Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
12.6345
Write A Review
August 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The USO was very well organized and supportive of the effort to fly WW II Vets to Washington, DC to recognize their service to our country. I was present on the return of these elder veterans on a Flight of Honor as they arrived at the Raleigh-Durham Airport. The faces of the veterans and their families, the interaction of all the people there waving and applauding them, and especially the interactions of the vets and children in crowd - were all so heart-warming. The USO has been involved in this effort across the nation. Since my in-laws fought in WW II and I have had other family in the military, I know the USO has always been there for our military and appreciate the difference they make. The USO volunteers that day were great!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Reports of military families about their services, sending supplies to the troops with friends. I have not been deluged with mailings or fundraising contacts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

How did you learn about this organization?

Local military wives, family recall.

July 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I wrote this charity, explaining that I could not contribute in the near future and suggested that they could try again in two years. It had no effect. Well, I tried. If they persist, I will keep any gifts received and throw everything else away.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I donated to this organization as a memorial for a service member who passed away. I am CONSTANTLY bombarded with (likely very expensive) postal mail requests for further donations (ie at least 2 per month), and agree whole heartedly with others on this site who say the administrative and fundraising costs are WAY too high. Admittedly, the calendar they sent me as a "thank you" gift is quite nice; it is hanging in my office now.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I was a donor of the USO, but after seeing how much the CEO & staff make, that 70% of funds goes to program services, the millions they waste on fundraising, and that I have to REQUEST them NOT to sell my name & info (rather than them asking ME first - which I realize is not the norm, but should be) that's not a 4 star charity in my book. I won't be making any further donations to this org. It's too bad, because there are a lot of people with this org doing good works.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've never had any contact with the USO and don't know how they got my name & address. They sent a very heavy envelope full of those terrible, preprinted, stick-on address labels - along with a donation request. What a complete waste of charitable donations - spending the money on all that postage and those awful preprinted labels that no one wants! In this age of email, texting, and twitter, the USO appears to be operating in the dark ages. I'm a Vietnam veteran, and I fully support the troops, but I would NEVER give money to a charity that is so out-of-touch and so wasteful with the money they receive from donors. Also, I agree with the other reviewers who thought Sloan Gibson's salary is outrageously excessive.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 22, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have been writing a presentation on the USO for over a month for a college course on Nonprofits. The USO is amazing! Just to comment: the salary paid to the CEO is way below what he would make at a for- profit organization. When leading such a giant organization with integrity while staying true to the mission, you want the best of the best. And the best of the best deserves to be paid what they are worth. As the daughter of a veteran, I can tell you my Dad thinks Mr. Gibson deserves every penny of his salary and is grateful for all he does for the USO.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have a problem anymore of donating to a charity where the CEO makes close to a 1/2 mil in salary. I'm really for the troops, but there must be a better use of my dollars then going to such a highly paid individual.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The USO needs to be fully investigate on how they use/treat donor intended dollars....the keep the funds at Arlington/allow their centers to spend the expenses without crediting the local centers account. The ultimate is they then require their center managers to write up reports back to Arlington so Arlington can use that to show the donor how their funds were put to work. Arlington spends the funds on their bloated / highlypaidstaff.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I'm former military, and a volunteer with USO's Dallas-Ft Worth Airport"Send Off" program, which works with troops returning to Afghanistan from R&R, every day. I'm one of seven volunteers on the Thursday shift, and we typically have about 100 - 200 outbound troops on a flight. The money donated to the USO enables us to have light snacks (chips, pretzels, candy bars, jerky, peanuts, gum etc.) and cold bottled water for the troops, and a cart of aspirin, bandaids, chapstick, eyedrops, shaving and cleanup supplies, etc. at the departure point. We also dispense donate books, magazines, and USO "Care Packages". Of our seven team members, the three men are all veterans, including a WW II infantryman (Battle of the Bulge), a Korean War veteran, and a Vietnam veteran. All four of the women are either married to veterans, or are widows of the veterans. We love our work as volunteers, and welcome the opportunity to work with these great troops and the families that come to see them off. We believe that the heart of the USO is with and for the troops; and that the number of volunteers far, far exceeds the paid staff. All of us, although not paid, actively financially support the USO because we are on the spot, and we see what is done for the troops and how much the USO is appreciated by them and their families. In short, it's a CALLING, and we believe our contributions help our soldiers, Marines, sailors, and airmen/women. We love the USO because we love the troops. God bless them, every one!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Like a previous reviewer, I am rather disappointed by the fact that their CEO makes nearly half a million dollars. I'm not well-versed in what an appropriate salary would be for a CEO, but since this is a non-profit organization, that figure seems ridiculously high. While I support the great work that the USO does, this fact about their CEO's salary makes it highly unlikely that I would recommend to others that they should give to this organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers