Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
December 12, 2013

more

December 12, 2013

I attended UFE's Training of the Trainers Conference last Spring and walked away inspired, with new skill sets, and with a deeper understanding about the fight for economic justice in our country. I am amazed at the way UFE gets at the root causes - the issues from which all other issues stem - and how they use incredibly creative activities and visuals to communicate and convey their message. More people need to hear UFE's message and attend these trainings - because economic justice is an issue that affects us all, regardless of how much we make or how much we have in the bank. UFE was transformative for me, and I hope it can continue to be transformative for many others so that together we can transform society.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 9, 2013

more

November 9, 2013

As a development intern at UFE I had the valuable experienece of channeling my skills towards a noble and important cause. As a student, I was looking for an internship experience that would transform me as much as it did my resume. UFE did that. While meeting dedicated and amazing people, I also developed my research skills and polished my presentation skills. I was given independence to develop my own ideas, but still had an involved and supportive supervisor in the person if Jamie Goldring. It was great to be able bond with the other interns, eating lunch together everyday and sharing our indvidual experiences together. The UFE staff truly believes in the fight for equality and it shows in everything they do; work-related or not.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have been a regular supporter of UFE for most of the past 15 years. I have been a member of the board for the past 4, and current am serving as chair. Simply put, UFE is a member of the growing chorus of voices calling out to shift the dominant paradigm of wealth concentration (and the associated undemocratic power concentration) towards a more sustainable, resilient, and humane expression of the broad social economic contract.

To quote Louis Brandeis: "We can have concentrated wealth in the hands of a a few, or we can have democracy, but we can't have both."

UFE is a complex entity. We are a diverse group of individuals, coming from a wide array of backgrounds. The challenges we face internally are a reflection of the challenges that we face in the broader society around us. And we are "leaning into" those challenges with a shared desire to gain strength from our efforts. Our relationship with money (both as individuals and as a society) is at least as complicated as our relationships with gender, race, and sexuality. The whole damn mix comes into play when it comes to our national "economy"...

This is important work... in more ways than can be listed here. We do it on a shoestring budget. Your support, in whatever form, will help to move us towards a day when those with money do not have ALL the power.


More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I have worked for over 40 years in the fields of social and economic justice, much of that time as a Supervisor or ED. Now I am devoting my time to actively participating on several national boards that share my values.

UFE is serious about supporting worker and community led efforts
toward a more just economy. To accomplish this we need analysis, avenues for promulgating it, constituents who are able to build power and allies of wealth who oppose the rapidly increasing economic inequality. We need to work with all of the groups marginalized by economic inequality with particular attention to women, people of color, immigrants and low wage workers. I am so proud that UFE is doing just this.

The diversity of our donor base reflects their trust in our programmatic commitment.

Working with Robert Reich to preview his recently released film, is an example of the high regard with which UFE is held by nationally known critics of the economic status-quo.

Developing tax fairness legislation supported by former President Jimmy Carter and former Treasury Secretary Robert Rubin speaks volumes for our capacity to leverage support from people who command national attention.

And being of critical support to the Occupy movement by providing easy to understand economic information via popular education methodologies is but one example of the breadth of our reach.

I am proud to be a member of such a diverse board who bring vision, experience, progressive values and commitment to our shared goals.

UFE is the real deal!



More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

As a UFE board member for the last year and a half, I have been continually impressed by the far-reaching impact of this GREAT non-profit group! UFE has a multi-pronged program that would be ambitious for an organization with a much larger budget. Nevertheless, donors, allies, and constituents (like the union members who utilize its popular education services) get enormous bang for their buck.
At a time when millions of Americans are questioning the impact of economic inequality, gross abuses of corporate power, and the unfairness of our current tax structure, we need two, three, many UFE's to educate, inform, whistle-blow, and help unite diverse foes of the status quo.
Steve Early
747 Lobos Avenue
Richmond, CA. 94801

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find the funding to double its budget!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

UFE educates and equips national and regional leaders with tools to call out the harmful economic policies that further the racial wealth divide in the US. For more than two years I have served as a board member and I am profoundly energized to see the impact UFEs leadership is making. This is an organization worthy of your support. As treasurer I can only ensure donors that we take our role as a board--and your generosity--very seriously. Our finance team meets monthly with an eye to efficiently investing every dollar entrusted to us - to create needed change. And I should say that I am a donor and though my pockets aren't deep, this organization is at the top of my list!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I've served on the Board for two years now. The staff - and Board - are comprised of intelligent, hard working women and men who are trying to educate people about the extreme economic inequality and racial injustice that is prevalent in our society. But more - they are supporting grass-roots movements that will change people's lives!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 12, 2012

more

December 12, 2012

As a volunteer with UFE for the past 18 months I have come to know, admire and respect these hardworking, dedicated people. Their energy and compassion for the plight of the less fortunate and promotion of progressive policies from state and local governments should be emulated across the country. Kenton Rhoades, Boston Ma

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 6, 2012

more

December 6, 2012

This is an organization whose time has come. Every day more and more people(even the media) are noticing and talking about the out of control growth of income inequality. The poor and middle classes are getting poorer, and the already wealthy and corporations are getting much much richer! But UFE and Responsible Wealth have been teaching us about wealth inequality for a couple of decades and doing a splendid job of it. I've recently had to cut my annual donations dramatically. and UFE/Responsible Wealth is one of organizations I feel saddest about letting go of. If there's a windfall in my future, UFE will surely be one of the beneficiaries.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 4, 2012

more

December 4, 2012

UFE's staff are extremely knowledgeable and dedicated to the work of advocating for economic equality. They operate a variety of programs and services dedicated to building the movement for economic justice. It's great work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us plan upcoming Popular Education workshops and trainings, keep our database up to date, help with fundraising work, assist with economic research for new workshops and reports, translate our materials into Spanish, and more. Email us @info@faireconomy.org