Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.928575
| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review
November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

We have been working with UMFS, and the children they support for almost 5 years. They have been tremendously supportive to both us and the kids that we have fostered. Working with at risk children takes a special kind of understanding, guidance, and gentle support, and they have all that and more. I don't know how they managed to brinf such a phenominal team together, but they did, and we as the parents, and more importantly, our kids, greatly benefit from everything they do for us.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I have had the privilege of working with UMFS for the past two years. Helping at risk youth with the guidance they provide has been truly one of the most rewarding experiences during my volunteer work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I recently attended a Commencement Ceremony for several at-risk youth who had completed a life changing program through UMFS, called the Circle of Courage. These children bravely stood in front of hundreds of people in a packed cafeteria and shared their stories of struggle, neglect, abuse, substance addiction, and finally - hope. Most of the children had been a product of the system since they were very young, and began their journey at UMFS with a goal to get out as quickly as possible. Then they started to understand that the social workers, clinicians, therapists, teachers, and all UMFS were different. They worked to give each child a voice. They worked to help each child let go of their anger, pain, and distrust. Every child personally thanked UMFS and its dedicated staff for caring so much about them, and giving them a reason to believe they can be successful in life despite their past challenges. They stood with their new foster families or their re-united biological families as tears streamed down their eyes. There wasn't a dry eye in the house. It was then that I knew that UMFS was truly touching lives, and creating futures.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I have been involved with UMFS for a little over three years and have really enjoyed my experience with them. I have made some life long friendships and have met many children that will forever have an imprint on my heart. As a volunteer I have always felt appreciated and supported in everything I have done and have been encouraged to, at times, step outside my comfort zone to try new relationships and partnerships. The thank yous I receive from the kids is the best part of the experience and I look forward to seeing them every month! Thank you UMFS for making such a wonderful place for volunteers! Sara

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

From at-risk teens, to youth without permanent homes, to families wanting to care for a child, UMFS is forming lasting connections and making a difference in the lives of youth all over Virginia. As an adoptive parent of a teen through UMFS, I believe that UMFS is reaching and impacting the lives of disenfranchised and at-risk populations of youth more than any other organization in Richmond. I cannot imagine what the life of my 20-year-old daughter would be like if she had not had the opportunity to be adopted at the age of 14 through the work of UMFS. Not only did UMFS facilitate the adoption process, they provided our family with the training, emotional support, and professional services necessary to ensure permanence during the challenging times that seemed insurmountable. I will never forget the day my husband and I called a UMFS staff person feeling overwhelmed, defeated, and ready to give up completely. On that day, UMFS saw us through our toughest hour and provided a solution that we still rely on to this day!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2009

more

November 2, 2009

I have been involved with UMFS for over 27 years and have always found my experience to be rewarding, challenging and inspirational. I can't imagine volunteering for an organization that would be more rewarding. I certainly have no complaints or even suggestions for improving volunteer relations.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

to see the transforming effect the programs of this organization have on the lives of the children and families it serves.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

"turn the lives of many more children and families right side up!"

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

August 19, 2009

more

August 19, 2009

I've fostered 3 kids through UMFS. The first I adopted, the second returned home and the third will soon be adopted. The first two kids came directly through their treatment foster care program. It was extremely well run and generally staffed with the highest caliber people, although our first in-home counselor didn't seem to add much value. The third kid started in their residential program and transitioned to treatment foster care. This required a level of communication and coordination between different functions within the agency that hadn't been properly thought through. The staff, did, however go to great lengths to make the transition work - up to including having key staff perform multiple duties. This showed a great deal of commitment to meeting the needs of my son. In the residental program, we had some issues with my son's first therapist and I felt they went on a little long, but ultimately they got resolved quite successfully - again, due to the commitment of all the agency staff to make things work right. This is a well run, committed agency that does extremely good work.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

kind, hard working, committed professionals

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

July 28, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 28, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter has been at UMFS since December and it has been wonderful for her. She was at a state institution before that and it closed very suddenly. We were lost, with nowhere to go. Luckily, we found UMFS and all of the people there have been great. Very kind, helpful, and understanding. I have not met a person there that wasn't well trained and more than willing to help. I am not sure where my daughter (or the rest of my family) would be without UMFS. Having a genuine school on campus has also been great because my daughter has been able to continue her education.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The people -- I could not ask for more.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Well trained and caring. Willing to take their time to explain what they were doing.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers