Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
12.71875345
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
June 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I was a donor of the USO, but after seeing how much the CEO & staff make, that 70% of funds goes to program services, the millions they waste on fundraising, and that I have to REQUEST them NOT to sell my name & info (rather than them asking ME first - which I realize is not the norm, but should be) that's not a 4 star charity in my book. I won't be making any further donations to this org. It's too bad, because there are a lot of people with this org doing good works.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've never had any contact with the USO and don't know how they got my name & address. They sent a very heavy envelope full of those terrible, preprinted, stick-on address labels - along with a donation request. What a complete waste of charitable donations - spending the money on all that postage and those awful preprinted labels that no one wants! In this age of email, texting, and twitter, the USO appears to be operating in the dark ages. I'm a Vietnam veteran, and I fully support the troops, but I would NEVER give money to a charity that is so out-of-touch and so wasteful with the money they receive from donors. Also, I agree with the other reviewers who thought Sloan Gibson's salary is outrageously excessive.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 22, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have been writing a presentation on the USO for over a month for a college course on Nonprofits. The USO is amazing! Just to comment: the salary paid to the CEO is way below what he would make at a for- profit organization. When leading such a giant organization with integrity while staying true to the mission, you want the best of the best. And the best of the best deserves to be paid what they are worth. As the daughter of a veteran, I can tell you my Dad thinks Mr. Gibson deserves every penny of his salary and is grateful for all he does for the USO.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have a problem anymore of donating to a charity where the CEO makes close to a 1/2 mil in salary. I'm really for the troops, but there must be a better use of my dollars then going to such a highly paid individual.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The USO needs to be fully investigate on how they use/treat donor intended dollars....the keep the funds at Arlington/allow their centers to spend the expenses without crediting the local centers account. The ultimate is they then require their center managers to write up reports back to Arlington so Arlington can use that to show the donor how their funds were put to work. Arlington spends the funds on their bloated / highlypaidstaff.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I'm former military, and a volunteer with USO's Dallas-Ft Worth Airport"Send Off" program, which works with troops returning to Afghanistan from R&R, every day. I'm one of seven volunteers on the Thursday shift, and we typically have about 100 - 200 outbound troops on a flight. The money donated to the USO enables us to have light snacks (chips, pretzels, candy bars, jerky, peanuts, gum etc.) and cold bottled water for the troops, and a cart of aspirin, bandaids, chapstick, eyedrops, shaving and cleanup supplies, etc. at the departure point. We also dispense donate books, magazines, and USO "Care Packages". Of our seven team members, the three men are all veterans, including a WW II infantryman (Battle of the Bulge), a Korean War veteran, and a Vietnam veteran. All four of the women are either married to veterans, or are widows of the veterans. We love our work as volunteers, and welcome the opportunity to work with these great troops and the families that come to see them off. We believe that the heart of the USO is with and for the troops; and that the number of volunteers far, far exceeds the paid staff. All of us, although not paid, actively financially support the USO because we are on the spot, and we see what is done for the troops and how much the USO is appreciated by them and their families. In short, it's a CALLING, and we believe our contributions help our soldiers, Marines, sailors, and airmen/women. We love the USO because we love the troops. God bless them, every one!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Like a previous reviewer, I am rather disappointed by the fact that their CEO makes nearly half a million dollars. I'm not well-versed in what an appropriate salary would be for a CEO, but since this is a non-profit organization, that figure seems ridiculously high. While I support the great work that the USO does, this fact about their CEO's salary makes it highly unlikely that I would recommend to others that they should give to this organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 8, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 8, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Sloan Gibson is the President of the charity USO and his salary of over $400,000 / year is too high !
The administrative expenses of USO, over 10%, are too high!
The USO was created by congress and it has a responsibility to correct these excesses.
Congress should take care of the
problem, the USO is needed, and is losing donations because of this pig!
I have written email and snail mail to senators and congress men about this problem, no results yet!
I think they are pigs at the trough, to busy to get the work done.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

i am a donor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put Sloan and his buddies should be put to work in the field.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I believe that the USO serves an important purpose and Sloan and the other expensive pigs should get out of the picture!

Why did you make your donation at this time?

The need is there.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I wanted to do something to support our troops and initially, sent care packages through another non-profit. Due to several reasons, I decided that wasn't the best use of my money or time. After hearing how the USO makes a difference in our troops lives - before deploying and once deployed - I knew I found my answer.

I have never received unsolicited mail from other organizations due to my contributing to the USO. I haven't seen where they sold my name/address. I agree they do send more mailings than I like, but having worked in a non-profit before, I also know they only do what is successful. So the mailings are making more money than it is spending. And it does remind me to get out my credit card and send in a donation.

I find this organization to be responsible to their donors and a wonderful asset to our military as they are away from home. Thanks for all you do, the many great programs you offer and the difference you are making in military families.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Having been involved with persons in the military, I have seen the difference their services make to our troops. Thank you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Send a little less mail, but seriously - not an issue.

November 1, 2010

more

Review from Guidestar
November 1, 2010

As with any organization, one person may have one experience and another have a very different experience. For me, Tide detergent doesn't work, but that doesn't color my entire view of PnG. Running into one ill-informaed volunteer should not color your experience with the entire organization. For me and my family, the USO has been a valuable resource for support, sometimes being the only people I could lean on in a difficult situation. The USO provides a quite place to rest in an airport, a place to find community and maybe a "senior wife" to lend perspective to a situation one might only face as a military spouse. USO volunteers have stood by me in remote locations where I never would have suspected they even had a presence, but they did. Every interaction I have had with the USO has been superior.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the support they provide informed by their intimate knowledge of the issues military families face.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add more airport locations, like TPA, and move a few of them inside security like ATL or Dulles.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers