Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
12.6345
Write A Review
March 21, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 21, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

My active duty son has served 2 tours in Afghanistan and strongly encourages us to support the USO. He said they provide a great service to our GIs overseas as well as at airport locations in the U.S.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 2, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 2, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

People need to stop judging an organization based on the CEO's salary. This is a 120 million dollar organization that only spend 10.1% (based on this site) on admin fee's. I can say as a Soldiers who has been deployed USO is always there providing Moral and Welfare for Soldiers. While i was in Iraq and KWT, the USO was always packed with Soldiers who were either calling home on the free phone (which i used myself in KWT) or enjoying the activities there in order to relax and relieve stress.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 26, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 26, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

I received a request for donation from USO. The info they sent me stated that their fundraising+admin expense was 10%.
But when I double checked on Charity Navigator it showed that the USO spends 28% on fundraising +admin.
A very big discrepancy!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 1, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 1, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have contributed to the USO in the past but will not do so this year. In 2012 I received over 14 separate mailings asking for more donations despite specifically requesting that contact be made 1 time per year. Also the CEO salary seems excessive for a charitable organization

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 12, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 12, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I have donated in the past and like the idea of the USO. But when learning that the CEO makes over $400,000 a year, sorry, I am not donating my money to pay him those wages.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I donated on 8/30/2012 and was to receive a "spinal vet blanket" but never did. Is there a problem?George H. Ault 216-521-0646

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

Retired in 1969 and I know the USO put on shows over Seas some good some run of the mill. I will not donate when theCEO makes $477.736.00. They can keep their flag.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

they were evasive when asked about what was done with my donation and when i wanted to unsubscribe refused to explain how my contact information was obtained in the first place

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

This year we wanted to see how many mailings we would receive, so we collected all the paperwork that were sent to our home. So far, we have received 10 different request for donations. I will be requesting that my address be removed from their mailing list. There is why to much money spent on trying to get donations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am conflicted. I'm concerned about the big salary of the CEO, but that may be for good reasons, and no other compensations are listed. The size of the salary is a bit off-putting, I admit. However, I'm swayed by military friends who tell me that the USO is always there, always helpful, and I respect their input. I will donate what I can to this fine organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers