Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have been a regular supporter of UFE for most of the past 15 years. I have been a member of the board for the past 4, and current am serving as chair. Simply put, UFE is a member of the growing chorus of voices calling out to shift the dominant paradigm of wealth concentration (and the associated undemocratic power concentration) towards a more sustainable, resilient, and humane expression of the broad social economic contract.

To quote Louis Brandeis: "We can have concentrated wealth in the hands of a a few, or we can have democracy, but we can't have both."

UFE is a complex entity. We are a diverse group of individuals, coming from a wide array of backgrounds. The challenges we face internally are a reflection of the challenges that we face in the broader society around us. And we are "leaning into" those challenges with a shared desire to gain strength from our efforts. Our relationship with money (both as individuals and as a society) is at least as complicated as our relationships with gender, race, and sexuality. The whole damn mix comes into play when it comes to our national "economy"...

This is important work... in more ways than can be listed here. We do it on a shoestring budget. Your support, in whatever form, will help to move us towards a day when those with money do not have ALL the power.


More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I have worked for over 40 years in the fields of social and economic justice, much of that time as a Supervisor or ED. Now I am devoting my time to actively participating on several national boards that share my values.

UFE is serious about supporting worker and community led efforts
toward a more just economy. To accomplish this we need analysis, avenues for promulgating it, constituents who are able to build power and allies of wealth who oppose the rapidly increasing economic inequality. We need to work with all of the groups marginalized by economic inequality with particular attention to women, people of color, immigrants and low wage workers. I am so proud that UFE is doing just this.

The diversity of our donor base reflects their trust in our programmatic commitment.

Working with Robert Reich to preview his recently released film, is an example of the high regard with which UFE is held by nationally known critics of the economic status-quo.

Developing tax fairness legislation supported by former President Jimmy Carter and former Treasury Secretary Robert Rubin speaks volumes for our capacity to leverage support from people who command national attention.

And being of critical support to the Occupy movement by providing easy to understand economic information via popular education methodologies is but one example of the breadth of our reach.

I am proud to be a member of such a diverse board who bring vision, experience, progressive values and commitment to our shared goals.

UFE is the real deal!



More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

As a UFE board member for the last year and a half, I have been continually impressed by the far-reaching impact of this GREAT non-profit group! UFE has a multi-pronged program that would be ambitious for an organization with a much larger budget. Nevertheless, donors, allies, and constituents (like the union members who utilize its popular education services) get enormous bang for their buck.
At a time when millions of Americans are questioning the impact of economic inequality, gross abuses of corporate power, and the unfairness of our current tax structure, we need two, three, many UFE's to educate, inform, whistle-blow, and help unite diverse foes of the status quo.
Steve Early
747 Lobos Avenue
Richmond, CA. 94801

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find the funding to double its budget!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

UFE educates and equips national and regional leaders with tools to call out the harmful economic policies that further the racial wealth divide in the US. For more than two years I have served as a board member and I am profoundly energized to see the impact UFEs leadership is making. This is an organization worthy of your support. As treasurer I can only ensure donors that we take our role as a board--and your generosity--very seriously. Our finance team meets monthly with an eye to efficiently investing every dollar entrusted to us - to create needed change. And I should say that I am a donor and though my pockets aren't deep, this organization is at the top of my list!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I've served on the Board for two years now. The staff - and Board - are comprised of intelligent, hard working women and men who are trying to educate people about the extreme economic inequality and racial injustice that is prevalent in our society. But more - they are supporting grass-roots movements that will change people's lives!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us plan upcoming Popular Education workshops and trainings, keep our database up to date, help with fundraising work, assist with economic research for new workshops and reports, translate our materials into Spanish, and more. Email us @info@faireconomy.org