Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
123.245
Write A Review
November 24, 2014

more

November 24, 2014

I worked at UGM-TC for over 5 years and played a key role in the Administrative Area with Don Shisler the acting CEO. What residents say about this place is true. They were forced to work 40 hours a week for $15 to $25 a week "Program Pay". When we hired "successful" residents who'd moved out and proven their worth as employees, they were "coded" differently as to prevent them from obtaining Health Insurance Coverage because Mr. Shisler deemed them as "high risk" to the benefit plans of the Employees. Other staff members who became pregnant were immediately pressured and harassed for the way they performed their job in effort to get them to quit because they would need "too much time off". Staff members are violent towards one another and residents. Mr. Shisler was verbally and sexually abusive towards both. It is NOT a Christian Facility!
August 2, 2014

more

August 2, 2014

I have to agree with the other former residents who posted here. On the face, UGM looks like a wonderful establishment, but the staff treats the male residents very unkind. I worked for the mission 35 hours a week for $15 a week which left no time to find a job. If you didn't work (they call it "program duties") you would be asked to leave. In the time I was there, only one case worker actually helped me but he was fired after not long. I was actually thrown out because I got a job working at night and couldn't attend their Thursday night Bible study. Thank God for the Presbyterian Night Shelter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Treat the men with kindness and dignity

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2014

more

April 18, 2014

I am so saddened by the reviews from the residents. I have volunteers at UGM in the past and of course, enjoyed it. No one should have that experience and feel that way about a non profit organization that is solely there the help support and show compassion for those in need. I hope that this gets looked into and will also do what I can to research the matter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Focus on the residents and truly help them change their lives for the better. It seems to be lacking.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was a resident at UGM. The staff puts up a good act. They state that they do not receive any government funding; however, they do. they receive HUD funding every time they scan a client's TB card. If a resident does not believe the way they do they kick him/her out. They have the residents work 32-40 hours a week for no pay, which gives them very little time to find a job and get on their feet. They do not provide any housing programs for residents, but decide after a year that the resident has been there long enough. The case managers that they have are a joke. They do absolutely nothing to help the residents. The residents have to do it all on their own. If a case manager does try to help someone, UGM terminates his /her employment. They force residents to attend chapel services everyday and a bible study on Thursday nights. Even if a resident has a job or attends college, he has to be at these services. The kitchen staff has been known to serve spoiled food. They constantly serve out-of-date food and store food on the floor. Both of these actions are major city health code violations. the resident workers and volunteers do not even have food handler cards, also a health code violation. When they receive food donations, they give the garbage to the residents and the staff takes the good stuff home with them. They promote homelessness and want people to remain dependent on them. They provide no help at all. I will NEVER help this organization with anything.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unlikely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 14, 2013

more

March 14, 2013

I was not only a volunteer but also a former resident. The staff is great in front of volunteers but behind the scenes they berate and belittle the residents. I will never again do anything to help the organization. I have watched the kitchen staff (not chefs, there are no chefs there) serve food that was bad. This mission was started with good intentions but has now become more about raising money, Donations are sorted and the best items are put aside and taken to a sale they have each year. the people that donate think the stuff is going to residents and to help those that get apartments to furnish them. but what is given upon move out is usually trash. Some examples former residents were given a coffee maker but no coffee pot. Tv's that don't work and furniture that was broken and completely unable to be used. when residents called they were told they should be glad they got anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I started volunteering at Union Gospel Mission in 1995 and have done so each week for all these years. It is my opportunity to give back to those that are unfortunate enough to find themselves without a home. I am the one to benefit from helping them, not the other way around. I pray each time I go that God will place someone in my path and that I will make a difference in their lives. I leave each Monday with a smile on my face because I am so blessed to volunteer for such an organization that makes an impact on hurting people lives. I have seen some amazing people turn their lives around with the help and love that comes from Union Gospel Mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

what a blessing and honor to be a volunteer at the ugm. I LOVE serving meals to our residents and guests, help with the children, serve for special events and help in general.. i never leave the ugm without learning something meaningful from someone i serve.. every person is gracious and beautiful. i am a better person for my volunteering.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

so many ways. love interacting a si learn from our guests

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want more people to have the experience i do

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

truthfully it is an honor to be here.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

makes me realize even more G d's complete grace. i meet other volunteers and grow with them as well.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

appreciative and to live a life where i know i am helping

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

My history with UGM is short, but it has been an amazing twelve months. It is real easy to think that all is well in the world, or at lease here at home where everyone is supposed to be warm and comfortable, and eating three meals a day. UGM is my reality check and when I don't get to be with them every weekend, I feel useless. In my short experience, it is evident that the staff is invested in this ministry. It is a privilege working with other volunteers in helping the dedicated staff relieved the burden of the residence as well as bless the guests. Working side-by-side with staff and volunteers has brought meaning to my life and I can only pray that the residence and guests feel the same. Initially, working with the homeless was my main focus, but now encourage the staff and trying to fill in the gap for them is uppermost in my mind, especially if I am not there. I thank God for this ministry and I give glory to God for allowing me to help in any way I can in this ministry.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am sure there are changes that could be made, but the staff are amazing, the front desk is amazing, but I do not know all aspects to the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Well, I guess it would be to hire me full-time so I could quite my day job?

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

becoming more Biblical. care for the widows, children, and those in need.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

wanting to be there more, help more, wondering how I can become more involved.

December 8, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 8, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer at Union Gospel Mission for about three years. I work in the kitchen helping to serve meals to the residents of the mission and the guests. The atmosphere is very friendly and inviting. The chefs do miraculous things with the donations of food they are provided. I am always amazed each time I go with what dishes the chefs have created for the evening meal. The people continually come back and tell us how good their meal was. The meals are always appetizing and I secretly hope each time that there are leftovers for me to enjoy. They also do their best to make accommodations for anyone with special dietary needs. I have found the employees to be very welcoming to the volunteers, residents, and guests. It is always a fun atmosphere and I never mind the time I have dedicated for this organization. I believe that Union Gospel Mission is providing a valuable service for the homeless in our community. By providing for the basic needs of food a shelter, counseling, job placements and support, this organization is allowing these individuals to repair their lives and helping to bring an end to homelessness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 8, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Best place EVER to spend my free time! The staff is always fun to be around and they treat the homeless like the REAL PEOPLE they are with real stories. They never look down on them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers