Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 20, 2012

more

March 20, 2012

My husband and I have been going to see Dr. Deb and her horses at United in Light for almost two years now. We are constantly amazed and delighted by the experiences we have each time we travel to Livingston to visit her and "our" horses. Dr. Deb takes draft horses that have been abused or tossed away like garbage and loves them back to health. She not only provides a safe home for them but she allows us all to be a part of the healing. I wont go into all of the abuse and horror these gentle giants have seen but now they are treasured and loved. We are honored to be able to spend a little time with them just to love them and talk to them. To be a very small part of this is a miracle. I have actually gotten emotional writing this!! It means that much!! Jeri and Ralph

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

I came to visit Livingston, MT almost six years ago now. You can't go around town without someone knowing about Deb's hard work and love for those gentle giants at United in Light. Most of them come from bad, if not horrific, situations. With Deb's care and her healing hands they receive the care they need to make them whole. These horses make 180 degree turn arounds, from scared and hesitant to let others touch them, to eager beavers when visitors come to visit. Amazing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 21, 2012

more

March 21, 2012

If you want to meet someone who passionately devotes herself to her cause, meet Deb Derr. She truly walks her talk...and what a talk it is! The story of how she came to found United in Light is amazing in and of itself....and then you get to meet her "gentle giants" and you know her efforts are all worth while. Please, if you are ever within a hundred miles of Livingston MT DO make the time to visit her sanctuary. You will come away refreshed and amazed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

United in Light is a wonderful home for older draft horses to go live out the rest of their days in peace and serenity. Dr. Deborah Derr takes fantastic care of every animal at the Rescue, and is so welcoming to volunteers. I spent six weeks with her and her gentle giants last summer, and I would love to do it again. Deb works so hard to raise funds to provide these horses with everything they need, and to allow her to reach out and rescue more horses in the future. Just this winter she raised the money to build a new, wind-proof shelter for the horses when the wind walls that had so faithfully withstood the powerful Livingston winds lost the battle and fell. And she accomplished it in time to get the shelter built before the hard snows hit! United in Light is the nation's only 501(c)(3) organization that offers a retirement home for older draft horses, and the cause is so important! These horses have worked their whole lives, unable to just be horses. Here, they finally get the chance to do just that: be horses. It's such a life-changing experience working with Deb and the horses. I hope I get the chance to do it again soon!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 20, 2010

more

Review from Guidestar
July 20, 2010

United In Light is a wonderful home for draft horses where they aer understood, loved unconditionally, and listened to. Dr. Deborah Derr is an exceptional being who lives the oneness of all life. Bing in the presence of the magificant beings who live there is a humbling experience.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

including telepathic messagaes from the beings there in our upcoming book

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

unconditional love

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

excellent

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

help change the world through increased awareness of humans that we are part of, not separate from, all life

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers