Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.902445
Write A Review
November 7, 2013

more

November 7, 2013

I had been donating to Union Station for several years before I signed up to volunteer there. What decided me was not only what a difference they make in the lives of the homeless (and in preventing people from becoming homeless in the first place), but also how well they interact with past donors: some organizations bombard you with letters, emails or even phone calls that only ask for money, while Union Station shares stories about people who have been helped, and basically lets you know how your money was used. Since becoming a volunteer there I've met so many wonderful, kind and dedicated people who work or volunteer for the Station, and I'm really impressed by their commitment to what they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything that I would change!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered with USHS for over 15 years, when I was laid off in 2008, I dedicated more time volunteering with them because its always been my passion to help others less fortunate. I felt so welcomed and wanted to help and support my community . Union Station Homeless Services is a great organization to volunteer for.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered in the kitchen every Monday for the last 7 years. Believe it or not, I am the newbie of the group that I volunteer with! Some of them have been volunteering for 25-30 years! I have seen such caring and respect from the people who I have met through Union Station Homeless Services. This organization tackles the whole problem of homelessness. They feed them, take them into their program and then transition them from temporary housing to jobs and the ability to stand on their own. Like many charitable organizations, they just don't have enough funds to help all that need it.
But what I especially like about working in the kitchen is that anyone who is hungry is fed a warm breakfast and lunch. No questions asked and they do not have to be part of the housing program. There are many more homeless than beds at the shelter...it makes me feel better that at least they have a place to come eat two meals a day. Union Station does have a budget to purchase some of the food we use, but the rest is donated along with all the volunteer hands to prepare, serve and clean up after each meal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish there were more people to help collect food from the community (ie grocery stores, restaurants, etc) So much is thrown away that could be used for those in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Union Sataion is a place where people's dignity is kept and they help people with a high level of care , concern and also professionalism. The staff there are warm hearted human beings that if you are willing to help yourself , they will give you a helping hand. If not for them countless homeless people would be without meals , showers , beds, services such as medicial care all for free and given with human kindness. Thank god for union station and there should be much much more organizations like them. For more than 35 years they have helped the less fortunate of society...and are a role model for how people should be willing to help thier fellow man.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i wouldnt change a things except to give them even more resources which t help others with

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

I have started volunteering with the Union Station Homeless Services about three years ago for their annual Thanksgiving Diner-in-the Park. The first year I signed-up to volunteer was for the day of the event where I helped serve the multitude of fine food that the heart felt volunteers had baked and cooked in their lovely homes. It was very uplifting to see how happy the homeless people were when they got their morsel of food that satisfied their rumbling tummies. To see each and every one of their faces brighten up as they pass by while you offer them a spoonful of delicious food is priceless. The last two times I volunteered as the kitchen helper the night before the Thanksgiving Dinner-in-the-Park where preparation for the big event took place at the kitchen of their adult center. What an amazing experience! I never seen so much people taking time out of their evening to come help prepare all the food that will be served the following day. Wow! Everyone there was bright and cheery and there so much warmth felt in that room I could almost cry. Thank you Union Station Homeless Services for making my volunteer experience at your organization a worth while one. I am so happy to volunteer my time in assisting you to end homelessness in the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 28, 2012

more


1 previous review
December 17, 2010

I have been volunteering with Union Station since 1984. Union Station started out as a soup kitchen, then a shelter for homeless men, then we added a shelter for women, and next families. Services ar... more

March 28, 2012

I have been a volunteer with Union Station since 1984. It is an amazing blessing to all involved. It has grown tremendously over the years to meet the needs of the men, women, and children who benefit from their services. Among the services are housing, meals, job preparation, showers, etc.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 17, 2010

I have been volunteering with Union Station since 1984. Union Station started out as a soup kitchen, then a shelter for homeless men, then we added a shelter for women, and next families. Services are continually being added as they are needed. The staff, board, and volunteers give their all to make Union Station first rate. It is not only the client's lives that are transformed, but volunteering with Union Station is also a transforming experience. As a former Board Member I can personally attest to the fiscal responsibility of the organization and the planning and oversite that makes Union Station what it is today. The strength of the organization is its volunteers, its staff, its "heart."

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing lives transformed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want everyone to know what a worthwhile, responsible, caring, EFFECTIVE organization Union Station is.

March 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

At the age of 24, my precious son had come to the end of six years of disasterous drinking. A promising singer and songwriter, he'd dropped out of UCLA and spent those six years on what he called "the couch tour," going from friend to friend and relative to relative until everyone had had enough. My mother, a Quaker, asked a fellow Friend for help on his behalf and he was referred to Passages, one of the branches of Union Station. The very next day he was sent to Warm Springs Rehabilitation Center where he stayed for three months. He has now been sober for over four years, has gone back to school, is singing, writing music and performing and is everything I could wish for in a son. I subsequently volunteered at Union Station, figuring I owed them much more than I could ever repay. The work that is done by this organization is a blessing, not only to those who benefit by its services but to all of us. The compassion they show and the sincerity with which they do their work gives me hope for a world that sometimes seems to have run off its tracks. It's hard to feel jaded in the face of the good work done by these committed folk. I heartily recommend them for any and all honors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 27, 2012

more

March 27, 2012

I have worked at Union Station Homeless Services for almost six years, and I am constantly inspired by the work that they do. The staff sees the potential in people, and reignites their hope for a better future. Just yesterday, I met a group of adults who were once homeless and are now living in their own apartments. One man said, "Union Station encourages the potential within us to be united or reunited with mainstream society - successful, productive lives are here among us."

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I have worked with Union Station as a volunteer and donor for 30 years. I like giving my money to a place that puts it back 100% to the people. People are having their long-term needs met as well as getting the "right now" needed food and shelter.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Often Graduates of the program speak to the supporters and give us their success stories. Also, the individual happy faces when they get dinner.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would want to be able to donate more money and more time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

all good

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Some organizational skills, and interpersonal skills with other volunteers

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Fine, grateful. Kind of "Well of course I am going down to help, that is how i was raised"

February 22, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 22, 2011

USHS is simply invaluable. They change lives. They save lives. They make a community better every hour of every day. Their continuum of care is the ideal solution for terminating the terrifying cycle of poverty and homelessness. And their legacy of lasting success is simply second to none here in the dramatically over-burdened social service arena of L.A. County. Without this group of immensely compassionate and capable people, the greater San Gabriel Valley would see moms and dads, sons and daughters wither on the vine. And we must never see that as truth.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

volunteering at large scale events and participating in monthly meetings and initiatives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

enlarge their budget a hundred fold. I would also like to see them supported in affordable housing initiatives.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers