibson's salary is outrageously excessive.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 22, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have been writing a presentation on the USO for over a month for a college course on Nonprofits. The USO is amazing! Just to comment: the salary paid to the CEO is way below what he would make at a for- profit organization. When leading such a giant organization with integrity while staying true to the mission, you want the best of the best. And the best of the best deserves to be paid what they are worth. As the daughter of a veteran, I can tell you my Dad thinks Mr. Gibson deserves every penny of his salary and is grateful for all he does for the USO.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers