Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.928575
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have worked with UMFS for the last 8 yrs, n have found them to be loving n professional people. I have no doubt in my mind they are the best of the best.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

When our adopted daughter began experiencing very serious psychiatric issues -- and our own adoption agency would offer no help or support -- another adoptive mom suggested we contact UMFS for help. UMFS -- LITERALLY -- saved our family through their Adoptive Family Preservation program. They didn't care that we were not Methodist and didn't care who placed our daughter with us, they only cared about helping us locate the services she -- and we -- needed to move forward as a family. Our daughter spent a year at the UMFS residential treatment center in Richmond and the staff there and in Alexandria were OUTSTANDING. They understand how to help even the most seriously disturbed children -- and -- their families. I really believe UMFS gave our daughter her future because, without their help, she would likely have ended up in an institution, homeless, or dead. Throughout the process, UMFS also provided support to my husband and me -- and -- our other three children. We participate in an AFP parent support group and our teens participate in their newly formed adopted teen discussion group. UMFS staff listen to what families need and provide it, period. Most recently, our teens expressed regret the scheduled teen group sessions were ending. They said it was the one place they all felt comfortable and "like everyone else" so UMFS agreed to continue the group for the kids. Thank you UMFS for serving our children and our families with humility and grace. I have no doubt you saved our daughter and our family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I began working as an English teacher for UMFS in August. I am very impressed with the care and concern the staff expresses towards each student and the child-first practices regarding instruction and behavior management. They are dedicated to having well-trained, knowledgeable staff to better assist youth in achieving success.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

My husband and I have been resource parents 2008. UMFS offers more parent support than any place we have worked with. The social workers go above and beyond the call of duty. I have never felt "on my own" with this agency. I cant compliment them enough for their dedication and love to the children they serve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

My husband and I have been Resource Parents for almost 4 years. We have had the opportunity to work with many young children. Each child brought something special to our lives . We have been blessed to have the chance to work with many of the employees of UMFS and have seen the amazing character in each of them. UMFS has always supported and encouraged us to make a difference in a chid's life. They go the extra step to help the child and family to be the best they can be.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

UMFS serves some of the most under resourced children and families in our state by transforming their lives and giving them hope for a future. I know that the money I give goes to support , education, formation and transformation in ways that changes peoples lives.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

My wife and I became interested in helping our community by assisting young people who needed opportunities to grow and develope into contributing members of society. UMFS has provided training and opportunities to work with youth within our community towrds that goal. Thier committment to both the parents and the youth is top notch. Day or night UMFS stands ready to assist children who need physical safety and emotional support. We have to put forth a lot of effort to work with the various groups involved in working with the foster child but the rewards are immeasurable!THANKS UMFS

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I am a Licensed Clinical Social Worker who has worked for UMFS since 2002. UMFS manages the Adoptive Family Preservation Program (AFP) which provides free services to adoptive families throughout the state of Virginia, to support permanency and child/family well-being. As an individual and family therapist I have had the priviledge of working with many AFP families who have adopted children with highly specialized needs. Most of these adoptive families do not have the resources to afford the intensive (and costly) services they need to help these children heal, and AFP is a life saver for them. Every day I feel extremely lucky to work for an an agency that puts children and families first. UMFS is a wonderful agency that deserves a spot on the Top-Rated Nonprofits list!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

UMFS has been very supportive and knowledgable throughout the process to become certified as resource parents (foster and adoption). Their training is responsive to the needs of adult learners, incorporating and building on our own experiences. Every question that I have has been answered in a timely manner, with clear directions and detail. Our journey with UMFS is just beginning, but it is one that I am very happy to be on, as I know the entire process will be clear with them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

When my husband and I decided to look into becoming foster parents, a friend of mine who is a social worker suggested UMFS. I had contacted a local agency first and was not satisfied with the response, but when I reached out to UMFS, I was immediately impressed! I had a lot of questions and the staff was always so willing to take the time to talk to me and answer each and every question. Even when I called back with new questions, I never felt like they were anything but to happy to talk to me. The training they provided was very helpful and we learned a lot. Every staff member that I have had contact with since, has been nothing but wonderful. You immediately know that everyone has the child's best interest at heart! I look forward to continuing to work with UMFS!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers