Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.928575
Write A Review
June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

I admire UCM greatly for the services that it provides to so many and for the way it treats its clients with dignity. UCM is a lifesaver and life changer for so many people. I am proud to be associated with it and to tell its story.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

UCM has provided much needed services for a very diverse population for over forty years. It is difficult to comprehend were the needy families and children would be without the emergency services provided by this trusted agency. The longevity of the helpful staff speaks to the compassion and selflessness this organization employs both within and to the community. Thank you UCM for all that you have done and continue to do. Felicea

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Look for ways to pay the employees more. They are so very deserving.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

The level of skill each employed provides when working with some of the most needy persons in the community.

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

I am so proud to be a part of the UCM Board. The more I understandt the role of this organization in the Route 1 Corridor, the more I realize what a different--and much less livable--community we would be without the safety net provided by UCM. Despite my ever-growing knowledge of UCM, I still do not understand how they do so much with so little. Truly, money donated to UCM goes directly to the purpose for which it is given. Mary E. Mehler

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

UCM is a rare, lean organization with a lot of heart. The work that it is involved in reaches to the very core of need in the community. I am proud to be able to work with the fundraising group of the organization and to offer students a direction to reach out for meaningful community service such as stocking the food room or the holiday gift room. Community friends can engage in fundraising, from small, social affairs to larger food drives and know that their efforts are impactful and appreciated. I don't know of a' grassroots'organization that works harder or effects those in need more directly in my community!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've met some great new friends and feel like there is mutual respect amongst volunteers. Lots of understanding regarding busy schedules and providing lots of opportunities to contribute what you can.

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

While my association with UCM goes back only 15 years, this fantastic charity has been helping families and children for over forty years! It is heartening to know that the children of unwed teenage mothers are getting a head start in our BEL (Bryant Early Learning) Center while their mothers gain life changing skills. And it is uplifting that we are able to distribute over a ton of food every day we are open to families along the Route One corridor. And it is fantastic to see individuals complete our training programs, allowing them to get meaningful employment to help ensure they are on the way to breaking the cycle of poverty that surrounded them. That is UCM as I know it!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

I am a donor and am employee, and I am proud to be a part of this wonderful organization. I often tell people that, the longer I am with UCM, the more amazed I become at the many ways in which people's lives are changed every day because of UCM. The organization has programs, such as its housing programs, that absolutely transform lives! People go from homeless shelters and situations of domestic violence to housed, in jobs, and living independently for the first time in their lives. And that's just one example!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more


1 previous review
November 16, 2010

I have been a UCM donor for the last year because I believe that the work that they do is powerfully important. I learned about UCM through idealist.org and their website, but to truly understand the... more

June 13, 2012

UCM does great work in the community--particularly for children youth and families. The Bryant Early Learning Center provides a phenomenal start for children to become life-long learners. The community centers help children gain access to tutoring, after-school and summer programming and summer lunch programs. UCM does so much to strengthen the community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2010

I have been a UCM donor for the last year because I believe that the work that they do is powerfully important. I learned about UCM through idealist.org and their website, but to truly understand the scope of what they do, you really have to talk to the people who are served and the people who work there.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Interviewing former UCM clients to find out about their experiences with UCM and how they are doing today.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their staff size, funding and improve their physical location.

May 17, 2012

more

May 17, 2012

This is a wonderful community based charity in the Mount Vernon Lee districts of Fairfax County, Virginia. Last week I brought over some of our older youth from St. Luke's to help unload food donated from the area churches like Good Shepherd Catholic Church and St. Luke's Episcopal Church. Amazing support from the churches and pretty soon the food pantry was full! It was great to work with the UCM staff and to learn how the food is helping those in desperate need in our community. God Bless UCM and the people they serve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 2, 2011

more

May 2, 2011

As a member of Alexandria Woodlawn Friends Meeting I have and feel a close link to UCM. We have permanent collections of food and $$ for UCM and I am always impressed with how they make such effective use of the contributions they receive.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing how well they stretch resources to help their clients

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not make any!

April 28, 2011

more

April 28, 2011

In 2010 I was lay-off from my job, being the head of the house with two children I was afraid I would lose everything. I when to UCM and apply for the different services they offered, such as food, Dominion Power, and emergency money.
these services helped me stay a float till my
unemployment started. My family will never forget the kindness showed during our time of need.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I visited the UCM for services once a week and was always greeted with a smile.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure there was a staff appreciation day.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

A friend

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Nothing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers