Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.928575
Write A Review
November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have come to know well the work of United Methodist Family Services over the last decade as a private citizen.. Each year, I'm especially amazed at the dedication, care and genuine concern of the staff of the Charterhouse School. Several times a year, I support the various fundraising efforts of the day school, as I feel that philanthropy is just one of the many important life and social skills CHS imparts upon its students, as well as its academic programs. Additionally, the cultural and experiential opportunities afforded these students far exceeds that which they would traditionally have in a mainstream educational setting given the challenges many of them face. I am thankful that such an organization exists in the Greater Richmond area, as every child, regardless of circumstance, deserves the chance to succeed; UMFS welcomes them with open arms.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

UMFS provides professional and caring services for families and children throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia. Through their leadership and strong multi-faceted staff, this agency definitely lives up to their mission to Touch a Life, Create a Future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I nominate UMFS because this organization does GREAT things for the community and children in need. They have a staff of great ,caring individuals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

UMFS is a wonderful nonprofit that is all about caring and giving. This is the most unselfish company I have ever encountered. Every penny they get goes towards making life better for the children. They strive everyday to better the company and come up with more ideas to help kids in new and different ways. I know someone who went to the UMFS Charter House school. She said going there changed her life and that she would go back if she could. Her best memories are with UMFS.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 19, 2009

more

August 19, 2009

I've fostered 3 kids through UMFS. The first I adopted, the second returned home and the third will soon be adopted. The first two kids came directly through their treatment foster care program. It was extremely well run and generally staffed with the highest caliber people, although our first in-home counselor didn't seem to add much value. The third kid started in their residential program and transitioned to treatment foster care. This required a level of communication and coordination between different functions within the agency that hadn't been properly thought through. The staff, did, however go to great lengths to make the transition work - up to including having key staff perform multiple duties. This showed a great deal of commitment to meeting the needs of my son. In the residental program, we had some issues with my son's first therapist and I felt they went on a little long, but ultimately they got resolved quite successfully - again, due to the commitment of all the agency staff to make things work right. This is a well run, committed agency that does extremely good work.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

kind, hard working, committed professionals

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

July 28, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 28, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter has been at UMFS since December and it has been wonderful for her. She was at a state institution before that and it closed very suddenly. We were lost, with nowhere to go. Luckily, we found UMFS and all of the people there have been great. Very kind, helpful, and understanding. I have not met a person there that wasn't well trained and more than willing to help. I am not sure where my daughter (or the rest of my family) would be without UMFS. Having a genuine school on campus has also been great because my daughter has been able to continue her education.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The people -- I could not ask for more.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Well trained and caring. Willing to take their time to explain what they were doing.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers