Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
12.71875345
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
January 1, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 1, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have contributed to the USO in the past but will not do so this year. In 2012 I received over 14 separate mailings asking for more donations despite specifically requesting that contact be made 1 time per year. Also the CEO salary seems excessive for a charitable organization

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 12, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 12, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I have donated in the past and like the idea of the USO. But when learning that the CEO makes over $400,000 a year, sorry, I am not donating my money to pay him those wages.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I donated on 8/30/2012 and was to receive a "spinal vet blanket" but never did. Is there a problem?George H. Ault 216-521-0646

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

Retired in 1969 and I know the USO put on shows over Seas some good some run of the mill. I will not donate when theCEO makes $477.736.00. They can keep their flag.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

they were evasive when asked about what was done with my donation and when i wanted to unsubscribe refused to explain how my contact information was obtained in the first place

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

This year we wanted to see how many mailings we would receive, so we collected all the paperwork that were sent to our home. So far, we have received 10 different request for donations. I will be requesting that my address be removed from their mailing list. There is why to much money spent on trying to get donations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am conflicted. I'm concerned about the big salary of the CEO, but that may be for good reasons, and no other compensations are listed. The size of the salary is a bit off-putting, I admit. However, I'm swayed by military friends who tell me that the USO is always there, always helpful, and I respect their input. I will donate what I can to this fine organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The USO was very well organized and supportive of the effort to fly WW II Vets to Washington, DC to recognize their service to our country. I was present on the return of these elder veterans on a Flight of Honor as they arrived at the Raleigh-Durham Airport. The faces of the veterans and their families, the interaction of all the people there waving and applauding them, and especially the interactions of the vets and children in crowd - were all so heart-warming. The USO has been involved in this effort across the nation. Since my in-laws fought in WW II and I have had other family in the military, I know the USO has always been there for our military and appreciate the difference they make. The USO volunteers that day were great!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Reports of military families about their services, sending supplies to the troops with friends. I have not been deluged with mailings or fundraising contacts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

How did you learn about this organization?

Local military wives, family recall.

July 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I wrote this charity, explaining that I could not contribute in the near future and suggested that they could try again in two years. It had no effect. Well, I tried. If they persist, I will keep any gifts received and throw everything else away.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I donated to this organization as a memorial for a service member who passed away. I am CONSTANTLY bombarded with (likely very expensive) postal mail requests for further donations (ie at least 2 per month), and agree whole heartedly with others on this site who say the administrative and fundraising costs are WAY too high. Admittedly, the calendar they sent me as a "thank you" gift is quite nice; it is hanging in my office now.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers